Laboratory of epithelial biology and disease, Paris – January 2019 CFATG
Laboratory of epithelial biology and disease, Paris – January 2019

Laboratory of epithelial biology and disease

INSERM UMR 1163
Institut Imagine, 24, Boulevard du Montparnasse, 75015 Paris

Team presentation

Website : click here

Group leader : Matias Simons, Directeur de recherche (INSERM), PI, Liliane Bettencourt Chair of Developmental Biology at Institute Imagine (matias.simons(at)institutimagine.org)

Group members 2019 :

Matias SIMONS, group leader (matias.simons(at)institutimagine.org)
Valentina MARCHESIN, postdoc (valentina.marchesin(at)institutimagine.org)
Zvonimir MARELJA, postdoc (zvonimir.marelja(at)institutimagine.org)
Albert PEREZ MARTI, postdoc (albert.perez-marti(at)institutimagine.org)
Gwenn LE MEUR, Engeneer (gwenn.le-meur(at)institutimagine.org)
Magda CANNATA SERIO, PhD student (magda.cannata-serio(at)institutimagine.org)
Mathilda BEDIN, PhD student (mathilda.bedin(at)institutimagine.org)
Chiara Garsia, M2 student (chiara.garsia(at)gmail.com)

From left to right : Valentina MARCHESIN, Gwenn LE MEUR, Albert PEREZ MARTI, Magda CANNATA SERIO, Laure VILLOING-GAUDE, Zvonimir MARELJA, Matias SIMONS, Mathilda BEDIN.

Keywords: Human genetics, Drosophila, liver steatosis, proximal tubules, V-ATPase, mTOR.

Research topic :

Mutations in ATP6AP2 cause autophagic liver disease: A long-standing goal of the lab has been to functionally characterize ATP6AP2 (also known as the (pro)renin receptor). Our results suggest that this protein contributes to the assembly of the proton pump V-ATPase in the endoplasmic reticulum. Through this role, it has a fundamental impact on various signaling pathways (PCP, Wnt, Notch, mTOR etc.) (Hermle et al, 2010, 2013; Trepiccione et al, 2016; Guida et al, 2018). We also found that mutations in ATP6AP2 cause syndromic steatotic liver disease with severe problems in autophagic clearance due to insufficient lysosomal acidification (Rujano et al, 2017; Cannata Serio et al, 2018). We are currently characterizing additional players in V-ATPase assembly as well as their human mutations.

Drosophila as a tool in human genetics: The understanding of human genetic diseases has been greatly improved by novel techniques, such as next generation sequencing, allowing the complete genotyping of vast numbers of affected individuals and their relatives. However, the evaluation of the pathogenicity of genetic variants remains a major bottleneck, because the human genome still lacks important functional gene information. An important goal of the lab is to employ the Drosophila model as an innovative toolkit for the rapid identification of novel genes for hereditary diseases, particularly in the area of kidney disease (Gerber et al, 2016; Cavallin et al, 2017; Lovric, Goncalves et al, 2017; Goncalves et al, 2018).

Lysosomal signaling in proximal tubular cells of the kidney: In the kidney, our main organ of interest, there are a number of different epithelial cells organized in segments along the nephron, and we are particularly interested in the proximal tubules. Epithelial cells of the proximal tubules have a very active endolysosomal system, and this is because its main task is to reabsorb virtually all the proteins that are filtered by the glomerulus. For this, the apical brush borders are equipped with a dedicated protein uptake pathway, involving the multiligand receptors Megalin and Cubilin. Failure of this pathway results in low-molecular-weight proteinuria, which is a hallmark of proximal tubulopathies (e.g. cystinosis and Dent’s disease). Our recent research in Drosophila has introduced a novel mechanism for the control of apical protein uptake with strong implications for proximal tubular cells (Gleixner et al., 2014). Our findings propose that lysosomal mTOR signaling – a major nutrient sensing pathway that controls metabolic decisions from the lysosomal surface – regulates the expression of Megalin as well as the morphogenesis of the apical surface. In addition, we have found that cystine, derived from lysosomal proteolysis, can inhibit mTOR signaling and, thus, stimulate autophagy in prolonged starvation conditions. We are also studying how protein and lipid ligands from the tubular lumen can activate nuclear receptor signalig to satisfy the high metabolic needs of proximal tubular cells.

References

– Guida, M. C., Hermle, T., Graham, L. A., Hauser, V., Ryan, M., Stevens, T. H., Simons, M. ATP6AP2 functions as a V-ATPase assembly factor in the endoplasmic reticulum. Mol Biol Cell, 2018 Sep 1; 29(18): 2156-2164.
– Gonçalves, S., Patat, J., Guida, M. C., et al. A homozygous KAT2B variant modulates the clinical phenotype of ADD3 deficiency in humans and flies. PLoS Genet, 2018 May 16; 14(5): e1007386.
– Rujano, M. A., Cannata Serio, M., Panasyuk, G., et al. Mutations in the X-linked ATP6AP2 cause a glycosylation disorder with autophagic defects. J Exp Med, 2017 Dec 4; 214(12): 3707-3729.
– Lovric, S., Goncalves, S., Gee, H. Y., et al. Mutations in sphingosine-1-phosphate lyase cause nephrosis with ichthyosis and adrenal insufficiency. J Clin Invest, 2017 Mar 1; 127(3): 912-928.
– Trepiccione, F., Gerber, S. D., Grahammer, F. et al. Renal Atp6ap2/(Pro)renin Receptor Is Required for Normal Vacuolar H+-ATPase Function but Not for the Renin-Angiotensin System. J Am Soc Nephrol. 2016 Nov; 27(11): 3320-3330.
– Gleixner, E. M., Canaud, G., Hermle, T., Guida, M. C., Kretz, O., Helmstädter, M., Huber, T. B., Eimer, S., Terzi, F., Simons, M. V-ATPase/mTOR signaling regulates megalin-mediated apical endocytosis. Cell Rep, 2014 Jul 10; 8(1): 10-9.

Laisser un commentaire

Laboratory of epithelial biology and disease, Paris – Janvier 2019 CFATG
Laboratory of epithelial biology and disease, Paris – Janvier 2019
HOME » Actualités » Laboratory of epithelial biology and disease, Paris – Janvier 2019

Laboratory of epithelial biology and disease

INSERM UMR 1163
Institut Imagine, 24, Boulevard du Montparnasse, 75015 Paris

Présentation de l’équipe

Sites web : Cliquez ici

Responsable du groupe : Matias Simons, Directeur de recherche (INSERM), PI, Liliane Bettencourt,
Biologie du développement, Institut Imagine (matias.simons(at)institutimagine.org)

Membres de l’équipe, 2019 :

Matias SIMONS, chef d’équipe (matias.simons(at)institutimagine.org)
Valentina MARCHESIN, postdoc (valentina.marchesin(at)institutimagine.org)
Zvonimir MARELJA, postdoc (zvonimir.marelja(at)institutimagine.org)
Albert PEREZ MARTI, postdoc (albert.perez-marti(at)institutimagine.org)
Gwenn LE MEUR, ingénieur d’étude (gwenn.le-meur(at)institutimagine.org)
Magda CANNATA SERIO, doctorante (magda.cannata-serio(at)institutimagine.org)
Mathilda BEDIN, doctorante (mathilda.bedin(at)institutimagine.org)
Chiara Garsia, M2 étudiante (chiara.garsia(at)gmail.com)

De gauche à droite : Valentina MARCHESIN, Gwenn LE MEUR, Albert PEREZ MARTI, Magda CANNATA SERIO, Laure VILLOING-GAUDE, Zvonimir MARELJA, Matias SIMONS, Mathilda BEDIN.

Mots-clés: Génétique humaine, drosophile, stéatose hépatique, tubules rénales proximaux, V-ATPase, mTOR

Thématique du groupe :

Des mutations dans ATP6AP2 provoquent une maladie hépatique avec altérations autophagiques: Un objectif de longue date du laboratoire est de caractériser fonctionnellement ATP6AP2 (également appelé récepteur de la (pro)rénine). Nos résultats suggèrent que cette protéine contribue à l’assemblage de la pompe à protons V-ATPase dans le réticulum endoplasmique. À travers ce rôle, ATP6AP2 a un impact fondamental sur diverses voies de signalisation (PCP, Wnt, Notch, mTOR, etc.) (Hermle et al, 2010, 2013; Trepiccione et al, 2016; Guida et al, 2018). Nos travaux de recherche ont permis de découvrir que des mutations dans ATP6AP2 causent une maladie hépatique caractérisée par un stéatose hépatique et avec de graves problèmes de clairance autophagique en raison d’une acidification lysosomale insuffisante (Rujano et al, 2017; Cannata Serio et al, 2018). Nous caractérisons actuellement d’autres acteurs de l’assemblage de la V-ATPase ainsi que leurs mutations dans les maladies génétiques.

La drosophile en tant qu’outil en génétique humaine: La compréhension des maladies génétiques humaines a été améliorée par de nouvelles techniques, dont le séquençage de nouvelle génération, permettant le génotypage complet d’un grand nombre d’individus atteints et de leurs proches. Cependant, l’évaluation de la pathogénicité des variants génétiques reste encore très difficile, car les informations sur le génome humain manquent toujours de validations fonctionnelles importantes. Un objectif important du laboratoire est l’utilisation de la drosophile comme modèle d’étude pour l’identification rapide de nouveaux gènes impliqués dans des maladies héréditaires, en particulier dans le domaine de l’insuffisance rénale (Gerber et al, 2016; Cavallin et al, 2017; Lovric, Goncalves et al, 2017; Goncalves et al, 2018).

Signalisation lysosomale dans les cellules des tubules proximaux: Dans le rein, notre principal organe d’intérêt, il existe un certain nombre de cellules épithéliales différentes organisées dans des segments le long du néphron et nous nous intéressons particulièrement aux tubules contournés proximaux. Les cellules épithéliales des tubules proximaux ont un système endolysosomal très actif, car leur tâche principale est de réabsorber la quasi-totalité des protéines filtrées par le glomérule. Pour cela, les bordures en brosse apicale sont pourvues d’une voie d’absorption de protéines, impliquant les récepteurs à plusieurs ligands Megalin et Cubilin. Un défaut au niveau de cette voie d’absorption résulte en une protéinurie, caractéristique des tubulopathies proximales (par exemple, la cystinose et la maladie de Dent). Nos recherches récentes sur la drosophile ont permis de découvrir un nouveau mécanisme dans le contrôle de l’absorption apicale de protéines, avec de fortes implications pour les tubules contournés proximaux (Gleixner et al., 2014). Nos résultats les plus récents, obtenus avec l’aide de notre modèle, la drosophile, suggéraient que la signalisation mTOR lysosomale – une voie majeure de détection des nutriments qui contrôle les décisions métaboliques de la surface lysosomale – régule l’expression de Megalin ainsi que la morphogenèse de la surface apicale. En outre, nous avons constaté que la cystine, issue de la protéolyse lysosomale, peut inhiber la signalisation de mTOR et ainsi stimuler l’autophagie dans des conditions de famine prolongée. Nous étudions aussi comment les ligands protéiques et lipidiques de la lumière tubulaire peut activer la signalisation des récepteurs nucléaires pour satisfaire les besoins métaboliques élevés des tubules contournés proximaux.

Publications de référence

– Guida, M. C., Hermle, T., Graham, L. A., Hauser, V., Ryan, M., Stevens, T. H., Simons, M. ATP6AP2 functions as a V-ATPase assembly factor in the endoplasmic reticulum. Mol Biol Cell, 2018 Sep 1; 29(18): 2156-2164.
– Gonçalves, S., Patat, J., Guida, M. C., et al. A homozygous KAT2B variant modulates the clinical phenotype of ADD3 deficiency in humans and flies. PLoS Genet, 2018 May 16; 14(5): e1007386.
– Rujano, M. A., Cannata Serio, M., Panasyuk, G., et al. Mutations in the X-linked ATP6AP2 cause a glycosylation disorder with autophagic defects. J Exp Med, 2017 Dec 4; 214(12): 3707-3729.
– Lovric, S., Goncalves, S., Gee, H. Y., et al. Mutations in sphingosine-1-phosphate lyase cause nephrosis with ichthyosis and adrenal insufficiency. J Clin Invest, 2017 Mar 1; 127(3): 912-928.
– Trepiccione, F., Gerber, S. D., Grahammer, F. et al. Renal Atp6ap2/(Pro)renin Receptor Is Required for Normal Vacuolar H+-ATPase Function but Not for the Renin-Angiotensin System. J Am Soc Nephrol. 2016 Nov; 27(11): 3320-3330.
– Gleixner, E. M., Canaud, G., Hermle, T., Guida, M. C., Kretz, O., Helmstädter, M., Huber, T. B., Eimer, S., Terzi, F., Simons, M. V-ATPase/mTOR signaling regulates megalin-mediated apical endocytosis. Cell Rep, 2014 Jul 10; 8(1): 10-9.

Laisser un commentaire