Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Biology of Cancer , Luxembourg – March 2019 CFATG
Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Biology of Cancer , Luxembourg – March 2019

Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Biology of Cancer

Hôpital Kirchberg, 9, Rue Edward Steichen, L-2540 Luxembourg

Presentation of the team

Website : Click here

Team leader: Pr Marc Diederich PhD, director of LBMCC, (marc.diederich[at]lbmcc.lu).

Team members involved in autophagy research:
Dr. Franck Morceau, Ph.D., project leader, franck.morceau[at]lbmcc.lu
Dr. Claudia Cerella, Ph.D., project leader, claudia.cerella[at]lbmcc.lu
Dr. Michael Schnekenburger, Ph.D., project leader, michael.schnekenburger[at]lbmcc.lu
Dr. Flavia Radogna, Ph.D., postdoc, flavia.radogna[at]lbmcc.lu
Dr. Cristina Florean, Ph.D., postdoc, cristina.florean[at]lbmcc.lu
Dr. Esma Yagdi, former Ph.D. candidate
Dr. Marion Orsini former Ph.D. candidate

From left to right: Marion Orsini, Franck Morceau, Michael Schnekenburger, Flavia Radogna, Cristina Florean, Esma Yagdi, Marc Diederich, Claudia Cerella

Keywords: autophagy, mitophagy, neuroblastoma, cardiac glycoside, chemoresistance, mTOR, anemia, erythropoiesis, cancer, epigenetic.

Research Topic

The Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Cancer Biology (LBMCC) investigates molecular mechanisms involved in cancer, inflammation, and immunogenicity, in solid and hematological cancer. Among multiple mechanistic approaches, we integrate the investigation of compound-mediated cell death and differentiation mechanisms with autophagy and its modulation into our projects (1-4):

We identify biomarkers and pathways controlling the mitochondrial turnover by mitophagy or the autophagic flux in cancer cells. We investigate the potential anti-cancer strategies centered on targeting deregulated mitochondria in neuroblastoma tumors, to define biomarkers predicting treatment response. We aim to identify novel, more effective therapies and combinational personalized treatment approaches for high-risk neuroblastoma sub-groups. A previous study identified mitophagy as a determinant for the anti-cancer activity of cardiac glycosides in different neuroblastoma subtypes. We demonstrated that the hemi-synthetic cardiac glycoside UNBS1450 exerts its anti-cancer activity primarily through the early induction of mitophagy in response to a severe mitochondrial stress response, in turn promoting cell type-specific demise (Figure 1) (5).

Figure 1. Cardiac Glycoside UNBS1450 extracted from the flowering plant Calotropis procera induces a neuroblastoma subtype-specific mitophagic response that triggers mitochondrial accumulation and apoptosis in SH-SY5Y cells. Moreover, the induction of autophagosomal clearance of mitochondria increases SK-N-AS neuroblastoma cell resistance to UNBS1450 and induces necroptosis at higher doses.

On the other hand, we aim to predict cell markers and pathways controlling the autophagic flux as well as pharmacological compounds acting as perturbators of autophagy. We study the cell death-sensitizing effects of autophagy after targeting various cancer cell models with single or combinational regimens including newly synthesized or purified compounds. Recently we investigated a novel class of microtubule-altering agents derived from garlic polysulfanes in colon cancer with differential genetic backgrounds (6). We also examined the inhibition of autophagic flux by cardiac glycosides (7-9). Recently, in lung cancer, we showed that autophagy modulation correlated with the genetic background of cancer subtypes hinting at improved patient stratification (10).

In line with the pharmacological modulation of autophagy, we also identified epigenetic targeting of autophagy as an effective anticancer strategy. Epigenetic mechanisms represent a significant component of the autophagic process and therefore have the potential to influence autophagy-related cellular decisions of life and death. Pathological epigenetic modifications play a critical role in tumorigenesis associated with a deregulation of networks (3) and mechanisms controlling autophagy. Hence, we aim to reprogram cancer cells with epigenetic drugs such as DNA methyltransferase (DNMT) and/or histone deacetylase (HDAC) inhibitors alone or in combination with other chemotherapeutic agents to impair or exacerbate the autophagy flux, with the goal to improve anti-cancer activities (Figure 2). For instance, we showed that prolonged exposure of chronic myeloid leukemia (CML) cells to the clinically approved hypomethylating agent 5-aza-2’-deoxycytidine induces autophagy and leads subsequently to mitochondrial-dependent apoptosis. Such a therapeutic approach sensitizes CML cells to synergistic apoptosis induction in combination with either conventional cell death inducers or approved HDAC inhibitors (11). More recently, we identified isofistularin-3, a new DNMT inhibitor extracted from a marine sponge, which triggers autophagy in lymphoma cells and sensitizes them to TRAIL, an apoptotic inducer (12, 13). Altogether, our findings point out the interest to modulate autophagy in cancer cells as a potent therapeutic approach. We further aim to characterize the underlying mechanisms and molecular determinants of such treatments with the ultimate goal of delivering improved therapeutic choices for cancer patients (14).

Figure 2. The TNFα/ceramide pathway inhibits erythropoiesis while activating granulopoiesis in Epo-induced CD34+/HSCs through autophagy inhibition. TNFα activates the PI3K/AKT/mTOR pathway leading to inhibition of ULK1 phosphorylation and inhibition of autophagosome formation.

Beyond the pharmacological modulation of autophagy, we also characterize the cellular and molecular mechanisms involved in chronic inflammation-mediated inhibition of erythropoiesis leading anemia in cancer patients. The pro-inflammatory cytokine TNFα inhibits erythropoiesis and causes anemia in patients with cancer and chronic inflammatory diseases (15). Autophagy plays an essential role during erythropoiesis (16). We studied the impact of the TNFα/ceramide pathway on autophagy in erythropoietin (Epo)-stimulated CD34+ hematopoietic stem cells (HSC). We demonstrate that the TNFα/ceramide pathway inhibits erythropoiesis and concomitantly induces myelopoiesis via inhibition of late steps of autophagy. Indeed, the TNFα/ceramide pathway inhibited autophagy in Epo-induced CD34/HSCs by inducing phosphorylation of mTORS2448 and ULK1S758, thus inhibiting Atg13S355 phosphorylation. Autophagosome formation was blocked as shown by transmission electron microscopy and GFP-LC3 punctae formation. Furthermore, the TNFα/ceramide pathway inhibited the expression of beclin 1 and Atg5-Atg12 complex formation. Rapamycin prevented the inhibitory effect of TNFα and ceramides on erythropoiesis while inhibiting induction of myelopoiesis. In contrast, bafilomycin A1, but not an anti-Atg5 siRNA, induced myeloid differentiation, while both impaired erythropoiesis. Altogether, our results revealed an essential role of autophagy in erythroid vs. myeloid differentiation (Figure 3) (17).

Figure 3. Epigenetic drugs trigger autophagy and sensitize cancer cells to cell death.

References

(1) Cerella C., et al., Biotechnol Adv, 2014, 10.1016/j.biotechadv.2014.03.006
(2) Diederich M. and Cerella C., Semin Cancer Biol, 2016, 10.1016/j.semcancer.2016.06.001
(3) Morceau F., et al., Biotechnol Adv, 2015, 10.1016/j.biotechadv.2015.03.013
(4) Schnekenburger M., et al., Biotechnol Adv, 2014, 10.1016/j.biotechadv.2014.03.009
(5) Radogna F., et al., Oncogene, 2016, 10.1038/onc.2015.455
(6) Yagdi Efe E., et al., Cancer Lett, 2017, 10.1016/j.canlet.2017.09.011
(7) Diederich M., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2017, 10.1016/j.bcp.2016.08.017
(8) Juncker T., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2011, 10.1016/j.bcp.2010.08.025
(9) Cerella C., et al., Cell Death Dis, 2015, 10.1038/cddis.2015.134
(10) Schneider N. F. Z., et al., Front Pharmacol, 2018, 10.3389/fphar.2018.00070
(11) Schnekenburger M., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2011, 10.1016/j.bcp.2010.10.013
(12) Florean C., et al., Mar Drugs, 2018, 10.3390/md16120518
(13) Florean C., et al., Oncotarget, 2016, 10.18632/oncotarget.8210
(14) Radogna F., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2015, 10.1016/j.bcp.2014.12.018
(15) Chateauvieux S., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2011, 10.1016/j.bcp.2011.06.045
(16) Orsini M., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2018, 10.1016/j.bcp.2018.04.007
(17) Orsini M., et al., Cell Death Differ, 2018, 10.1038/s41418-018-0245-x

Laisser un commentaire

Laboratoire de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire du Cancer, Luxembourg – Mars 2019 CFATG
Laboratoire de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire du Cancer, Luxembourg – Mars 2019
HOME » Actualités » Laboratoire de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire du Cancer, Luxembourg – Mars 2019

Laboratoire de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire du Cancer

Hôpital Kirchberg, 9, Rue Edward Steichen, L-2540 Luxembourg

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web : Cliquez ici

Responsable du groupe : Pr Marc Diederich PhD, directeur du LBMCC, (marc.diederich[at]lbmcc.lu).

Membres de l’équipe, 2019 :
Dr Franck Morceau, PhD, chef d’équipe, franck.morceau[at]lbmcc.lu
Dr Claudia Cerella, PhD, chef d’équipe, claudia.cerella[at]lbmcc.lu
Dr Michael Schnekenburger, PhD, chef d’équipe, michael.schnekenburger[at]lbmcc.lu
Dr Flavia Radogna, PhD, postdoc, flavia.radogna[at]lbmcc.lu
Dr Cristina Florean, postdoc, cristina.florean[at]lbmcc.lu
Dr Esma Yagdi, PhD, ancienne doctorante
Dr Marion Orsini, PhD, ancienne doctorante

De gauche à droite : Marion Orsini, Franck Morceau, Michael Schnekenburger, Flavia Radogna, Cristina Florean, Esma Yagdi, Marc Diederich, Claudia Cerella

Mots-clés : autophagie, mitophagie, neuroblastome, glycoside cardiaques, chimiorésistance, mTOR, anémie, érythropoïèse, cancer, épigénétique.

Thématique de l’équipe

Le Laboratoire de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire du Cancer (LBMCC) se concentre sur l’étude des mécanismes moléculaires impliqués dans le cancer, l’inflammation et l’immunogénicité, dans les tumeurs solides et hématologiques. Parmi différentes approches mécanistiques, nous nous intéressons au rôle et à la modulation de l’autophagie dans les mécanismes de mort et de différenciation cellulaire (1-4) :

Nous identifions des biomarqueurs et des voies de régulation du renouvellement mitochondrial par mitophagie ou du flux autophagique dans les cellules cancéreuses. Notre étude est axée sur les stratégies anticancéreuses basées sur le ciblage spécifique des mitochondries dérégulées dans les neuroblastomes afin de définir des biomarqueurs et de prédire la réponse aux traitements. Nous visons d’identifier de nouvelles thérapies plus efficaces et des combinaisons thérapeutiques personnalisées pour les sous-groupes de neuroblastomes à haut risque. La mitophagie a été identifiée comme un paramètre clé de l’activités anticancéreuse des glycosides cardiaques dans différents sous-types de neuroblastomes. Nous avons démontré que le glycoside cardiaque hémi-synthétique UNBS1450 exerce ses activités anticancéreuses par une induction précoce de la mitophagie en réponse à un stress mitochondrial sévère, favorisant à son tour la disparition de certains types de cellules (5) (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Le glycoside cardiaque UNBS1450 extrait de la plante Calotropis procera induit la mitophagie de manière spécifique du type de neuroblastome, entrainant une accumulation mitochondriale dans les phagophores et autophagosomes et l’apoptose dans la lignée neuroblastique de type N, SH-SY5Y. Une induction de l’élimination des mitochondries par les autophagosomes fait que les cellules stromales de type S (SK-N-AS) sont plus résistantes à l’UNBS1450, induisant la nécroptose aux concentrations plus élevées.

Par ailleurs, notre objectif est de prédire les marqueurs cellulaires et les voies contrôlant le flux autophagique ainsi que les composés pharmacologiques agissant comme de perturbateurs de l’autophagie. Nous étudions l’effet de sensibilisation des cellules cancéreuses à la mort cellulaire par l’autophagie après l’action ciblée de nouveaux composés synthétiques ou purifiés, y compris en combinaisons, sur différents modèles de cellules cancéreuses. Récemment nous nous sommes particulièrement intéressés à une nouvelle classe d’agents dérivés des polysulfanes issus de l’ail, affectant les microtubules dans des cellules de cancer du côlon avec différents profils génétiques (6). Nous avons également étudié l’inhibition du flux autophagique par les glycosides cardiaques (7-9). Récemment, nous avons montré que la modulation de l’autophagie était corrélée au profil génétique de certains sous-types de cancer du poumon, suggérant une meilleure stratification des patients (10).

De plus, concernant la modulation pharmacologique de l’autophagie, nous avons identifié des cibles épigénétiques en tant que nouvelle stratégie anticancéreuse. Les mécanismes épigénétiques sont fortement impliquées dans l’autophagie et par conséquent ont le potentiel d’influencer la balance entre mort et survie cellulaires liée à l’autophagie. Des altérations des modifications épigénétiques sont associées à la dérégulation des mécanismes de l’autophagie et à l’apparition de cancers (4). Pour cette raison, nous reprogrammons les cellules tumorales avec des médicaments épigénétiques tels que les inhibiteurs de méthyltransférases de l’ADN (DNMT) et / ou de désacétylases d’histones (HDAC) utilisés seuls ou en combinaison avec d’autres agents chimiothérapeutiques pour interférer avec les flux autophagiques, dans le but de générer une activité anticancéreuse (Figure 2). Par exemple, nous avons montré qu’une exposition prolongée des cellules de la leucémie myéloïde chronique (LMC) à la 5-aza-2’-désoxycytidine, un agent hypométhylant approuvé en clinique, induit l’autophagie et conduit par la suite à une apoptose dépendante des mitochondries. Cette approche thérapeutique sensibilise les cellules de la LMC à l’induction synergique de la mort en combinaison avec des inducteurs d’apoptose classiques ou des inhibiteurs approuvés de HDAC (11). Plus récemment, nous avons identifié un nouvel inhibiteur de DNMT isolé d’une éponge, l’isofistularine-3, qui déclenche l’autophagie des cellules de lymphome et les sensibilise à un inducteur d’apoptose (12, 13). Nos résultats soulignent l’intérêt de moduler l’autophagie dans les cellules cancéreuses pour une approche thérapeutique plus efficace. A long terme, nous souhaiterions mieux comprendre les mécanismes sous-jacents et les déterminants moléculaires de ces traitements dans le but ultime d’offrir de meilleurs choix thérapeutiques pour les patients souffrant d’un cancer (14).

Figure 2. Les médicaments épigénétiques activent l’autophagie et sensibilisent les cellules cancéreuses à la mort cellulaire.

Au-delà de la modulation pharmacologique de l’autophagie, nous caractérisons également les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires de l’inhibition de l’érythropoïèse impliquant l’autophagie et conduisant à une anémie de l’inflammation chronique ou du cancer. La cytokine pro-inflammatoire TNFα inhibe l’érythropoïèse et entraine une anémie chez les patients atteints d’un cancer ou d’une maladie inflammatoire chronique (15). L’autophagie joue un rôle essentiel au cours de l’érythropoïèse (16). Nous avons étudié l’impact de la voie pro-inflammatoire TNFα/céramides sur l’autophagie dans des cellules souches hématopoïétiques (CSH) CD34+ stimulées par l’érythropoïétine. Nous montrons que le TNFα et les céramides inhibent l’érythropoïèse reproduite in vitro en corrélation avec l’inhibition de la formation des autophagosomes, l’induction de la phosphorylation de mTORS2448/ULK1S758, l’inhibition de la phosphorylation d’Atg13S355 et de la formation de punctae GFP-LC3. De plus, la voie TNFα/céramide inhibe l’expression de bécline 1 et la formation du complexe Atg5-Atg12. Simultanément, la différenciation granulocytaire des CSH est activée. La bafilomycine A1 (Baf) et un siRNA anti-Atg5, bloquent l’érythropoïèse alors que seule la Baf induit la granulopoïèse. En revanche, la rapamycine prévient l’inhibition de l’érythropoïèse par le TNFα et les céramides, au détriment de la différenciation granulocytaire. Ces résultats démontrent que la voie TNFα/céramides joue un rôle dans l’homéostasie hématopoïétique par l’inhibition de l’érythropoïèse au profit de la myélopoïèse, en impactant les étapes tardives de l’autophagie (Figure 3) (17).

Figure 3. La voie TNFα/céramide inhibe l’érythropoïèse et active la granulopoïèse simultanément dans les CSH/CD34+ induite par l’Epo via l’inhibition de l’autophagie. Le TNFα active la voie inhibitrice PI3K/AKT/mTOR conduisant à l’inhibition de la phosphorylation de ULK1 et le blocage de la formation des autophagosomes.

Références

(1) Cerella C., et al., Biotechnol Adv, 2014, 10.1016/j.biotechadv.2014.03.006
(2) Diederich M. and Cerella C., Semin Cancer Biol, 2016, 10.1016/j.semcancer.2016.06.001
(3) Morceau F., et al., Biotechnol Adv, 2015, 10.1016/j.biotechadv.2015.03.013
(4) Schnekenburger M., et al., Biotechnol Adv, 2014, 10.1016/j.biotechadv.2014.03.009
(5) Radogna F., et al., Oncogene, 2016, 10.1038/onc.2015.455
(6) Yagdi Efe E., et al., Cancer Lett, 2017, 10.1016/j.canlet.2017.09.011
(7) Diederich M., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2017, 10.1016/j.bcp.2016.08.017
(8) Juncker T., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2011, 10.1016/j.bcp.2010.08.025
(9) Cerella C., et al., Cell Death Dis, 2015, 10.1038/cddis.2015.134
(10) Schneider N. F. Z., et al., Front Pharmacol, 2018, 10.3389/fphar.2018.00070
(11) Schnekenburger M., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2011, 10.1016/j.bcp.2010.10.013
(12) Florean C., et al., Mar Drugs, 2018, 10.3390/md16120518
(13) Florean C., et al., Oncotarget, 2016, 10.18632/oncotarget.8210
(14) Radogna F., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2015, 10.1016/j.bcp.2014.12.018
(15) Chateauvieux S., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2011, 10.1016/j.bcp.2011.06.045
(16) Orsini M., et al., Biochem Pharmacol, 2018, 10.1016/j.bcp.2018.04.007
(17) Orsini M., et al., Cell Death Differ, 2018, 10.1038/s41418-018-0245-x

Laisser un commentaire