CFATG Bureau 2016 CFATG
CFATG Bureau 2016
HOME » Members » Equipes » CFATG Bureau 2016

The Francophone Club of Autophagy wish you a very good year in 2016.
We hope to see you to the 6th Scientific Days of CFATG that will take place in Bordeaux, 12th-14th October 2016

CFATG scientific comittee

Mathias Faure

Mathias Faure, president
Professor at the Lyon 1 University. Team leader at the International Center for Infectiology Research (CIRI), INSERM U1111/Lyon 1 University, ENS-Lyon, CNRS UMR5308, Lyon.
Research focus: Autophagy and infection, Autophagy and Immunity, Autophagy and immunopathology.


Isabelle Vergne


Isabelle Vergne, secretary
CNRS Research Associate at the Institute of Pharmacology and Structural Biology (IPBS), UMR 5089/Toulouse University (, Toulouse, France
Research focus: Autophagy and Mycobacteria.


Nadine Camougrand


Nadine Camougrand, Treasurer
CNRS Research Director at the Institut de Biochimie et Génétique Cellulaires (IBGC), UMR5095 CNRS/University Victor Segalen, Bordeaux.
Research focus: Role and regulation of mitophagy in yeast.


Carine Joffre
Carine Joffre, member
Email :
Postdoctoral researcher in the team « Cell signaling and cell cycle in myeloid malignancies», CRCT, U1037, Toulouse.
Research focus: Role of autophagy in acute myeloid malignancies.


Pierre Lapaquette

Pierre Lapaquette, member

Associate professor, University of Bourgogne Franche-Comté, UMR A PAM – team VALMIS, Rue Claude Ladrey, 21000 DIJON
Research focus: Autophagy in innate immunity – Regulation of autophagy by commensal and pathogenic bacteria.


Sophie Pattingre

Sophie Pattingre, member
INSERM Research associate, Team: Drug resistance and new cancer treatments, Montpellier Cancer Research Institute (U1194), Campus Val d’Aurelle, 34298 Montpellier cedex 5 France
Research focus: Post translational modifications of ATGs proteins, role in tumor progression and drug resistance.


Valérie Pierrefite-Carle


Valérie Pierrefite-Carle, member
INSERM Research Associate at the Unité Mixte de Recherche (UMR) E4320 Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique (CEA)/Centre Antoine Lacassagne (CAL)/Nice University, Nice.
Research focus: Role of autophagy in bone physiopathology.

New members

Mojgan Djavaheri-Mergny

Mojgan Djavaheri-Mergny, member
INSERM Research Associate, INSERM U1218 (ACTION: Actions for onCogenesis understanding and Target Identification in ONcology), Institut Bergonié, 229, cours de l’Argonne, 33076 Bordeaux Cedex France
Research focus: Molecular regulation of autophagy in cancer


Audrey Esclatine

Audrey Esclatine, member
Email :
Professor at Univ. Paris-Sud, Institute for Integrative Biology  of the
Cell, I2BC, CNRS UMR9198, Virology Department, Team leader
Virulence and latency of Herpesviruses, Gif sur Yvette.
Research focus: Autophagy and Herpesviruses


Lucile Espert

Lucile Espert, member
Email :
CNRS Research Associate, Team: Autophagy and infections.
Centre d’étude d’agents Pathogènes et Biotechnologies pour la Santé. CPBS – FRE3689 CNRS-UM – 1919 route de Mende 34293 Montpellier Cedex 5.
Research focus: Role of autophagy during HIV infection.


Former Presidents

Patrice Codogno

Patrice Codogno (Présidence du CFATG 2010-2013)
INSERM Research Director. Group leader at the Necker Research Institute-INSERM U1151-CNRS UMR 8253-Université Paris Descartes-Sorbonne Paris Cité, Paris.
Research focus: Membrane Dynamic and autophagosomes biogenesis, Autophagy and stress adaptation, autophagy and cancer stem cells.


Frank Lafont

Frank Lafont (Présidence du CFATG 2013-2015)
CNRS Research Director at the Pasteur Insitute Lille-CNRS UMR8204-INSERM U1019/University Lille Nord de France, Lille.
Research Focus: Cellular microbiology and physics of infection. Signaling and function of autophagy during infection


Former members:

Martine Biard-Piechaczyk




Martine Biard-Piechaczyk, CNRS Research Director, CPBS – FRE3689 CNRS-UM – 1919 route de Mende 34293 Montpellier Cedex 5.

Guillaume Robert




Guillaume Robert, INSERM Research Associate, C3M, U1065, Equipe 2, 151 route de saint Antoine de Ginestière BP 2 3194, 06204 Nice cedex 3.

Missions of the Club

The main objective of the CFATG is to bring together francophone research on Autophagy. A dynamic has been created thanks to the organization of an annual meeting. Thus, since 2011, five meetings has been organized with the participation of internationally recognized speakers have been invited:
– 2015 Lille: Tassula Proikas-Cezanne, Felix Randow and Maria-Isabel Colombo.
– 2014 Toulouse International Autophagy Conferences – International meeting co-organized with nordic and spanish autophagy clubs.
Keynote speakers: Eileen White, Emmanuelle Passegué, Guido Kroemer, Sharon Tooze
Invited speakers : Patrick Auberger, Devrim Gozuac, Patrice Codogno, Mojgan Djavaheri-Mergny, Geir Bjorkoy, Peter Bozhkov, Jose L Crespo, Ricardo Escalente, Marja Jäättelä, Erwin Knecht, Renaud Legouis, Dan Lindholm, Sylviane Muller.
– 2013 Grasse: Ana Maria Cuervo and Anne Simonsen
– 2012 La Grande-Motte: Patricia Boya and Fulvio Reggiori
– 2011 Lyon: Alfred J. Meijer and Guido Kroemer.


The CFATG has a policy of supporting young researchers by providing funding to allow junior researchers to attend International meetings. We have also awarded travel grants to help young scientists to attend the CFATG and given prizes (monetary reward) for best posters at different CFATG congresses.


Travel grant for Gordon Research Conference in the USA (Sophie Borel); CFATG2 (Susanna Abreu); CFATG2 prizes for poster (Guillaume Robert and Johan Arnold)


Travel grant for EMBO Conférence in Norway (Justine Lebeau, Carine Joffre et Wafa B’Chir) and CFATG3 (Salwa Sebti, Marion Manil-Segalen, Nicolas Couant, Sophie Nicot, Jonathan Levy and Pierre Grégoire Coulon) ; CFATG3 prizes for short talk (Jonathan Levy, Carine Joffre and Pauline Verlhac) and poster (Idil Orhon)


Travel grant for GORDON Research Conference in Italy (Johan Arnold and Flavie Strappazzon) and CFATG4 (Sandy Giuliano, Kumsal Tekirdag, Ekaterina Merkulova, Marion Robin, Laura Poillet, Sandrine Obba); CFATG4 prizes for short talk (Frankel Lisa, Katheder Nadja and Obba Sandrine) and poster (Coralie Daussy and Lorena Esteban-Martinez)


Travel grant for EMBO Conférence in Italy (Laura Perez-Poillet) and CFATG5 (Alexis Bretin, Aurore Claude Taupin, Olivier Camuzard, Denitsa Petkova, Aicha Bah, Quentin Heydt, Maud Wilheim and Amar Kurdi); CFATG5 prizes for short talk (Fengjuan Wang and Aïcha Bah) and poster (Charlotte Montespan and Kelly Airiau)


Travel grant for GORDON Research Conference in the USA (Fengjuan Wang and Coralie Daussy) and
7th Proteasome and Autophagy Workshop in Clermont-Ferrand (Aurora Scrivo).

Thus, thanks to the subscriptions and to our sponsors, your support and your fidelity are essential to maintain the dynamic of our club and support our young researchers.

Thank you!


Laisser un commentaire