Cell cycle, autophagy, and cancer, Toulouse – March 2018 CFATG
Cell cycle, autophagy, and cancer, Toulouse – March 2018

Cell cycle, autophagy, and cancer

Cancer Research Center of Toulouse (CRCT)
UMR1037 INSERM / University Toulouse III Paul Sabatier / ERL5294 CNRS
2 avenue Hubert Curien
CS53717
31037 Toulouse Cedex 1- FRANCE
Tel : 33.(0)5.82.74.16.35
Fax : 33.(0)5.82.74.16.85

Presentation of the team

Site web : https://www.crct-inserm.fr/en/08-s-manenti-2/

Team leader: Stéphane Manenti, DR2 CNRS, stephane.manenti@inserm.fr

Autophagy principal investigators: Sylvie Giuriato, CR, INSERM, sylvie.giuriato@inserm.fr et Carine Joffre, CR, INSERM, carine.joffre@inserm.fr

Our team is composed of 12 people including academic researchers and clinicians. Our general aim is to decipher the mechanisms that link oncogenic signaling, cell cycle regulation, autophagy and cancer. We want to understand how cell signaling pathways, activated by oncogenes, in particular mutated tyrosine kinases, impact on key cell cycle actors, on the autophagy response and on the resistance of cancer cells (in particular myeloid and lymphoid malignancies) to therapeutic agents. Our ultimate goal is to translate these basic research questions into the identification of potential therapeutic targets in these cancers. Below, we will focus on our interest in autophagy and cancer [1].

Autophagy Team members, 2018:

Charly Courdy, Master student, charly.courdy@inserm.fr
Véronique De Mas, MCU-PH, DeMas.Veronique@iuct-oncopole.fr
Sylvie Giuriato, CR, INSERM, sylvie.giuriato@inserm.fr
Carine Joffre, CR, INSERM, carine.joffre@inserm.fr
Stéphane Manenti, DR2, CNRS, stephane.manenti@inserm.fr
Domenico Sorrentino, PhD student, domenico.sorrentino@inserm.fr

From left to right :
Carine Joffre, Sylvie Giuriato, Véronique De Mas, Domenico Sorrentino, Charly Courdy, Stéphane Manenti.

Keywords:
Autophagy; Signal transduction; Leukemia and lymphoma; Tyrosine kinase oncogenes (FLT3-ITD, NPM-ALK, JAK2 (V617F)); Therapeutic resistance.

Research Topics :

Our group, within the team directed by Dr S. Manenti at the Cancer Research Center of Toulouse, focus on autophagy in three different hematopoietic cancers: Acute Myeloid Leukeamia (AML) [2,3], Myeloproliferative Neoplasia (MPN) and ALK positive Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (ALK+ ALCL) [4–6]. We are interested in several biological questions (listed below), that we address both in cell lines and in primary cells isolated from patients:

-How autophagy influences tumor cells fate (cytoprotection or cytotoxicity) under therapy? In a previous study, we demonstrated that the Bortezomib (proteasome inhibitor) induces a cytotoxic autophagy in AML cells expressing the FLT3-ITD tyrosine kinase oncogene [2]. Conversely, we observed in ALK+ ALCL cells that their treatment with Crizotinib (ALK tyrosine kinase inhibitor) induces a cytoprotective autophagy [4]. A current study, performed in myeloproliferative neoplasia (MPN) harboring the JAK2 (V617F) activating mutation, indicates that Ruxolitinib treatment (JAK1/JAK2 inhibitor) triggers also a cytoprotective autophagy. In these two last studies, combining tyrosine kinase targeted inhibition and autophagy inhibition may represent a promising therapeutic option.

-The identification of new autophagy regulators (proteins and RNAs). We recently found that the transcription factor ATF4 was required for autophagy activation in FLT3-ITD positive AML cells [3]. In Crizotinib-treated ALK+ ALCL cells, we found that the depletion of BCL-2 increases autophagy and promotes tumor cell death [6]. We are currently pursuing these works by focusing on the molecular regulations of these proteins, through translation factors and miRNAs.

-The role of autophagy in cell signaling regulation, in line with the original concept depicting the autophagosomes as new intracellular signaling platforms.

-The potential use of autophagosomes in the development of anti-cancer vaccine. We are currently investigating whether ALK+ ALCL-derived autophagosomes could be used as antigen carrier to stimulate an anti-ALK immune response.

Thus, our work aims to understand the role, the regulation, the modulation and the therapeutic use of autophagy to improve the treatment of FLT3-ITD AML, JAK2 (V617F) MPN and ALK+ ALCL. We receive funds from « La Ligue Nationale contre le Cancer », « La Fondation ARC », « Cancéropole GSO » and from the Europe Union (Horizon 2020, Marie Sklodowska-Curie Research and Innovative Programme); and we train students registered at the Toulouse Biology/Health doctoral school.


Functions and regulations of basal and therapy-induced autophagy in tumors cells (leukemia / lymphoma)

References:

1. Joffre, C.; Djavaheri-Mergny, M.; Pattingre, S.; Giuriato, S. L’autophagie: le yin et le yang des cancers. Medecine/Sciences 2017, 33, 328–334, doi:10.1051/medsci/20173303021.

2. Larrue, C.; Saland, E.; Boutzen, H.; Vergez, F.; David, M.; Joffre, C.; Hospital, M. A.; Tamburini, J.; Delabesse, E.; Manenti, S.; Sarry, J. E.; Recher, C. Proteasome inhibitors induce FLT3-ITD degradation through autophagy in AML cells. Blood 2016, 127, 882–892, doi:10.1182/blood-2015-05-646497.

3. Heydt, Q.; Larrue, C.; Saland, E.; Bertoli, S.; Sarry, J.-E.; Besson, A.; Manenti, S.; Joffre, C.; Mansat-De Mas, V. Oncogenic FLT3-ITD supports autophagy via ATF4 in acute myeloid leukemia. Oncogene 2017, doi:10.1038/onc.2017.376.

4. Mitou, G.; Frentzel, J.; Desquesnes, A.; Le Gonidec, S.; AlSaati, T.; Beau, I.; Lamant, L.; Meggetto, F.; Espinos, E.; Codogno, P.; Brousset, P.; Giuriato, S. Targeting autophagy enhances the anti-tumoral action of crizotinib in ALK-positive anaplastic large cell lymphoma. Oncotarget 2015, 6, 30149–30164, doi:10.18632/oncotarget.4999.

5. Frentzel, J.; Sorrentino, D.; Giuriato, S. Targeting autophagy in ALK-associated cancers. Cancers (Basel). 2017, 9 (12),161-180.

6. Torossian, A.; Frentzel, J.; Daugrois, C.; Broin, N.; Gandarillas, S.; Al Saati, T.; Lamant, L.; Brousset, P.; Giuriato, S.; Espinos, E. Blockade of crizotinib-induced BCL-2 elevation in ALK-positive ALCL triggers autophagy associated with cell death. Haematologica, in revision.

Laisser un commentaire

Cycle cellulaire, autophagie et cancer, Toulouse – Mars 2018 CFATG
Cycle cellulaire, autophagie et cancer, Toulouse – Mars 2018
HOME » Actualités » Cycle cellulaire, autophagie et cancer, Toulouse – Mars 2018

Cycle cellulaire, autophagie et cancer

Centre de Recherches en Cancérologie de Toulouse (CRCT)
UMR1037 INSERM / Université Toulouse III Paul Sabatier / ERL5294 CNRS
2 avenue Hubert Curien
CS53717
31037 Toulouse Cedex 1- FRANCE
Tel : 33.(0)5.82. 74.16.35
Fax : 33.(0)5.82. 74.16.85

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web : https://www.crct-inserm.fr/en/08-s-manenti-2/

Chef d’équipe : Stéphane Manenti, DR2 CNRS, stephane.manenti@inserm.fr

Groupe « Autophagie » : Sylvie Giuriato, CR, INSERM, sylvie.giuriato@inserm.fr et Carine Joffre, CR, INSERM, carine.joffre@inserm.fr

Notre équipe compte 12 personnes, incluant des chercheurs et des cliniciens. Nos travaux de recherche portent sur la compréhension de la signalisation oncogénique, la régulation du cycle cellulaire et sur un mécanisme de dégradation cellulaire, l’autophagie. Nous recherchons comment la signalisation activée en aval d’oncogènes, notamment des tyrosines kinases suractivées, affecte des acteurs clés du cycle cellulaire, influence la réponse autophagique et permet la résistance aux agents thérapeutiques (notamment dans le cadre d’hémopathies myéloïdes et lymphoïdes). Nos objectifs, en termes d’application clinique, sont d’identifier de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques potentielles. Un focus particuliers sera présenté ci-dessous sur nos thématiques de recherches portant sur l’autophagie en cancérologie [1].

Membres du groupe « Autophagie », 2018 :

Charly Courdy, Etudiant M2R, charly.courdy@inserm.fr
Véronique De Mas, MCU-PH, DeMas.Veronique@iuct-oncopole.fr
Sylvie Giuriato, CR, INSERM, sylvie.giuriato@inserm.fr
Carine Joffre, CR, INSERM, carine.joffre@inserm.fr
Stéphane Manenti, DR2, CNRS, stephane.manenti@inserm.fr
Domenico Sorrentino, Etudiant en thèse, domenico.sorrentino@inserm.fr

De gauche à droite :
Carine Joffre, Sylvie Giuriato, Véronique De Mas, Domenico Sorrentino, Charly Courdy, Stéphane Manenti.

Mots-clés:
Autophagie; Signalisation; Leucémies et lymphomes ; Oncogènes tyrosine kinase (FLT3-ITD, NPM-ALK, JAK2 (V617F)) ; Résistance thérapeutique.

Thématiques de recherche

Notre groupe de recherche dans l’équipe du Dr S. Manenti, au sein du Centre de Recherches en Cancérologie de Toulouse, s’intéresse à l’autophagie dans plusieurs types de cancers hématopoïétiques : les leucémies aiguës myéloïdes (LAM) [2,3], les néoplasies myéloprolifératives (NMP) et les lymphomes anaplasiques à grandes cellules ALK positifs (LAGC ALK+) [4–6]. Nous développons nos thématiques à la fois dans des lignées cellulaires et dans des cellules primaires de patients :

-comment l’autophagie oriente le devenir des cellules tumorales sous thérapie (cytoprotection ou cytotoxicité) ?
Nous avons tout d’abord mis en évidence l’activation d’une autophagie cytotoxique dans les cellules de LAM exprimant l’oncogène tyrosine kinase FLT3-ITD traitées au Bortezomib (inhibiteur du protéasome) [2]. Dans une autre hémopathie maligne : les LAGC ALK+, nous avons au contraire montré que le Crizotinib (inhibiteur de l’activité tyrosine kinase de l’oncogène NPM-ALK) induisait une autophagie cytoprotectrice [4]. Enfin, une étude en cours dans des cellules de néoplasies myéloprolifératives (NMP), présentant la mutation activatrice de l’oncogène JAK2 (V617F), suggère que le Ruxolitinib (inhibiteur de JAK1/JAK2) induit également une autophagie cytoprotectrice dans ces cellules. Dans ces deux derniers exemples, inhiber l’autophagie en combinaison avec ces inhibiteurs de tyrosine kinase représenterait une option thérapeutique potentielle dans ces pathologies.

-l’identification de régulateurs (protéines et ARN) de la réponse autophagique.
Nos travaux nous ont permis d’identifier le facteur de transcription ATF4 dans les LAM en aval de l’oncogène tyrosine kinase FLT3-ITD [3], ainsi que la protéine BCL-2 dans les LAGC ALK+ traités par le Crizotinib [6]. Actuellement, nous approfondissons ces résultats par la compréhension des mécanismes de régulation (facteurs de traduction / microARNs) de ces acteurs de l’autophagie.

-le rôle de l’autophagie dans la régulation de la signalisation, selon le concept original qui consiste à considérer les autophagosomes comme une nouvelle plateforme de signalisation.

-l’utilisation des autophagosomes pour le développement de vaccins anti-tumoraux.

Nous étudions notamment si des autophagosomes isolés à partir de cellules de LAGC ALK+ pourraient servir de « carriers d’antigènes tumoraux », pour stimuler une réponse immunitaire anti-ALK.

Ainsi, nos travaux ont pour vocation de mieux comprendre le rôle, la régulation, la modulation et l’utilisation thérapeutique de l’autophagie afin d’améliorer le traitement de ces hémopathies malignes. Nous bénéficions pour cela d’aides de La Ligue Nationale contre le Cancer, de la Fondation ARC, du Cancéropole GSO et de l’Europe (Programme Recherche et Innovation Marie Sklodowska-Curie) et nous encadrons des étudiants inscrits à l’école doctorale de Biologie/Santé de Toulouse.


Fonctions et régulations de l’autophagie basale et induite sous traitement dans les cellules tumorales (leucémies / lymphomes).

Publications de référence

1. Joffre, C.; Djavaheri-Mergny, M.; Pattingre, S.; Giuriato, S. L’autophagie: le yin et le yang des cancers. Medecine/Sciences 2017, 33, 328–334, doi:10.1051/medsci/20173303021.

2. Larrue, C.; Saland, E.; Boutzen, H.; Vergez, F.; David, M.; Joffre, C.; Hospital, M. A.; Tamburini, J.; Delabesse, E.; Manenti, S.; Sarry, J. E.; Recher, C. Proteasome inhibitors induce FLT3-ITD degradation through autophagy in AML cells. Blood 2016, 127, 882–892, doi:10.1182/blood-2015-05-646497.

3. Heydt, Q.; Larrue, C.; Saland, E.; Bertoli, S.; Sarry, J.-E.; Besson, A.; Manenti, S.; Joffre, C.; Mansat-De Mas, V. Oncogenic FLT3-ITD supports autophagy via ATF4 in acute myeloid leukemia. Oncogene 2017, doi:10.1038/onc.2017.376.

4. Mitou, G.; Frentzel, J.; Desquesnes, A.; Le Gonidec, S.; AlSaati, T.; Beau, I.; Lamant, L.; Meggetto, F.; Espinos, E.; Codogno, P.; Brousset, P.; Giuriato, S. Targeting autophagy enhances the anti-tumoral action of crizotinib in ALK-positive anaplastic large cell lymphoma. Oncotarget 2015, 6, 30149–30164, doi:10.18632/oncotarget.4999.

5. Frentzel, J.; Sorrentino, D.; Giuriato, S. Targeting autophagy in ALK-associated cancers. Cancers (Basel). 2017, 9 (12),161-180.

6. Torossian, A.; Frentzel, J.; Daugrois, C.; Broin, N.; Gandarillas, S.; Al Saati, T.; Lamant, L.; Brousset, P.; Giuriato, S.; Espinos, E. Blockade of crizotinib-induced BCL-2 elevation in ALK-positive ALCL triggers autophagy associated with cell death. Haematologica, in revision.

Laisser un commentaire