Publication Highlights: October 2017-January 2018 CFATG
Publication Highlights: October 2017-January 2018

Publication Highlights: Articles on autophagy research published by french laboratories and selected by CFATG.

Solid tumors are able to develop a hostile microenvironment preventing the infiltration of cytotoxic immune cells such as NK (Natural Killer) cells and cytotoxic T lymphocytes (CTL). One of the major challenge of tumor immunotherapy is to define strategies capable of redirecting these cytotoxic immune cells to the tumor bed and thus switch the immunosuppressive tumor microenvironment into a microenvironment capable of attracting cytotoxic immune cells. The tumor microenvironment research team of Dr. Janji, at Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH), has investigated the impact of targeting Beclin1 gene on the immune landscape of murine melanoma tumors. They reported that targeting Beclin1 induces a significant decrease in tumor volume which is associated with a massive infiltration of NK cells into tumors. They also revealed that this infiltration is strikingly related to the ability of Beclin1-deficient tumor cells to overexpress and secrete the CCL5 cytokine in the tumor microenvironment of melanoma since the deletion of CCL5 in these tumors completely blocks NK cell infiltration. Clinically, the study demonstrated a strong positive correlation between CCL5 expression and NK cell infiltration in human melanoma biopsies. Mechanistically, the results revealed that the overexpression of CCL5 in Beclin1-deficient melanoma cells is related to the activation of the JNK / c-Jun pathway involved in the transcriptional activation of CCL5.
Although the effect of targeting autophagy on the inhibition of tumor growth in several experimental models is currently well established, this study reveals for the first time its major impact on immune cell infiltration, notably NK cells, in the tumor microenvironment.

Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2017 Oct 31;114(44):E9271-E9279

Atherosclerotic lesions develop in curvatures or branch points of the vasculature due to low shear stress (SS) exerted by the blood flow, while high SS areas are devoid of plaques. Endothelial inflammation, apoptosis and senescence are involved, but the mechanisms remain elusive. Our aim was to understand the role of autophagy in athero-protective effects of high SS.
We first demonstrated in human and murine arteries that atheroprotective high SS activates endothelial autophagic flux. On the opposite, endothelial cells exposed to atheroprone low SS displayed inefficient autophagy. In vitro, low SS activated mTOR, inhibited AMPKα and blocked the autophagic flux, thus contributing to the decrease in autophagy.
Interestingly, in ApoE-/- hypercholesterolemic mice, a murine model prone to atherosclerosis development, deficiency in endothelial autophagy led to increased plaque burden in areas usually atheroresistant, highlighting an anti-atherogenic protective effect of high SS-induced autophagy. Both in cultured endothelial cells and in transgenic mice, deficiency in endothelial autophagy was associated with a misalignment of endothelial cells with flow direction under high SS, a hallmark of endothelial cell health. Cultured endothelial cells deficient in autophagy presented a senescent profile under high SS and displayed an enhanced inflammatory response when stimulated with TNFα. In transgenic mice, high SS areas of aortas exhibited increased endothelial senescence and apoptosis, with increased nuclear translocation of their effectors, p16 and p53.
Altogether, these results show that adequate endothelial autophagic flux under high SS limits atherosclerotic plaque formation by preventing inflammation, senescence and apoptosis.

Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2017 Oct 10;114(41):E8675-E8684.

Although it is now clear autophagy that proteins play an essential role in cell-autonomous innate immunity and antigen presentation, their contribution to CD4 T cell differentiation, an essential event that shapes adaptive immune responses, remains to be fully understood. Recently, autophagy has been shown to be required for the survival and stability of regulatory CD4 T cells, which mediate immunosuppression and self-tolerance. In our study, we demonstrate that while autophagy does not impact the differentiation of naïve CD4 T cells into Th1, Th2 and Th17 effector cells in vitro, it markedly represses IL-9 secretion from CD4 T cells cultured in Th9-polarizing conditions. Exploration of the underlying molecular mechanisms revealed that ubiquitination of PU.1, the master transcription factor of Th9 cells, leads to its specific recruitment by the autophagy receptor p62 and its subsequent degradation in autophagosomes. Thus, p62-dependent selective autophagy restrains the differentiation of Th9 cells. Given the potent anticancer functions previously ascribed to Th9 cells by us and others, we evaluated the effect of autophagy inhibition on Th9 cell anticancer properties in vivo. Chloroquine-treated Th9 cells display enhanced suppressive activity against tumor growth upon adoptive transfer than untreated Th9 cells, suggesting that this lysosome inhibitor may be considered in the context of adoptive T-cell therapy of cancer. Furthermore, the T-cell-specific deletion of Atg5 in mice leads to the reduction of tumor growth in an IL-9-dependent manner. Our study reveals a new function for autophagy in modulating Th9 cell differentiation and suggests that autophagy in tumor microenvironment might restrain Th9 cell development and functions. These findings, which lend further support to the anticancer activity of Th9 cells, could be exploited for the design of new anticancer immunotherapies based on autophagy modulation.

Nat Commun. 2017 Sep 15;8(1):559.

Written by Elise Jacquin, Post-doc (elise.jacquin@inserm.fr).

Other publications

Laisser un commentaire

Publication Highlights: Octobre 2017- Janvier 2018 CFATG
Publication Highlights: Octobre 2017- Janvier 2018
HOME » Actualités » Publication Highlights: Octobre 2017- Janvier 2018

Les « Publication Highlights »: articles de recherche sur l’autophagie publiés par des laboratoires français et sélectionnés par le CFATG.

 

L’inhibition de Beclin1 induit une infiltration des cellules NK (Natural Killer) dans le mélanome
Les tumeurs solide sont capables de développer un microenvironnement hostile à l’infiltration des cellules immunitaires cytotoxiques telles que les cellules NK (Natural Killer) et les lymphocytes T cytotoxiques (CTL). Un des problèmes majeurs de l’immunothérapie anti-tumorale est de développer des stratégies capables de réorienter ces cellules immunitaires cytotoxiques vers la tumeur et transformer ainsi le microenvironnement tumoral immunosuppressif vers un microenvironnement capable d’attirer les cellules immunitaires cytotoxiques. L’équipe de recherche sur le microenvironnement tumoral du Dr Janji au LIH (Luxembourg Institute of Health) a étudié l’impact de ciblage du gène Beclin1 sur le paysage immunitaire des tumeurs de mélanomes murins. Les résultats démontrent clairement que le ciblage de la Beclin1 induit une diminution significative du volume tumoral qui est associée à une infiltration massive des cellules NK dans les tumeurs. L’équipe a révélé que cette infiltration est strictement due à la capacité des cellules tumorales déficientes en Beclin1 de surexprimer et secréter la cytokine CCL5 dans le microenvironnement tumoral du mélanome puisque la délétion de CCL5 dans ces tumeurs bloque complètement l’infiltration des cellules NK. Sur le plan clinique, l’étude a démontré dans des biopsies du mélanome humain une forte corrélation positive entre l’expression de CCL5 et l’infiltration des cellules NK. Sur le plan mécanistique, l’étude a révélé que la surexpression de CCL5 dans les cellules du mélanome déficientes en Beclin1 est liée à l’activation de la voie JNK/c-Jun, impliquée dans l’activation transcriptionelle de CCL5.
Bien que l’effet du ciblage de l’autophagie sur l’inhibition de la croissance tumorale dans plusieurs modèles expérimentaux soit actuellement bien établi, cette étude révèle pour la première fois son impact majeur sur l’infiltration des cellules immunitaires, notamment les NK dans le microenvironnement tumoral.

Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2017 Oct 31;114(44):E9271-E9279

Les plaques d’athérosclérose se développent dans les courbures ou les bifurcations de l’arbre artériel, en raison des faibles contraintes de cisaillement (CCs) qui y sont exercées par le flux sanguin. A l’inverse, les zones soumises à fortes CCs sont dépourvues de plaques. En zones de faibles CCs, l’inflammation, l’apoptose et la sénescence des cellules endothéliales (directement exposées aux CCs) sont impliquées dans le développement des plaques athéromateuses, mais les mécanismes restent insuffisamment caractérisés. Notre objectif a été de comprendre le rôle de l’autophagie endothéliale dans les effets antiathérogènes des fortes CCs.
Dans l’article (Vion & Kheloufi et al. PNAS 2017), nous avons montré dans des artères humaines et murines que les CCs élevées activent le flux autophagique endothélial. Au contraire, les cellules endothéliales exposées à de faibles CCs présentent une autophagie inefficace due à l’activation de mTOR, l’inhibition d’AMPKα et au blocage du flux autophagique.
De plus, nous avons observé, dans un modèle murin sujet au développement de l’athérosclérose (souris ApoE-/-), que la déficience en autophagie endothéliale conduit à une recrudescence des plaques dans les zones habituellement protégées. A la fois dans des cellules endothéliales en culture et chez des souris transgéniques, la déficience de l’autophagie endothéliale était associée à une perturbation de l’alignement des cellules dans la direction du flux, une caractéristique de la santé des cellules endothéliales. Les cellules endothéliales déficientes en autophagie présentaient aussi un profil sénescent, une réponse inflammatoire accrue après stimulation par le TNFα, et une apoptose endothéliale augmentée, avec translocation nucléaire augmentée des effecteurs p16 et p53.
Ces résultats montrent qu’un flux autophagique endothélial adéquat induit par les fortes CCs limite la formation de plaques d’athérosclérose en empêchant l’inflammation, la sénescence et l’apoptose.

Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2017 Oct 10;114(41):E8675-E8684.

Si les protéines de l’autophagie sont importantes pour l’immunité innée et la présentation antigénique, leur implication dans la différenciation des lymphocytes T CD4, un processus essentiel à l’établissement de réponses immunitaires adaptatives, reste mal compris. Une récente étude a impliqué l’autophagie dans la survie et la stabilité fonctionnelle des lymphocytes T régulateurs, aux propriétés immunosuppressives. Dans notre étude, nous montrons que si l’autophagie ne module pas la différenciation de lymphocytes T CD4 naïfs en lymphocytes T effecteurs de types Th1, Th2 et Th17, elle inhibe fortement la production d’IL-9 par des lymphocytes T CD4 cultivés en milieu polarisant spécifique des Th9. L’étude des mécanismes moléculaires sous-jacents a révélé que l’ubiquitination de PU.1, le facteur de transcription clé des cellules Th9, conduit à son recrutement par la protéine p62 et sa dégradation dans des autophagosomes. Ainsi, l’autophagie sélective dépendante de p62 réprime la différenciation des cellules Th9. De précédents travaux ont démontré les propriétés anti-tumorales puissantes des cellules Th9. Ici, nous montrons que des cellules Th9 différenciées en présence de Chloroquine présentent une activité anti-tumorale accrue lors de leur transfert adoptif comparativement aux cellules Th9 non traitées. De plus, une croissance tumorale réduite est observable chez des souris présentant une délétion spécifique d’Atg5 dans les lymphocytes T, et ce de façon dépendante de l’IL-9. Notre étude met en évidence un nouveau rôle de l’autophagie dans la différenciation des lymphocytes T et suggère qu’au sein du microenvironnement tumoral, l’autophagie pourrait inhiber le développement et les fonctions anti-tumorales des cellules Th9. Ces données qui soulignent l’importance des cellules Th9 dans les réponses immunitaires anti-tumorales ouvrent des perspectives intéressantes pour la conception de nouvelles immunothérapies anticancéreuses basées sur la modulation de l’autophagie.

Nat Commun. 2017 Sep 15;8(1):559.

Résumé par Elise Jacquin, Post-doc (elise.jacquin@inserm.fr).

Autres publications

Laisser un commentaire