L’AU REVOIR À UNE GRANDE DAME CFATG
L’AU REVOIR À UNE GRANDE DAME

GOODBYE TO AN EXCEPTIONAL PERSON

A scientific community is like a human being: it is born, grows and develops by welcoming other people. It is the case of CFATG and the international research community on autophagy. Unfortunately, like for human beings, death has taken a person who was much treasured by this community. Beth Levine was very much loved and respected, a very special person. A great lady, “une Grande Dame”, always elegant, like one of these New York ladies who can be found in the books by F. Scott Fitzgerald and Truman Capote. Yet, clothes are not enough to make a great person, and Beth was one mainly because of her dignity, her intellectual rigour, her interest for the others, and her courage during her disease. She did not make a show of her courage, out of discretion, but it was emanating from her person. She was a solar person due to her brilliant intelligence, sharp as a diamond.
Everybody assisting to a seminar given by Beth was touched her intensity. We were all subjugated! Like both of us, during our first meeting with her in 2000 for organizing the 2nd International Symposium on Autophagy at Aix-les-Bains. One was an organizer and the other a PhD student in charge of the slides (a bygone time… !). Beth had always kept a special memory of this symposium: her first invitation as a speaker in front of the autophagy community. We think that it is not necessary to list here her contribution to the autophagy field after her discovery of beclin 1. We all know her outstanding scientific career filled with discoveries that go beyond our field and that have been influencing different research fields, from microbiology, immunology, and biology of ageing, to cancer development and the control of cell survival and death.
Over time, a deep friendship has developed between Beth and Sophie, and Beth and Patrice, and also among the three of us. It has always been a pleasure to talk with her, in English, sometimes peppered by some words in French, a language that she could understand well because she followed French classes at university and worked as a physician in France during her medical cursus. Short or long conversations, a few words, some glances, we could understand each other.
Her daily life was to understand and accompany the members of her laboratory, to protect them and to push them to give their best with kindness. Hearing her steps, so recognizable, in the corridors was reassuring and stimulating at the same time.
Yes… it is a great person who left us and we are honoured by her friendship. She has opened many research paths that will allow many future generations of researchers to continue her work that sadly, has been interrupted too early.
We met her for the first time at Aix-les-Bains, on the shore of Lake Bourget that inspired Lamartine. She loved poetry. These lines from a poem by Lamartine accompany her now:
“And so! Pushed constantly toward new coasts,
Swept away into eternal night, with no return,
Can we never on the ocean of ages
Throw down an anchor for a single day ? »

Sophie Pattingre and Patrice Codogno

Laisser un commentaire

L’AU REVOIR À UNE GRANDE DAME CFATG
L’AU REVOIR À UNE GRANDE DAME
HOME » Actualités » L’AU REVOIR À UNE GRANDE DAME

L’au revoir à une grande dame

Une communauté scientifique est comme un être humain : elle nait, grandit, s’agrandit par l’accueil de l’Autre, c’est le cas du CFATG et au-delà, de la communauté internationale de l’autophagie. Mais comme pour les êtres humains, la mort vient enlever à la communauté un être cher. Beth Levine était un être cher, si cher, un être rare. Une grande dame toujours élégante comme ces passantes new-yorkaises, des romans de F. Scott Fitzgerald et de Truman Capote. L’habit ne suffit pas à faire une Grande Dame, Beth l’était surtout par sa dignité, sa rigueur intellectuelle, son intérêt pour l’autre et le courage qui fut le sien pendant sa maladie. Ce courage, elle ne l’a pas montré par délicatesse, il émanait de sa personne. Elle rayonnait par son intelligence brillante et tranchante comme un diamant.
Qui a assisté à une conférence donnée par Beth a été atteint par ce rayonnement. On était subjugué! Comme nous le fûmes lors de notre première rencontre avec elle en 2000 à l’occasion de l’organisation à Aix-les-Bains du 2nd International Symposium on Autophagy. L’un était organisateur, l’autre doctorante en charge des diapositives (un autre temps… !). Beth a toujours gardé un souvenir particulier de ce congrès – Sa première invitation comme conférencière devant la communauté autophagique. Depuis est-il utile ici, devant vous, d’énumérer ses contributions dans le domaine de l’autophagie depuis la découverte de beclin 1. Vous connaissez son immense carrière jalonnée de découvertes qui transcendent le domaine pour le projeter et éclairer des champs de recherche aussi variés que la microbiologie, l’immunologie, la biologie du vieillissement, le développement, le cancer et le contrôle de la survie et de la mort cellulaire.
Au fil du temps, une amitié profonde s’est nouée, amitié de Beth avec Sophie, de Beth avec Patrice et aussi une complicité à trois. Parler avec elle, en anglais et parfois coloré de quelques mots de français, langue qu’elle comprenait fort bien, elle suivit un enseignement universitaire de français et fut praticienne en France pendant son cursus médical, était toujours un plaisir. Conversations longues ou brèves, en peu de mots, quelques regards échangés, nous nous comprenions. Comprendre, entourer les membres de son laboratoire, les protéger, les pousser avec attention à donner leur meilleur était son quotidien. Entendre son pas si caractéristique dans le couloir était un apaisement et une stimulation.
Oui… c’est une grande dame qui nous a quitté et nous sommes fiers de l’avoir eu pour amie. Elle a ouvert de nombreuses voies de recherche qui permettront à des générations de chercheurs de poursuivre son œuvre interrompue trop tôt vraiment trop tôt.
Nous l’avons rencontré à Aix-les-Bains au bord du lac du Bourget qui inspira Lamartine. Elle était sensible à la poésie. Ces vers de Lamartine l’accompagnent aujourd’hui :
« Ainsi, toujours poussés vers de nouveaux rivages,
Dans la nuit éternelle emportés sans retour,
Ne pourrons-nous jamais sur l’océan des âges
Jeter l’ancre un seul jour ? »

Sophie Pattingre et Patrice Codogno

Laisser un commentaire