Endothelial Physiopathology and Extracellular Vesicles – Feb. 2021 CFATG
Endothelial Physiopathology and Extracellular Vesicles – Feb. 2021

Team: Endothelial Physiopathology and Extracellular Vesicles

Paris Centre de Recherche Cardiovasculaire, Hôpital Européen Georges Pompidou
Adresse : 56 rue Leblanc, 75015, Paris, France
Tel : +33 1 53 98 80 86

Team presentation

Web site: http://parcc.inserm.fr/research-teams/team/boulanger/
Team Leader : Chantal M. Boulanger, Inserm Research Director, chantal.boulanger@inserm.fr
Team members
Xavier Loyer, Researcher
Olivier Blanc-Brude, Researcher
Dominique Charue, Engineer
Cecile Devue, Engineer
Fariza Mezine, Engineer
Michaël Robillard, Engineer
Pierre-Michaël Coly, Postdoc
Shruti Chatterjee, Postdoc
Stephane Mazlan, Postdoc
Pierre Julia, Clinician
Sylvain Lejeune, Clinician
Nicolas Amabile, Clinician

From left to right: (Top) Alice Algans, Pierre-Michaël Coly, Xavier Loyer ; (Middle) Juliette Lasselin, Jules Merian, Anis Khiat, Dominique Charue, Rana Atfeh, Marie Le Hoang, Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou, Stephane Mazlan, Michaël Robillard, Shruti Chatterjee ; (Bottom) Olivier Blanc-Brude, Chantal Boulanger, Marion Tanguy, Johanne Poisson, Cécile Devue, Adel Hammoutene

Key words : Autophagy, endothelium, atherosclerosis, nonalcoholic steatohepatitis, extracellular vesicles

Research focus
Our work is focused on the role of autophagy in endothelial cells and its involvement in the pathophysiology of diseases related to metabolic syndrome (combination of obesity, insulin resistance or type 2 diabetes, dyslipidemia and hypertension).

Atherosclerosis is the arterial consequence of metabolic syndrome. It is an inflammatory disease of large arteries which preferentially develops in specific areas of the vasculature, where the blood flow is disturbed and exerts low shear stress, such as arterial bifurcations and curvatures. Conversely, areas exposed to high shear stress are protected from plaque development. We demonstrated that autophagy is activated in high shear stress areas and protects against atherosclerotic plaque formation (Fig. 1; Vion, Kheloufi et al., PNAS 2017). Conversely, autophagic flux is blocked in atheroprone low shear stress areas. This defect is responsible for the preferential plaque formation in atheroprone low shear stress areas, by inducing an endothelial inflammatory, apoptotic, and senescent phenotype. Currently, we are investigating how stimulating endothelial autophagy in atheroprone areas may impact endothelial inflammation and atherosclerotic plaque formation. As the microtubule network is an essential actor in the formation and turnover of autophagosomes, we are testing a strategy of microtubule stabilization, via α-tubulin acetylation, to restore adequate autophagic flux.

Figure 1: Under high laminar shear stress, endothelial autophagy is strongly induced and plays an anti-apoptotic, anti-senescent, anti-inflammatory, and antiatherogenic role. Under low shear stress, a defect in endothelial autophagy occurs as a result of an inhibition of the AMPKα and activation of the mTOR pathways together with a blockade of the fusion between autophagosomes with lysosomes. This defect in endothelial autophagy leads to endothelial apoptosis, senescence, and inflammation, eventually increasing atherosclerosis development. ICAM-1, intercellular adhesion molecule 1; KLF-2, Krüppel-like factor 2; MCP-1, monocyte chemoattractant protein 1. Solid lines indicate up-regulated pathways. Dashed lines indicate down-regulated pathways (Vion, Kheloufi et al., PNAS 2017).

Nonalcoholic fatty liver disease is the liver manifestation of the metabolic syndrome. It encompasses a spectrum of histological lesions ranging from simple steatosis to nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) which includes, in addition to steatosis, hepatocellular injury, inflammation, and varying degree of fibrosis, and can progress to cirrhosis and liver cancer. We recently demonstrated that autophagy is defective in liver endothelial cells of patients with NASH and that this defect is induced by inflammatory mediators present in the portal blood of patients with metabolic syndrome (Fig. 2). We also demonstrated that deficiency in autophagy induces liver endothelial cell alterations responsible for liver inflammation, cell death and fibrosis, thus promoting NASH development (Hammoutene et al., J. Hepatol 2019). Our work demonstrates that autophagy is a key process involved in endothelial cell homeostasis in a metabolic syndrome setting in different vascular beds. Targeting endothelial autophagy is therefore an attractive strategy for the management of metabolic syndrome related disorders.

Figure 2: Autophagy is defective in the liver endothelial cells of patients with non-alcoholic steatohepatitis. This defect promotes liver inflammation and fibrosis at early stages of non-alcoholic steatohepatitis, but also at advanced stages of chronic liver disease (Hammoutene et al., 2018 J Hepatol).
Additionally, our team has pioneered research on the release of extracellular vesicles (apoptotic bodies, microvesicles or exosomes) from dysfunctional endothelial cells. These are lipid bilayer particles which enclose soluble cytosolic material originating from different subcellular compartments. We tested the hypothesis that specific changes in circulating extracellular vesicles represent a signature of vascular dysfunction and that vesicle content determines their functional effects during disease progression. We previously observed an increased release of endothelial microvesicles in atheroprone conditions, mimicked by in vitro low shear stress (Vion et al., Circ Res 2013). We are currently exploring the role of the autophagic process in the biogenesis of extracellular vesicles. The defect in autophagic flux, observed under atherorone conditions, may alter the content and function of endothelial extracellular vesicles. Early data indicate that inhibiting endothelial autophagy could lead to an enrichment in adhesion proteins and mitochondrial components, which could then impact the fate and function of these vesicles. Circulating vesicles may therefore contain potentially valuable biological information for biomarker discovery.

Key publications :
Anne-Clémence Vion, Bhama Ramkhelawon, Xavier Loyer, Gilles Chironi, Cecile Devue, Gervaise Loirand, Alain Tedgui, Stéphanie Lehoux, Chantal M Boulanger. Shear stress regulates endothelial microparticle release. Circ Res 2013, 112(10):1323-1333.

Anne-Clemence Vion*, Marouane Kheloufi*, Adel Hammoutene, Johanne Poisson, Juliette Lasselin, Cecile Devue, Isabelle Pic, Nicolas Dupont, Johanna Busse, Konstantin Stark, Julie Lafaurie-Janvore, Abdul I Barakat, Xavier Loyer, Michele Souyri, Benoit Viollet, Pierre Julia, Alain Tedgui, Patrice Codogno, Chantal M Boulanger# and Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou#. Autophagy is required for endothelial cell alignment and atheroprotection under physiological blood flow. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 2017, 114(41):E8675-E8684. (* and #: equally contributed to the work)

Marouane Kheloufi, Anne-Clemence Viona, Adel Hammoutene, Johanne Poisson, Juliette Lasselin, Cecile Devue, Isabelle Pic, Nicolas Dupont, Johanna Busse, Konstantin Stark, Julie Lafaurie-Janvore, Abdul I. Barakat, Xavier Loyer, Michele Souyri, Benoit Viollet, Pierre Julia, Alain Tedgui, Patrice Codogno, Chantal M. Boulanger and Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou. Endothelial autophagic flux hampers atherosclerotic lesion development. Autophagy 2018, 14(1):173–175.

Adel Hammoutene, Louise Biquard, Juliette Lasselin, Marouane Kheloufi, Marion Tanguy, Anne-Clémence Vion, Jules Mérian, Nathalie Colnot, Xavier Loyer, Alain Tedgui, Patrice Codogno, Sophie Lotersztajn, Valérie Paradis, Chantal M Boulanger and Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou. A defect in endothelial autophagy occurs in patients with non-alcoholic steatohepatitis and promotes inflammation and fibrosis. J Hepatol 2020, 72(3):528-538.

Laisser un commentaire

Equipe Physiopathologie endothéliale et vésicules extracellulaires – Fev. 2021 CFATG
Equipe Physiopathologie endothéliale et vésicules extracellulaires – Fev. 2021
HOME » Actualités » Equipe Physiopathologie endothéliale et vésicules extracellulaires – Fev. 2021

Equipe : Physiopathologie endothéliale et vésicules extracellulaires

Paris Centre de Recherche Cardiovasculaire, Hôpital Européen Georges Pompidou
Adresse : 56 rue Leblanc, 75015, Paris, France
Tel : +33 1 53 98 80 86

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web: http://parcc.inserm.fr/research-teams/team/boulanger/

Chef d’équipe : Chantal M. Boulanger, DR Inserm, chantal.boulanger@inserm.fr
Membres de l’équipe :
Xavier Loyer, CR Inserm
Olivier Blanc-Brude, CR CNRS
Dominique Charue, IE Inserm
Cecile Devue, AI Inserm
Fariza Mezine, IE
Michaël Robillard, IE
Pierre-Michaël Coly, Post-doctorant
Shruti Chatterjee, Post-doctorante
Stephane Mazlan, Post-doctorant
Pierre Julia, Clinicien
Sylvain Lejeune, Clinicien
Nicolas Amabile, Clinicien

De gauche à droite : (Haut) Alice Algans, Pierre-Michaël Coly, Xavier Loyer ; (Milieu) Juliette Lasselin, Jules Merian, Anis Khiat, Dominique Charue, Rana Atfeh, Marie Le Hoang, Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou, Stephane Mazlan, Michaël Robillard, Shruti Chatterjee ; (Bas) Olivier Blanc-Brude, Chantal Boulanger, Marion Tanguy, Johanne Poisson, Cécile Devue, Adel Hammoutene

Mots clés : Autophagie, endothélium, athérosclérose, stéatose hépatique non alcoolique, vésicules extracellulaires

Thématiques développées
Nos travaux se concentrent sur le rôle de l’autophagie dans les cellules endothéliales, et plus particulièrement, dans la physiopathologie des maladies liées au syndrome métabolique (obésité, insulinorésistance ou diabète de type 2, dyslipidémie et hypertension).

L’athérosclérose est la conséquence artérielle du syndrome métabolique. Il s’agit d’une maladie inflammatoire des grandes artères se développant préférentiellement dans des zones spécifiques de l’arbre vasculaire, telles que les bifurcations et les courbures artérielles, où le flux sanguin est perturbé et exerce de faibles contraintes de cisaillement sur l’endothélium. A l’inverse, les régions exposées à de fortes contraintes de cisaillement sont généralement protégées du développement de plaques. Nous avons démontré que l’autophagie est activée dans les zones de fortes contraintes de cisaillement et protège contre la formation de plaques d’athérosclérose (Fig.1 ; Vion, Kheloufi et al., PNAS 2017). En revanche, le flux autophagique est bloqué dans les zones de faibles contraintes de cisaillement. Ce défaut est responsable de la formation préférentielle de la plaque dans les zones de faible cisaillement, via la mise en place un phénotype endothélial inflammatoire, apoptotique et sénescent. Actuellement, nous évaluons si une stimulation du processus autophagique, dans des cellules endothéliales soumises à des conditions athérogènes, pourrait inhiber les processus d’inflammation et la formation de lésions d’athérosclérose. Le réseau de microtubules étant un acteur essentiel au cours de la formation des autophagosomes et de leur fusion avec les lysosomes, nous testons une stratégie de stabilisation des microtubules, via l’acétylation de l’α-tubuline, pour restaurer un flux autophagique adéquat.

Figure 1: En conditions de fortes contraintes de cisaillement, l’autophagie endothéliale est fortement induite et joue un rôle anti-apoptotique, anti-sénescent, anti-inflammatoire et antiathérogène. Sous de faibles contraintes de cisaillement, un défaut du flux autophagique endothélial se produit à la suite d’une inhibition de l’AMPKα et de l’activation de la voie mTOR (Vion, Kehloufi et al., PNAS 2017).

La stéatose hépatique non alcoolique est la manifestation hépatique du syndrome métabolique. Elle englobe un spectre de lésions histologiques allant de la simple stéatose à la stéatohépatite non alcoolique (NASH) qui comprend, en plus de la stéatose, des lésions hépatocellulaires, une inflammation et un degré variable de fibrose, et peut évoluer vers la cirrhose et le cancer du foie. Nous avons récemment démontré que l’autophagie est défectueuse dans les cellules endothéliales hépatiques de patients atteints de NASH et que ce défaut est induit par des médiateurs inflammatoires présents dans le sang porte des patients atteints du syndrome métabolique (Fig. 2). Nous avons également démontré qu’une réduction du flux autophagique induit une altération des cellules endothéliales hépatiques, responsable de l’inflammation du foie, de la mort cellulaire et de la fibrose, favorisant alors le développement de la NASH (Hammoutene et al., J. Hepatol 2019). Nos travaux démontrent que l’autophagie est un processus clé impliqué dans l’homéostasie des cellules endothéliales dans un contexte de syndrome métabolique dans différents lits vasculaires. Cibler l’autophagie endothéliale est donc une stratégie intéressante pour la prise en charge des troubles liés au syndrome métabolique.

Figure 2 : L’autophagie est défectueuse dans les cellules endothéliales du foie de patients atteints de stéatohépatite non alcoolique. Ce défaut favorise l’inflammation du foie et la fibrose aux stades précoces de la stéatohépatite non alcoolique, mais aussi aux stades avancés de la maladie hépatique chronique (Hammoutene et al., 2018 J Hepatol).

Par ailleurs, notre équipe a été pionnière dans la recherche sur la libération de vésicules extracellulaires (corps apoptotiques, microvésicules ou exosomes) par des cellules endothéliales dysfonctionnelles. Il s’agit de particules à bicouches lipidiques renfermant du matériel cytosolique provenant de différents compartiments subcellulaires. Nous testons l’hypothèse selon laquelle une modification des niveaux de vésicules extracellulaires circulantes représenterait une signature du dysfonctionnement vasculaire. Nous avons précédemment observé une libération accrue de microvésicules endothéliales dans des conditions de faibles contraintes de cisaillement (Vion et al, Circ Res 2013). Nous explorons actuellement le rôle du processus autophagique dans la biogénèse de ces vésicules. Le défaut de flux autophagique, observé dans les conditions athérogènes, pourrait modifier le contenu et la fonction des vésicules extracellulaires endothéliales. Les premières données indiquent que l’inhibition de l’autophagie endothéliale conduit à un enrichissement en protéines d’adhésion et en composants mitochondriaux, ce qui pourrait alors avoir un impact sur le devenir de ces vésicules, ainsi que sur les cellules qui les incorporent. Les vésicules extracellulaires circulantes pourraient donc contenir des informations biologiques essentielles pour la découverte de nouveaux biomarqueurs du dysfonctionnement endothélial.

Publications de référence

Anne-Clémence Vion, Bhama Ramkhelawon, Xavier Loyer, Gilles Chironi, Cecile Devue, Gervaise Loirand, Alain Tedgui, Stéphanie Lehoux, Chantal M Boulanger. Shear stress regulates endothelial microparticle release. Circ Res 2013, 112(10):1323-1333.

Anne-Clemence Vion*, Marouane Kheloufi*, Adel Hammoutene, Johanne Poisson, Juliette Lasselin, Cecile Devue, Isabelle Pic, Nicolas Dupont, Johanna Busse, Konstantin Stark, Julie Lafaurie-Janvore, Abdul I Barakat, Xavier Loyer, Michele Souyri, Benoit Viollet, Pierre Julia, Alain Tedgui, Patrice Codogno, Chantal M Boulanger# and Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou#. Autophagy is required for endothelial cell alignment and atheroprotection under physiological blood flow. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 2017, 114(41):E8675-E8684. (* and #: equally contributed to the work)

Marouane Kheloufi, Anne-Clemence Vion, Adel Hammoutene, Johanne Poisson, Juliette Lasselin, Cecile Devue, Isabelle Pic, Nicolas Dupont, Johanna Busse, Konstantin Stark, Julie Lafaurie-Janvore, Abdul I. Barakat, Xavier Loyer, Michele Souyri, Benoit Viollet, Pierre Julia, Alain Tedgui, Patrice Codogno, Chantal M. Boulanger and Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou. Endothelial autophagic flux hampers atherosclerotic lesion development. Autophagy 2018, 14(1):173–175.

Adel Hammoutene, Louise Biquard, Juliette Lasselin, Marouane Kheloufi, Marion Tanguy, Anne-Clémence Vion, Jules Mérian, Nathalie Colnot, Xavier Loyer, Alain Tedgui, Patrice Codogno, Sophie Lotersztajn, Valérie Paradis, Chantal M Boulanger and Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou. A defect in endothelial autophagy occurs in patients with non-alcoholic steatohepatitis and promotes inflammation and fibrosis. J Hepatol 2020, 72(3):528-538

Laisser un commentaire