Publication Highlights: May 2018-September 2018 CFATG
Publication Highlights: May 2018-September 2018

Publication Highlights: Articles on autophagy research published by french laboratories and selected by CFATG.

ATG5 in B cell polarization and antigen presentation

Autophagy. 2018 Sep 22:1-15. doi: 10.1080/15548627.2018.1516327.

B cells are central actors of the humoral response. Autophagy is implicated in the maintenance of long-lived B cells like antibody-secreting plasma cells and memory B cells. Autophagic activity also allows the presentation of cytosolic antigens by major histocompatibility complex class II (MHC-II) molecules. Antigen presentation is crucial for the crosstalk with T cells, contributing to the terminal differentiation of B cells. Some antigens are presented after capture by the B cell receptor (BCR), the membrane-bound version of the antibody ultimately secreted by plasma cells. The role of autophagy in the presentation of such antigens is suspected but not well understood.
Our work shows that ATG5 (autophagy-related 5) allows the colocalization of the BCR with LC3 and ATG16L1 after internalization. Although autophagic machinery is not necessary for the endocytosis of BCR/antigen complexes, ATG5 allows the relocalization of the centrosome at the vicinity of the place where antigen is first internalized and then processed on MHC-II molecules. ATG5 and ATG16L1 are part of a complex comprising PCM1 (pericentriolar material 1), which expression also participates in this phenomenon.
This polarization of B cells is major when antigen is immobilized on solid phase, mimicking its availability at the membrane of cells in the follicles of secondary lymphoid organs. In this context, ATG5 optimizes B cell presentation by MHC-II molecules to T cells and thus allows a more effective humoral response.
We are currently investigating the interactions between ATG proteins and centrosome components, that promote the reorganization of B cell cytoskeleton, the loading of antigens on MHC-II, and the optimization of the immune response.

The autophagic proteins GABARAP/LGG-1 and LC3/LGG-2 possess specific functions in the exposure of phosphatidylserine and the degradation of apoptotic cells.

Autophagy. 2018 Sep 10:1-14. doi: 10.1080/15548627.2018.1512452.
Autophagy, which means self-eating, is a mechanism for degrading and recycling of cellular constituents. Double membrane vesicles called autophagosomes sequester cytoplasmic material and then fuse with lysosomes that digest their contents. This process is involved in development, longevity and cell death. Autophagy interacts strongly with a cell death program called apoptosis. Following its apoptosis, the cell is phagocytosed by the phagocytic cells forming a phagosome which then fuse with lysosomes causing its degradation (Figure). This process is called phagocytosis of apoptotic bodies.
Using the model animal Caenorhabditis elegans, Renaud Legouis’s laboratory has identified the existence of new functions of autophagy that participate in the phagocytosis of apoptotic bodies. Using genetic and cellular approaches, such as light and electron microscopy, the authors have shown that the autophagic proteins LGG-1 and LGG-2, homologs of the human proteins GABARAP and LC3, play specific roles in the degradation of apoptotic cells. The LGG-1 protein is involved in the exposure at the surface of apoptotic cell of the lipid phosphatidylserine, serving as a death signal and causing its recognition by the phagocytic cell. The LGG-2 protein is specifically required later in the process to allow the maturation and degradation of the phagosome.

The results of this study show the existence of several levels of interactions between autophagy and apoptosis. Understanding these relationships is important at the medical level because manipulating autophagy is a therapeutic issue under study in various human pathologies such as cancers or neurodegenerative diseases.

Laisser un commentaire

Publication Highlights: Mai 2018- Septembre 2018 CFATG
Publication Highlights: Mai 2018- Septembre 2018
HOME » Actualités » Publication Highlights: Mai 2018- Septembre 2018

Les « Publication Highlights »: articles de recherche sur l’autophagie publiés par des laboratoires français et sélectionnés par le CFATG.

ATG5 contribue à la polarisation des lymphocytes B et à la présentation de l’antigène

Autophagy. 2018 Sep 22:1-15. doi: 10.1080/15548627.2018.1516327.

L’autophagie contribue à l’homéostasie des lymphocytes B (LB), cellules centrales de la réponse humorale, plus particulièrement des LB mémoire et des plasmocytes sécréteurs d’anticorps. L’activité autophagique permet de plus la présentation d’antigènes cytosoliques par les molécules du complexe majeur d’histocompatibilité de classe II (CMH-II). La présentation antigénique est capitale pour le dialogue avec les lymphocytes T (LT), contribuant à la différenciation terminale des LB. Certains antigènes sont présentés après capture par le récepteur des cellules B (BCR pour B cell receptor), version membranaire de l’anticorps sécrété ensuite par les plasmocytes. Le rôle de l’autophagie dans la présentation de tels antigènes et donc dans l’activation des LB, est suspecté mais mal connu.
Notre travail, montre qu’ATG5 (autophagy-related 5) permet la colocalisation du BCR avec LC3 et ATG16L1 après internalisation. Bien que la machinerie autophagique ne soit pas nécessaire à l’endocytose du complexe BCR/antigène, ATG5 permet la relocalisation du centrosome à proximité du lieu où l’antigène est d’abord internalisé puis chargé sur les molécules du CMH de classe II. ATG5 et ATG16L1 font partie d’un complexe comprenant la protéine péri-centriolaire PCM1 (pericentriolar material 1), dont l’expression participe à ce phénomène. Cette polarisation du LB est majeure lorsque l’antigène est immobilisé sur phase solide, mimant sa disponibilité à la surface de membranes cellulaires dans les follicules des organes lymphoïdes secondaires. Dans ce contexte ATG5 optimise la présentation par le CMH-II des LB aux LT, et permet ainsi une réponse humorale plus efficace.
Nous étudions actuellement les interactions entre les protéines ATG et les composants du centrosome, favorisant la réorganisation du cytosquelette du LB, le chargement des antigènes sur le CMH-II et l’optimisation de la réponse immunitaire.

Les protéines autophagiques GABARAP/LGG-1 et LC3/LGG-2 possèdent des fonctions spécifiques dans l’exposition de la phosphatidylsérine et la dégradation des cellules apoptotiques.

Autophagy. 2018 Sep 10:1-14. doi: 10.1080/15548627.2018.1512452.
L’autophagie, qui signifie se manger soi-même, est un mécanisme de dégradation et de recyclage de constituants cellulaires. Des vésicules à membrane double appelées autophagosomes englobent du matériel cytoplasmique puis fusionnent avec des lysosomes qui digèrent leur contenu. Ce processus intervient dans le développement, la longévité et la mort cellulaire. L’autophagie interagit fortement avec un programme de mort cellulaire nommé apoptose. Suite à son apoptose, la cellule est phagocytée par les cellules phagocytaires voisines formant un phagosome qui fusionnent ensuite avec des lysosomes entrainant sa dégradation (Figure). Ce processus est appelé phagocytose des corps apoptotiques.
En utilisant l’animal modèle Caenorhabditis elegans, le laboratoire de Renaud Legouis a identifié l’existence de fonctions nouvelles de l’autophagie qui participent à la phagocytose des corps apoptotiques. Par des approches génétiques et cellulaires, utilisant la microscopie optique et électronique, les auteurs ont montré que les protéines autophagiques LGG-1 et LGG-2, homologues des protéines humaines GABARAP et LC3, jouent des rôles spécifiques dans la dégradation des cellules apoptotiques. La protéine LGG-1 est impliquée dans l’exposition à la surface de la cellule apoptotique d’un lipide, la phosphatidylsérine, servant de signal de mort et entrainant sa reconnaissance par la cellule phagocytaire. La protéine LGG-2, est spécifiquement requise plus tardivement dans le processus pour permettre la maturation et la dégradation du phagosome.

Les résultats de cette étude montrent l’existence de plusieurs niveaux d’interactions entre l’autophagie et l’apoptose. Comprendre ces relations est important au niveau médical car manipuler l’autophagie est une piste thérapeutique à l’étude dans diverses pathologies humaines tels que des cancers ou maladies neurodégénératives.

Laisser un commentaire