Publication Highlights: June 2016-August 2016 CFATG
Publication Highlights: June 2016-August 2016
HOME » Highlights » Publication Highlights: June 2016-August 2016

Publication Highlights: Articles on autophagy research published by french laboratories and selected by CFATG.

iovanna-english

Autophagy has been proposed as a cellular process contributing to pancreatic carcinogenesis, particularly in the initial stages in which the KRAS oncogene is a key element. Indeed, activation of the pathway controlled by the KRAS oncogene generates a metabolic stress, characterized by a temporary deficit in energy which must be compensated by an increase in metabolism, through activation of autophagy. Although this concept appears clear and simple, the role of autophagy in pro- or anti-tumor development is still debated in the context of pancreatic adenocarcinoma, since multiple factors appear to conditioning this process, such as activated intracellular pathways, the genomic status of transformed pancreatic cells, as well as the physiological and pathological contexts in which the process is enabled.
Remarkably, pancreatitis is an inflammatory disease that both facilitates and accelerates the transformation of pancreatic cells upon activation of the KRAS oncogene. Autophagy is also strongly induced during pancreatitis by the overexpression of VMP1. We recently developed a genetically engineered mouse model in which the VMP1 protein is induced simultaneously with the activation of the oncogene KrasG12D specifically in the pancreas, by the addition of doxycycline to a water drink. Using this sophisticated animal model we can affirm that pancreatic autophagy, induced during pancreatitis by the overexpression of VMP1, promotes the development of precancerous lesions when induced by the mutated KRAS. In addition, the treatment of these mice with chloroquine, an inhibitor of autophagic flux, reverses the effects of VMP1 in pancreatic cancer induced by the KRAS oncogene. Overall, these results bear both mechanistic and biomedical relevance for further understanding and potentially targeting pathways which are critical for initiating pancreatic carcinogenesis, particularly if associated with pancreatitis.
Cell Death Dis. 2016;7:e2295
Graphical Abstract-High Resolution

moris-english
(1) Sorbonne Universités, UPMC Univ Paris 06, INSERM, Centre d’Immunologie et des Maladies Infectieuses, U1135, CNRS 8255, Paris, France.
(2) CNRS, FRE3689, Université de Montpellier, Centre d’Études d’Agents Pathogènes et Biotechnologies pour la Santé, Montpellier, France.
(3) Unité de Génomique Virale et Vaccination, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France.
(4) Department of Dermatology and Wound Healing, Institute of Infection and Immunity, Cardiff University School of Medicine, Cardiff CF14 4XN, United Kingdom.
(5) Sorbonne Universités, UPMC Univ Paris 06, INSERM, Centre d’Immunologie et des Maladies Infectieuses, U1135, CNRS 8255, Paris, France; Département d’Immunologie, Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris,Hôpital Pitié-Salpêtrière, Paris, France.
(6) Unité Virus et Immunité, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France.
(7) Sorbonne Universités, UPMC Univ Paris 06, INSERM, Centre d’Immunologie et des Maladies Infectieuses, U1135, CNRS 8255, Paris, France; Département d’Immunologie, Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris, Hôpital Pitié-Salpêtrière, 75013 Paris, France.

The recent discovery of antibodies that neutralize a broad range of HIV isolates renewed optimism for developing an effective vaccine against HIV-1. These broadly neutralizing antibodies are secreted by B cells that went through multiple rounds of affinity maturation, a process controlled by CD4+ T helper cells. In fact, CD4+ T helper cells play critical roles in HIV infection, including B cell maturation, the expansion of cytotoxic responses and direct inhibition of viral replication. Therefore, understanding the basis of CD4+ T cell activation is of utmost importance.
In this work, we examined the contribution of autophagy in HIV-specific CD4+ T cell activation. Autophagy has been shown to play a major role in CD4+ T cell thymic education and on the presentation of viral antigens to CD4+ T cells. It is widely assumed that CD4+ T cells recognize antigenic peptides, presented by dendritic cells (DC), derived solely from incoming viral particles or proteins. Here, we unravel that HIV-infected DC also present newly-synthesized antigens to HIV-specific CD4+ T cells. This pathway offers a distinct possibility for the immune system to activate CD4+ T cells. We show that infected DC do not utilize autophagy to process these HIV antigens. Using HIV mutants, we suggest that it does not correspond to an escape from autophagy. However, we demonstrate that, in DC, specific targeting of HIV antigens to autophagosomes, using an LC3-fusion protein, effectively enhances and broadens HIV-specific CD4+ T cell responses. In sum, multiple pathways lead to the activation of HIV-specific CD4+ T cell responses. In particular, in the context of vaccination, targeting HIV antigens to autophagosomes might help in activating potent CD4+ T cell responses.
J Immunol. 2016;197:517-32
Graphical Abstract-High Resolution

Other publications

Laisser un commentaire

Publication Highlights: Juin 2016-Août 2016 CFATG
Publication Highlights: Juin 2016-Août 2016
HOME » Highlights » Publication Highlights: Juin 2016-Août 2016

Les « Publication Highlights »: articles de recherche sur l’autophagie publiés par des laboratoires français et sélectionnés par le CFATG.

iovanna-french

L’autophagie a été proposée comme un processus cellulaire qui contribue à la cancérogenèse pancréatique, en particulier au cours des premières étapes dans laquelle le rôle de l’oncogène KRAS est un élément clé. En effet, l’activation de la voie contrôlée par l’oncogène KRAS génère un fort stress métabolique, caractérisé par un déficit énergétique temporaire qui doit être compensée par une augmentation du métabolisme cellulaire par l’activation de l’autophagie. Bien que ce concept semble simple et claire, le rôle de l’autophagie comme pro- ou anti-tumorale dans le développement de l’adénocarcinome pancréatique est encore débattu, puisque plusieurs facteurs semblent conditionner ce processus, tels que les voies intracellulaires activées, le statut génétique des cellules pancréatiques transformées, ainsi que les contextes physiologiques et pathologiques dans lesquels l’autophagie est activée.
La pancréatite est une maladie inflammatoire du pancréas qui à la fois facilite et accélère la transformation des cellules pancréatiques lors de l’activation de l’oncogène KRAS. L’autophagie est fortement induite au cours de la pancréatite par la surexpression du gène VMP1. Nous avons récemment développé un modèle de souris transgénique dans laquelle la protéine VMP1 est induite simultanément avec l’activation de l’oncogène KrasG12D spécifiquement dans le pancréas, par l’ajout de la doxycycline dans l’eau de boisson. En utilisant ce modèle animal sophistiqué, nous pouvons affirmer que l’autophagie pancréatique, induite lors de la pancréatite par la surexpression de VMP1, favorise le développement des lésions précancéreuses lorsqu’elles sont induites par l’oncogène KRAS muté. En outre, le traitement de ces souris avec la chloroquine, un inhibiteur du flux autophagique, inverse les effets de VMP1 dans le cancer du pancréas. Dans l’ensemble, ces résultats soulèvent à la fois la pertinence mécaniste et biomédicale des voies qui sont essentielles pour initier la cancérogenèse pancréatique, en particulier si elle est associée à la pancréatite.
Cell Death Dis. 2016;7:e2295
Résumé Graphique-Haute résolution

moris-french
(1) Sorbonne Universités, UPMC Univ Paris 06, INSERM, Centre d’Immunologie et des Maladies Infectieuses, U1135, CNRS 8255, Paris, France.
(2) CNRS, FRE3689, Université de Montpellier, Centre d’Études d’Agents Pathogènes et Biotechnologies pour la Santé, Montpellier, France.
(3) Unité de Génomique Virale et Vaccination, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France.
(4) Department of Dermatology and Wound Healing, Institute of Infection and Immunity, Cardiff University School of Medicine, Cardiff CF14 4XN, United Kingdom.
(5) Sorbonne Universités, UPMC Univ Paris 06, INSERM, Centre d’Immunologie et des Maladies Infectieuses, U1135, CNRS 8255, Paris, France; Département d’Immunologie, Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris,Hôpital Pitié-Salpêtrière, Paris, France.
(6) Unité Virus et Immunité, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France.
(7) Sorbonne Universités, UPMC Univ Paris 06, INSERM, Centre d’Immunologie et des Maladies Infectieuses, U1135, CNRS 8255, Paris, France; Département d’Immunologie, Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris, Hôpital Pitié-Salpêtrière, 75013 Paris, France.

La découverte récente d’anticorps neutralisant un large spectre d’isolats du VIH-1 a relancé la recherche sur le vaccin. Ces anticorps sont sécrétés par des cellules B ayant subis de nombreux cycles de maturation, un processus contrôlé par les lymphocytes T CD4+ auxiliaires. Ces cellules T CD4+ auxiliaires participent activement à la lutte contre l’infection en régulant la maturation des cellules B mais aussi l’expansion des réponses cytotoxiques et l’inhibition de la réplication du virus. Comprendre comment ces cellules T CD4+ sont activées est donc essentiel.
Dans ce travail, nous avons étudié la contribution de l’autophagie dans l’activation des cellules T CD4+ spécifiques du VIH-1. En effet, il a été montré que l »autophagie est requise pour la sélection thymique mais aussi la présentation des antigènes viraux aux cellules T CD4+. Il est couramment admis que les cellules T CD4+ reconnaissent des antigènes présentés, par les cellules dendritiques (DC), issus uniquement de la dégradation de protéines ou particules virales du milieu extérieur. Ici, nous dévoilons que les DC infectées présentent aux cellules T CD4+ des antigènes dérivés de protéines neo-synthétisées. Il s’agit d’une nouvelle voie qui permet de diversifier les sources d’antigènes pour l’activation des cellules T CD4+. Contrairement à ce que nous avions anticipé, dans les DC, l’autophagie ne contribue pas à cette voie de dégradation des antigènes. L’utilisation de mutants du virus, ne nous a pas permis de révéler de potentiels mécanismes d’échappement. Cependant, nous démontrons qu’un ciblage spécifique d’antigènes du VIH dans les autophagosomes, à l’aide d’une fusion avec LC3, augmente et diversifie les réponses des cellules T CD4+ spécifiques du VIH. En conclusion, différentes voies permettent l’activation des cellules T CD4+ antiviraux. Dans un contexte vaccinal, cibler les antigènes du VIH-1 dans les autophagosomes pourrait permettre d’induire des réponses T CD4+ antivirales efficaces.
J Immunol. 2016;197:517-32
Résumé Graphique-Haute résolution

Autres publications

Laisser un commentaire