Apoptosis and Autophagy, Orléans – December 2018 CFATG
Apoptosis and Autophagy, Orléans – December 2018

Apoptose and Autophagy

Equipe Biologie cellulaire, Cibles moléculaires et Thérapies innovantes / CBM, CNRS Orléans

Centre de Biophysique Moléculaire,

UPR4301, CNRS Orléans

Rue Charles Sadron

CS 80054 – 45071 ORLEANS Cedex 2

Team presentation

Website : Click here

Thematic group : Signalisation cellulaire (responsables Hélène Bénédetti et Alain Legrand)

Apoptosis and Autophagy group: group leader : Alain Legrand, Professor, Université Orléans (mail : alain.legrand(at)cnrs.fr)

Group members 2018 :

Fabienne BRULE, Associate Professor (fabienne.brule(at)cnrs-orleans.fr)
Lucile MOLLET, Associate Professor (lucile.mollet(at)cnrs-orleans.fr)
Chloé ROBIN, Assistant Engineer CNRS (chloe.robin(at)cnrs.fr)
Alain LEGRAND, Professor (alain.legrand(at)cnrs.fr)
Stéphane CHARPENTIER, Associate Professor (stephane.charpentier(at)cnrs-orleans.fr)
Thierry NORMAND, Associate Professor (thierry.normand(at)cnrs-orleans.fr)

From left to right : Fabienne BRULE, Chloé ROBIN, Stéphane CHARPENTIER, Thierry NORMAND, Alain LEGRAND, Lucile MOLLET.

Keywords: Programmed Cell Death, Autophagy, GALIG gene expression, HIV, Parkinson’s Disease.

Research topic :

Autophagy and apoptosis: The GALIG gene is embedded within the gene galectin-3 gene and encodes two entirely different proteins (see diagram), Mitogaligin and Cytogaligin. Mitogaligin has pro-apoptotic properties related to destabilization of mitochondrial membranes. Recently, a partial interactome of Cytogaligin has been established and showed that GALIG could be associated with several additional biological functions. Indeed, it interacts with several proteins related to autophagy and UPS (ubiquitin-proteasome system) and also with alpha-synuclein, a major protein in Parkinson’s disease. Our research focuses on the functional consequences of these interactions to determine the potential role of GALIG proteins in autophagy and apoptosis.
We are also developing a translational project, in collaboration with several departments of the Orleans Hospital to study the expression of the GALIG gene and autophagy genes in various pathologies, acute myeloid leukaemia (AML), HIV infection and Parkinsons’disease. Diseases that involve disruption of the immune system showed an impairment of the transcriptional capabilities of the GALIG gene. Indeed, AML patients showed a decrease in gene expression as a function of myeloid cell differentiation. This could be a critical point in the treatment and diagnosis of the disease. Conversely, in the case of HIV infection, effectively treated patients showed an increase in GALIG gene expression as well as a disruption of autophagic gene expression. Although the immune system returns to a near-normal level in the long run, the fact remains that certain functions, including autophagy, could remain disrupted. In Parkinson’s disease, the expression of GALIG was not affected in peripheral blood. However, as for HIV patients, the expression of different autophagy genes was abnormal. We are studying whether this modulation could be recognized as a molecular marker for prognosis and early diagnosis.

References

-Serrano, A., El Haddad, S., Moal, F., Prazuck, Legac, E., Robin, C., Brule, F., Charpentier, S., Normand, T., Legrand A., Hocqueloux, L. and Mollet, L. Dysregulation of apoptosis and autophagy gene expression in PBMCs of efficiently treated HIV-infected patients. AIDS (2018) 32:1579-1587.

-El Haddad, S., Serrano, A., Normand, T., Robin, C., Dubois, M., Brule-Morabito, F., Mollet, L., Charpentier, S. and Legrand A. Interaction of Alpha-synuclein with Cytogaligin, a protein encoded by the proapoptotic gene GALIG. Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (2018) 495: 787-792.

-Mollet, L.M., Robinet, P., Dubois, M., Aurouet, A., Normand, T., Charpentier, S., Sureau, A., Grandclement, C., Garnache-Ottou, F., Deconinck, E., Brulé F., Rohrlich, P.-S. and Legrand, A. Opposing Mcl-1, the GALIG proapoptotic gene is upregulated as neutrophils die and underexpressed in Acute Myeloid Leukemia cells. Molecular Immunology (2013) 56:123-128.

-Gonzalez, P., Robinet, P., M., Charpentier, S., Normand, T., Mollet L., Dubois, M., and Legrand, A. Apoptotic activity of a nuclear form of mitogaligin, a cell death protein. Biochem. Biophys. Res. Commun. (2009), 378: 816-820.

Laisser un commentaire

Apoptose et autophagie, Orléans – Décembre 2018 CFATG
Apoptose et autophagie, Orléans – Décembre 2018
HOME » Actualités » Apoptose et autophagie, Orléans – Décembre 2018

Apoptose et Autophagie

Equipe Biologie cellulaire, Cibles moléculaires et Thérapies innovantes / CBM, CNRS Orléans

Centre de Biophysique Moléculaire,

UPR4301, CNRS Orléans

Rue Charles Sadron

CS 80054 – 45071 ORLEANS Cedex 2

Présentation de l’équipe

Sites web : Cliquez ici

Groupe thématique : Signalisation cellulaire (responsables Hélène Bénédetti et Alain Legrand)

Groupe « Apoptose et autophagie »: responsable du groupe : Alain Legrand, Professeur, Université Orléans (mail : alain.legrand(at)cnrs.fr)

Membres du groupe « Apoptose et autophagie » 2018 :

Fabienne BRULE, Maître de Conférences (fabienne.brule(at)cnrs-orleans.fr)
Lucile MOLLET, Maître de Conférences (lucile.mollet(at)cnrs-orleans.fr)
Chloé ROBIN, Assistante Ingénieure CNRS (chloe.robin(at)cnrs.fr)
Alain LEGRAND, Professeur (alain.legrand(at)cnrs.fr)
Stéphane CHARPENTIER, Maître de Conférences (stephane.charpentier(at)cnrs-orleans.fr)
Thierry NORMAND, Maître de Conférences (thierry.normand(at)cnrs-orleans.fr)

De gauche à droite : Fabienne BRULE, Chloé ROBIN, Stéphane CHARPENTIER, Thierry NORMAND, Alain LEGRAND, Lucile MOLLET.

Mots-clés: Mort cellulaire, autophagie, gène GALIG expression génique HIV, Parkinson

Thématique du groupe :

Autophagie et apoptose: Le gène GALIG est emboîté dans le gène de la galectine-3. Il possède la particularité de coder deux protéines entièrement différentes (voir schéma), la Mitogaligine et la Cytogaligine. La Mitogaligine est pro-apoptotique de par sa capacité à déstabiliser les membranes mitochondriales. Le gène GALIG pourrait être associé à d’autres fonctions biologiques. En effet, la Cytogaligine interagit avec plusieurs protéines liées à l’autophagie et à l’UPS (système ubiquitine-protéasome) ainsi qu’avec l’alpha-synucléine, protéine majeure dans la maladie de Parkinson. Nos recherches portent sur les conséquences fonctionnelles de ces interactions afin de déterminer le rôle potentiel des protéines de GALIG au cours de l’autophagie et de l’apoptose.

Nous développons également un projet translationnel, en collaboration avec l’Hôpital d’Orléans, afin d’étudier l’expression du gène GALIG et de gènes d’autophagie dans différentes pathologies, leucémies aiguës myéloïdes (LAM), infection VIH et maladie de Parkinson. Les maladies associées à une perturbation du système immunitaire montrent une altération des capacités transcriptionnelles du gène GALIG. Les patients LAM montrent une diminution de l’expression du gène en fonction de la différenciation des cellules myéloïdes ce qui pourrait constituer un point critique dans le traitement et le diagnostic de la maladie. A l’inverse, dans le cas de l’infection VIH, les patients traités efficacement montrent une forte augmentation de l’expression du gène GALIG ainsi qu’une perturbation de l’expression de gènes de l’autophagie. Bien que le système immunitaire retourne à un niveau quasi-normal sur le long terme, il n’en reste pas moins que certaines fonctions dont l’autophagie, pourraient rester perturbées. Dans la maladie de Parkinson, l’expression de GALIG n’est pas affectée dans le sang périphérique. Par contre, comme chez les patients à VIH, l’expression de différents gènes de l’autophagie est anormale. Nous étudions si cette modulation pourrait être reconnue comme un marqueur moléculaire pour le pronostic et le diagnostic précoce.

Publications de référence

-Serrano, A., El Haddad, S., Moal, F., Prazuck, Legac, E., Robin, C., Brule, F., Charpentier, S., Normand, T., Legrand A., Hocqueloux, L. and Mollet, L. Dysregulation of apoptosis and autophagy gene expression in PBMCs of efficiently treated HIV-infected patients. AIDS (2018) 32:1579-1587.

-El Haddad, S., Serrano, A., Normand, T., Robin, C., Dubois, M., Brule-Morabito, F., Mollet, L., Charpentier, S. and Legrand A. Interaction of Alpha-synuclein with Cytogaligin, a protein encoded by the proapoptotic gene GALIG. Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (2018) 495: 787-792.

-Mollet, L.M., Robinet, P., Dubois, M., Aurouet, A., Normand, T., Charpentier, S., Sureau, A., Grandclement, C., Garnache-Ottou, F., Deconinck, E., Brulé F., Rohrlich, P.-S. and Legrand, A. Opposing Mcl-1, the GALIG proapoptotic gene is upregulated as neutrophils die and underexpressed in Acute Myeloid Leukemia cells. Molecular Immunology (2013) 56:123-128.

-Gonzalez, P., Robinet, P., M., Charpentier, S., Normand, T., Mollet L., Dubois, M., and Legrand, A. Apoptotic activity of a nuclear form of mitogaligin, a cell death protein. Biochem. Biophys. Res. Commun. (2009), 378: 816-820.

Laisser un commentaire