Neurodegenerative diseases, Montpellier – April 2019 CFATG
Neurodegenerative diseases, Montpellier – April 2019

Team E3 ligase, cytoskeleton and neurodegenerative diseases

INSERM, U1051
Institut des Neurosciences de Montpellier
80 rue Augustin Fliche, 34091 Montpellier

Team presentation

Website : Click here

Group leader : Dr Pascale Bomont, INSERM researcher (pascale.bomont(at)inserm.fr)

Group member, 2019 :

Pascale Bomont, group leader (pascale.bomont(at)inserm.fr)
Karolina Mysiak, postdoc (karolina.mysiak(at)inserm.fr)
David Gonzalez, postdoc (david.gonzalez-figueroa(at)inserm.fr)
Léa Lescouzères, PhD student (lea.lescouzeres(at)inserm.fr)
Nicolas Pradeilles, Engeneer (nicolas.pradeilles(at)inserm.fr)
Caroline Liénard, intern in Pharmacy (caroline.lienard(at)inserm.fr)
Dimitris Karaliu, ERASMUS student

Léa LESCOUZERES, Karolina MYSIAK, Nicolas PRADEILLES, Caroline LIENARD, Pascale BOMONT, David GONZALEZ

Keywords : Gigaxonin-E3 ligase, neurodegenerative diseases, cytoskeleton, autophagy

Research Topic

Our laboratory has a long lasting interest in human neurodegenerative diseases, with a special focus on a rare disease called Giant Axonal Neuropathy (GAN) (Kuhlenbäumer et al. 2012). Extremely severe, this infantile neuropathy targets the entire nervous system and provokes a massive aggregation of the Intermediate Filament cytoskeleton throughout the body of patients, hence supporting crucial roles of the GAN gene in sustaining key biological processes, in neuron survival and cytoskeleton architecture.
Driven by the goal to offer answers to the patients and their families and propose therapeutic solutions for this fatal disease, our team has been fully dedicated to GAN, since the identification of its genetic locus, to the study of the pathological mechanisms and to the development of translational tools towards diagnosis and therapy. As an initial starting point to the deciphering of the pathological pathways involved in GAN, our laboratory identified the mutated gene, which encodes for a novel E3 ligase we named Gigaxonin (Bomont et al. 2000). The development of patients’ derived cellular models (Cleveland et al. 2009) and the creation of a mouse model for the disease (Ganay et al. 2011) allowed us to study the massive cytoskeletal alterations in GAN and to identify Gigaxonin as the first regulator of the turn-over of the Intermediate Filament family (Mahammad et al. 2013).

Our entry in the autophagy field is recent and starts with our recent work, presenting the Gigaxonin-E3 ligase as a novel molecular switch to control the elongation phase of autophagosome production (Scrivo et al. 2019).

In this study, we demonstrate that Gigaxonin controls the production of autophagosomes, by regulating the turn-over of ATG16L1, an essential protein which drives the recruitment of the ATG12-ATG5 complex onto the nascent membrane and therefore the lipidation of LC3 on these specific sites. We reveal that Gigaxonin interacts with the WD-40 C-terminal domain of ATG16L1, to drive its poly-ubiquitination and subsequent degradation.

The study of GAN primary cortical neurons allowed us to reveal that Gigaxonin depletion induces the aggregation of ATG16L1 within the soma and causes a blocking of the autophagic flux. Thus, gigaxonin null neurons present a diminished lipidation of LC3, which corresponds to a decrease of the net production of autophagosomes. As a results, the subsequent steps of autophagosome elongation are altered, including the fusion with lysosomes and autophagic degradation.

Altogether, we demonstrate that the Gigaxonin-E3 ligase controls the production of autophagosomes by a reversible, ubiquitin-dependent process selective for ATG16L1. Thus, our results identify Gigaxonin as a novel molecular switch to fine-tune the activation of autophagy through ATG16L1, and as a significant therapeutic target to modulate autophagy activity in numerous human diseases. For GAN, this work opens interesting perspectives regarding the contribution of autophagy dysfunction in neurodegeneration, and will also permit to investigate the yet poorly studied roles of autophagy within the soma of neurons, and the concept of autophagy compartimentalization within polarized cells.

References

Kuhlenbäumer G, Timmerman V, Bomont P. (2012) Giant Axonal Neuropathy.
GeneReviews™. Seattle (WA): University of Washington, Seattle; Jun 21.

Bomont P, Cavalier L, Blondeau F, Ben Hamida C, Belal S et al. (2000) The gene encoding gigaxonin, a new member of the cytoskeletal BTB/kelch repeat family, is mutated in giant axonal neuropathy. Nat Genet. 26(3):370-4

Cleveland DW, Yamanaka K, Bomont P. Gigaxonin controls vimentin organization through a tubulin chaperone-independent pathway. Hum Mol Genet. 2009 Apr 15;18(8):1384-94.

Ganay T, Boizot A, Burrer R, Chauvin JP, Bomont P. Sensory-motor deficits and neurofilament disorganization in gigaxonin null mice. Mol Neurodegener. 2011;6:25

Mahammad S, Murthy SN, Didonna A, Grin B, Israeli E et al. Giant axonal neuropathy-associated gigaxonin mutations impair intermediate filament protein degradation. J Clin Invest. 2013 May;123(5):1964-75.

Scrivo A, Codogno P, Bomont P. Gigaxonin E3 ligase governs ATG16L1 turn over to control autophagosome production. Nat Commun 2019 Feb 15;10(1):780.

Laisser un commentaire

Maladies neurodégénératives, Montpellier – Avril 2019 CFATG
Maladies neurodégénératives, Montpellier – Avril 2019
HOME » Actualités » Maladies neurodégénératives, Montpellier – Avril 2019

Equipe E3 ligase, cytosquelette et maladies neurodégénératives

INSERM, U1051
Institut des Neurosciences de Montpellier
80 rue Augustin Fliche, 34091 Montpellier

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web : Cliquez ici

Responsable du groupe : Dr Pascale Bomont, chercheuse INSERM (pascale.bomont(at)inserm.fr)

Membres de l’équipe, 2019 :

Pascale Bomont, chef d’équipe (pascale.bomont(at)inserm.fr)
Karolina Mysiak, postdoc (karolina.mysiak(at)inserm.fr)
David Gonzalez, postdoc (david.gonzalez-figueroa(at)inserm.fr)
Léa Lescouzères, doctorante (lea.lescouzeres(at)inserm.fr)
Nicolas Pradeilles, assistant ingénieur (nicolas.pradeilles(at)inserm.fr)
Caroline Liénard, interne en Pharmacie (caroline.lienard(at)inserm.fr)
Dimitris Karaliu, étudiant ERASMUS

Léa LESCOUZERES, Karolina MYSIAK, Nicolas PRADEILLES, Caroline LIENARD, Pascale BOMONT, David GONZALEZ

Mots-clés : E3 ligase-Gigaxonine, maladies neurodégénératives, cytosquelette, autophagie

Thématique de l’équipe

Notre laboratoire s’intéresse de longue date aux maladies neurodégénératives humaines, et en particulier à une maladie rare appelée Neuropathie à Axones Géants (NAG) (Kuhlenbäumer et al. 2012). Extrêmement sévère, cette neuropathie infantile touche tout le système nerveux et induit une agrégation massive du cytosquelette dans tous les tissus de patients, supposant des rôles essentiels du gène NAG dans des processus biologiques clefs, dans la survie neuronale et l’organisation du cytosquelette.

Avec l’objectif constant d’apporter des réponses aux patients et de dessiner de futures voies thérapeutiques pour cette maladie fatale, notre équipe s’est engagée dans l’étude de NAG, depuis la recherche du locus génétique à l’étude des mécanismes pathologiques, jusqu’à la mise en place de dispositifs pour le diagnostic et la thérapie. Point de départ de l’étude des voies pathologiques engagées dans NAG, notre laboratoire a identifié le gène responsable de la maladie, codant pour une nouvelle ubiquitine E3 ligase appelée Gigaxonine (Bomont et al. 2000). Le développement de modèles cellulaires issus de patients (Cleveland et al. 2009) et la création d’un modèle murin (Ganay et al. 2011) nous ont permis d’étudier les désordres massifs du cytosquelette dans NAG, et de mettre en lumière le rôle fondamental de la Gigaxonine dans le contrôle de la dégradation des Filaments Intermédiaires (Mahammad et al. 2013).

Notre entrée dans le monde de l’autophagie est récente, et débute ici avec l’identification de la Gigaxonine comme un nouvel interrupteur moléculaire des étapes précoces de la voie autophagique (Scrivo et al. 2019).

En effet, nous venons de démontrer que la Gigaxonine contrôle la production des autophagosomes, en agissant au niveau de la protéine ATG16L1, qui est un acteur nécessaire à l’élongation des phagophores puisqu’il recrute le complexe ATG12-ATG5 à la membrane, permettant ainsi la lipidation localisée de la protéine LC3. Ainsi, nous révélons que la Gigaxonine intéragit avec le domaine C-terminal WD40 d’ATG16L1 pour induire sa poly-ubiquitination et sa dégradation par les deux voies de dégradation cellulaire.

L’étude de neurones corticaux primaires, issus de nos souris NAG-/- nous a permis de révéler qu’en l’absence de Gigaxonine, la protéine ATG16L1 s’accumule dans le soma des neurones, et conduit à un blocage du flux autophagique. Ainsi, les neurones déplétés en Gigaxonine présentent une diminution de la lipidation de LC3, qui correspond à une diminution de la production nette de nouveaux autophagosomes. Résultant de ce défaut, les étapes subséquentes à l’étape d’élongation des autophagosomes sont altérées, à savoir la fusion avec les lysosomes et la dégradation du contenu autophagique.

Restaurés par l’introduction de la Gigaxonin humaine, ces défauts soulignent le rôle fondamental de la Gigaxonine-E3 ligase dans la dynamique de formation des autophagosomes. Ainsi, nos résultats positionnent la Gigaxonine comme un nouvel interrupteur moléculaire pour moduler l’activation de l’autophagie par ATG16L1, et comme une cible thérapeutique pertinente pour de nombreuses maladies humaines. Pour NAG, ces travaux ouvrent de belles perspectives quant à la contribution de cette fonction dans les processus neurodégénératifs, et plus largement, vont permettre d’étudier les fonctions de la voie autophagique localisée dans le soma, domaine qui est encore peu connu.

Publications de référence

Kuhlenbäumer G, Timmerman V, Bomont P. (2012) Giant Axonal Neuropathy.
GeneReviews™. Seattle (WA): University of Washington, Seattle; Jun 21.

Bomont P, Cavalier L, Blondeau F, Ben Hamida C, Belal S et al. (2000) The gene encoding gigaxonin, a new member of the cytoskeletal BTB/kelch repeat family, is mutated in giant axonal neuropathy. Nat Genet. 26(3):370-4

Cleveland DW, Yamanaka K, Bomont P. Gigaxonin controls vimentin organization through a tubulin chaperone-independent pathway. Hum Mol Genet. 2009 Apr 15;18(8):1384-94.

Ganay T, Boizot A, Burrer R, Chauvin JP, Bomont P. Sensory-motor deficits and neurofilament disorganization in gigaxonin null mice. Mol Neurodegener. 2011;6:25

Mahammad S, Murthy SN, Didonna A, Grin B, Israeli E et al. Giant axonal neuropathy-associated gigaxonin mutations impair intermediate filament protein degradation. J Clin Invest. 2013 May;123(5):1964-75.

Scrivo A, Codogno P, Bomont P. Gigaxonin E3 ligase governs ATG16L1 turn over to control autophagosome production. Nat Commun 2019 Feb 15;10(1):780.

Laisser un commentaire