Publication Highlights: January 2017-April 2017 CFATG
Publication Highlights: January 2017-April 2017
HOME » Highlights » Publication Highlights: January 2017-April 2017

Publication Highlights: Articles on autophagy research published by french laboratories and selected by CFATG.

Previous work in the field of autophagy has demonstrated that membrane damage induced by invasive bacteria elicits selective autophagy to eliminate the pathogen via lysosomal degradation. In our work published in PlosPathogens (Montespan et al. 2017) we show that adenoviruses (AdV) upon entry during which they provoke membrane damage, also activate autophagy. We further demonstrate how the virus uses a small PPxY peptide motif in the endosomolytic capsid protein VI to seize control of the autophagic machinery.
AdV are non-enveloped, ds-DNA containing viruses that enter cells by receptor-mediated endocytosis. Inside the endosomal compartment the virus releases the membrane lytic internal capsid protein VI (PVI) to rupture the endosomal membrane and access cytosolic transport means towards the nucleus. In our work we show by using mutant viruses that AdV membrane damage is necessary to trigger autophagy and that the damaged membrane is subsequently recognized via galectin-8 and autophagy receptors such as NDP52 and p62. Upon endosome lysis wild type AdV recruits a cellular ubiquitin ligase Nedd4.2 via the PPxY motif in PVI, rapidly escapes from the endosome and prevents autophagic degradation by halting autophagosome maturation. Our work further showed that AdV subsequently uses the PPxY motif to subvert the autophagic machinery and to recruit the autophagosomal marker LC3 for accelerated transport to the nucleus suggesting that the autophagic machinery is hijacked by the virus to promote AdV infection. Employing an AdV mutant with a mutated PPxY in PVI we show that these viruses remain trapped in ruptured endosomes, are unable to limit autophagosome maturation and are subject to galectin-8 dependent autophagic elimination.
Thus, our work has identified the PPxY motif as the first virus encoded molecular determinant enabling incoming membrane lytic viruses to actively take control of antiviral cellular defenses such as autophagy.

PLoS Pathog. 2017 Feb 13;13(2):e1006217.

The canonical autophagy pathway represents an attractive therapeutic target for a range of diseases. Many autophagy modulating drugs that have been identified target lysosomes and inhibit autophagic flux. However, identification of these autophagy modulating drugs commonly relies on measuring LC3 lipidation as a read out. Our lab now clearly shows that LC3 lipidation is not a specific marker for the canonical autophagy pathway.
Non-canonical autophagy is a pathway that utilises some autophagy proteins to modify membranes of the endolysosomal system. During non-canonical autophagy, the lipidation of LC3 onto single-membrane endolysosomal compartments requires components of the lipidation machinery but is independent of mTOR signalling, the ULK complex and autophagosome formation. An example of non-canonical autophagy is LC3-associated phagocytosis (LAP), during which the lipidation of LC3 to phagosomes housing pathogens or dead cells plays an important role in immune responses and homeostasis.
Using cell lines that are deficient for canonical autophagy and human tissue samples, we show that a range of clinically relevant drugs thought to inhibit autophagosome flux, including chloroquine and lidocaine, are able to promote LC3 lipidation to endolysosomal compartments. Thus, these drugs can activate non-canonical autophagy in parallel to their known effects on canonical autophagy. Importantly, the autophagy activators CCCP and amiodarone can also activate non-canonical autophagy independently of autophagosome formation.
In this paper, we highlight unexpected functions of autophagy modulators and demonstrate that drug-induced non-canonical autophagy is common feature of drugs with lysosomotropic or ionophore properties. This finding emphasises the need for a better understanding of the functional consequences of endolysosomal LC3 lipidation and also raises important questions regarding the design and analysis of high-throughput screens for autophagy modulators.

ImageJ=1.51n
unit=micron

MCF10 cells stably expressing GFP-LC3 treated for 2h with 5 mM Procainamide. Confocal imaging of GFP-LC3 (green), endogenous LAMP1 immunostaining (red) and DAPI staining (blue). Treatment with Procainamide induces a dramatic vacuolation of MCF10A cells and a relocalisation of GFP-LC3 onto LAMP1 positive compartments.

Autophagy. 2017 May 4;13(5):854-867.

Other publications

Laisser un commentaire

Publication Highlights: Janvier 2017-Avril 2017 CFATG
Publication Highlights: Janvier 2017-Avril 2017
HOME » Highlights » Publication Highlights: Janvier 2017-Avril 2017

Les « Publication Highlights »: articles de recherche sur l’autophagie publiés par des laboratoires français et sélectionnés par le CFATG.

Des travaux antérieurs dans le domaine de l’autophagie ont démontré que la rupture de membrane induite lors d’infections bactériennes active une autophagie sélective afin d’éliminer le pathogène invasif via une dégradation lysosomale. Nos travaux récemment publiés dans PlosPathogens (Montespan et al. 2017) montrent que les dommages membranaires causés par l’adénovirus (AdV) induisent également l’autophagie. Nos résultats illustrent comment l’AdV utilise le motif PPxY, porté par la protéine VI de la capside adénovirale, pour contrôler la machinerie autophagique.
Les AdV sont des virus non enveloppés à ADN double brin qui entrent dans les cellules par endocytose. Dans l’endosome le virus se désassemble partiellement pour libérer la protéine VI qui va rompre la membrane endosomale et permettre aux virus d’accéder aux moteurs moléculaires afin de transiter jusqu’au noyau. Nos travaux montrent que la rupture endosomale est nécessaire pour activer l’autophagie. Elle est reconnue par la galectine-8 et les récepteurs autophagiques tels que NDP52 et p62. L’AdV sauvage recrute l’ubiquitine ligase cellulaire Nedd4.2 via le PPxY de la protéine VI, s’échappe rapidement des endosomes rompus et évite ainsi sa dégradation par l’autophagie en altérant la maturation des autophagosomes. Nos résultats montrent également que l’AdV utilise aussi le motif PPxY pour détourner la machinerie autophagique et pour recruter le marqueur autophagosomal LC3 afin d’améliorer son propre transport vers le noyau. Ceci suggère que l’autophagie peut promouvoir l’infection par l’AdV. Un virus muté pour le motif PPxY de la protéine VI reste bloqué dans les endosomes rompus. Il est alors incapable de limiter la maturation des autophagosomes et est adressé à la dégradation par l’autophagie dépendante de la galectine- 8. Ainsi le motif PPxY constitue un déterminant moléculaire viral unique permettant au virus de contourner les défenses cellulaires antivirales comme l’autophagie lors des phases d’entrée dans la cellule.

PLoS Pathog. 2017 Feb 13;13(2):e1006217.

L’autophagie est une cible thérapeutique de choix pour de nombreuses pathologies. Les inducteurs d’autophagie stimulent la formation d’autophagosomes alors que les composés capables d’altérer les fonctions du lysosome bloquent le flux autophagique. L’identification de ces composés repose principalement sur l’analyse de leur effet sur la lipidation de LC3. Or, nous démontrons ici que la lipidation de LC3 n’est pas un marqueur spécifique de l’autophagie canonique.
L’autophagie non-canonique consiste en l’activité non conventionnelle de protéines de l’autophagie conduisant à la lipidation de LC3 sur des compartiments endolysosomaux. Ce processus se distingue de l’autophagie canonique par son indépendance vis-à-vis de mTOR, du complexe ULK et de la formation d’autophagosomes. La lipidation de LC3 au niveau de phagosomes contenant des pathogènes ou des cellules apoptotiques au cours de la LAP (LC3-associated phagocytosis) est un exemple d’autophagie non-canonique important pour l’homéostasie et les réponses immunitaires.
À partir de modèles cellulaires rendus déficients pour l’autophagie canonique et de tissus humains, nous montrons que des inhibiteurs du flux autophagique utilisés en clinique tels que la Chloroquine et la Lidocaine activent en parallèle l’autophagie non-canonique. De plus, les inducteurs d’autophagie Amiodarone et CCCP sont aussi capables d’activer la lipidation endolysosomale de LC3, et ce, indépendamment de leur effet sur la formation d’autophagosomes.
En mettant en évidence ces fonctions inattendues, nous démontrons que la capacité à activer l’autophagie non-canonique est une caractéristique des modulateurs de l’autophagie ayant des propriétés lysosomotropiques et ionophores. Ces données soulignent la nécessité d’une meilleure compréhension des conséquences fonctionnelles de l’autophagie non-canonique. Ils posent aussi d’importantes questions quant au design et à l’analyse de criblages à haut-débit pour l’identification de modulateurs de l’autophagie.

ImageJ=1.51n
unit=micron

Cellules MCF10 stablement transfectées par la construction GFP-LC3 et traitées pour 2h par 5mM de Procainamide. Imagerie réalisée par microscopie confocale avec le GFP-LC3 (vert), un immunomarquage de la protéine LAMP1 endogène (rouge) et un marquage au DAPI (bleu). Le traitement au Procainamide induit une très importante vacuolisation des cellules MCF10 et une relocalisation du GFP-LC3 sur des compartiments cellulaires positifs pour LAMP1.

Autophagy. 2017 May 4;13(5):854-867.

Autres publications

Laisser un commentaire