Publication Highlights: September 2016-December 2016 CFATG
Publication Highlights: September 2016-December 2016
HOME » Highlights » Publication Highlights: September 2016-December 2016

Publication Highlights: Articles on autophagy research published by french laboratories and selected by CFATG.

Mitochondria are dynamic organelles organized as a tubular network whose morphology is conditioned by constant events of fission and fusion. These processes play an essential role in maintaining normal cellular function.
In the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae, physical contacts between the endoplasmic reticulum (ER) and the mitochondria are established by the ERMES (ER-mitochondrial encounter structure) complex. This complex is a marker of sites for mitochondrial division, but it is also involved in a plethora of other mitochondrial functions including lipid exchange between ER and mitochondria and mitophagy.
However, it remains unclear how this complex is regulated. We show here that Mdm34 and Mdm12, two components of ERMES, are ubiquitinated by the E3 ligase Rsp5. The other ERMES components, Mdm10 and Mmm1, are not ubiquitinated under the tested conditions.
A mutation affecting the interaction of Mdm34 with Rsp5 abolishes its ubiquitination, but also the ubiquitination of Mdm12. This mutation does not change the localization of the ERMES components and does not affect the turnover of Mdm34 and Mdm12. On the other hand, this absence of ubiquitination affects the targeting of Mdm34-GFP to the vacuole (the equivalent of mammalian lysosome) under stress conditions or induction of mitophagy (nitrogen depletion). Consistent with this, the defective ubiquitination of Mdm34 leads to defects in mitophagy. We thus report here the first identification of ubiquitinated substrates participating in yeast mitophagy.

Autophagy. 2017 Jan 2;13(1):114-132

While involved in the elimination of defective organelles, autophagy also participates in the degradation of specific proteins, therefore allowing a dynamic remodeling of the cellular proteome. Recent data, demonstrating the autophagic degradation of essential proteins for chemotactic migration (paxillin, integrins), has made it possible to establish a functional link between these two processes. Nevertheless, the mode of regulation of the autophagy machinery by chemotactic receptors of the GPCR family was largely unexplored.
In this study, we demonstrate that activation of two chemotactic GPCRs, CXCR4 and UT, by their respective ligands (SDF-1 and urotensin II) induces a marked reduction in autophagosome biogenesis from their precursor structure, the phagophore. By carrying out experiments on HEK-293 and U87 cells (human glioblastoma), we demonstrate that chemotactic GPCRs exert this anti-autophagic effect by preventing the formation of pre-autophagic endosomes, a sub-population of endosomes participating in phagophore expansion. This inhibition favors the formation of the lamellipodium and its anchoring to the extracellular matrix, which are essential steps for directional migration. Finally, we found that manipulation of the autophagic status, by overexpressing the Atg5 protein, effectively inhibits the formation of cell-matrix adhesions as well as migration, two key mechanisms of tumorigenesis. This work, highlighting a functional link between GPCRs and the autophagic process, opens up innovative perspectives for the treatment of high-grade, particularly invasive glioblastomas.

Autophagy. 2016 Dec;12(12):2344-2362.

Other publications

Laisser un commentaire

Publication Highlights: Septembre 2016-Décembre 2016 CFATG
Publication Highlights: Septembre 2016-Décembre 2016
HOME » Highlights » Publication Highlights: Septembre 2016-Décembre 2016

Les « Publication Highlights »: articles de recherche sur l’autophagie publiés par des laboratoires français et sélectionnés par le CFATG.

Les mitochondries sont des organelles tubulaires extrêmement dynamiques qui subissent des événements permanents de fusion et de fission. Ces processus jouent un rôle essentiel dans le maintien de l’homéostasie cellulaire.
Dans la levure Saccharomyces cerevisiae, des contacts physiques entre la mitochondrie et le réticulum endoplasmique (RE) ont été mis en évidence et sont réalisés par un complexe protéique ERMES (endoplasmic reticulum-mitochondrial encounter structure). Ce complexe est un marqueur de sites de division mitochondriaux, mais est également impliqué dans un grand nombre d’autres fonctions mitochondriales incluant les échanges de lipides entre le RE et la mitochondrie ou encore la mitophagie.
Le mode de régulation de ce complexe n’avait pas encore été caractérisé au début de notre étude.
Nous avons montré que Mdm34 et Mdm12, deux protéines du complexe ERMES, sont ubiquitinées par la ligase d’ubiquitine Rsp5. Les autres composants du complexe ERMES, Mdm10 et Mmm1, ne sont pas ubiquitinés dans les conditions que nous avons utilisées.

Une mutation du domaine d’interaction de Mdm34 avec la ligase d’ubiquitine Rsp5 entraine une inhibition de l’ubiquitination de Mdm34, mais également celle de Mdm12. Cette mutation n’affecte ni la localisation des composants ERMES ni la demi-vie de Mdm34 et Mdm12. En revanche, cette absence d’ubiquitination altère l’adressage de Mdm34-GFP à la vacuole (l’équivalent du lysosome des cellules de mammifères) dans des conditions de stress ou en conditions d’induction de la mitophagie (carence azotée). En accord avec ces résultats, l’ubiquitination défectueuse de Mdm34 entraine un défaut plus général de la voie de mitophagie. Nous avons ainsi, pour la première fois dans la levure S. cerevisiae, identifié des substrats ubiquitinés participant à la mitophagie.

Autophagy. 2017 Jan 2;13(1):114-132

Impliquée dans la dégradation des organites défectueux, l’autophagie participe également à la dégradation sélective de certaines protéines, permettant ainsi un remodelage dynamique du protéome cellulaire. La récente mise en évidence d’une dégradation autophagique de protéines essentielles à la migration chimiotactique (paxilline, intégrines) a permis d’établir un lien fonctionnel entre ces deux processus. Pour autant, le mode de régulation de la machinerie autophagique par les récepteurs chimiotactiques de type RCPG restait encore inexploré.
Dans cette étude, nous démontrons que l’activation de deux récepteurs chimiotactiques de type RCPG, le CXCR4 et l’UT, par leur ligand naturel respectif (SDF-1 et urotensine II) provoque une réduction marquée de la biogenèse des autophagosomes à partir de leur structure précurseur, le phagophore. Par des expériences menées en parallèle sur des cellules HEK-293 et U87 (glioblastome humain), nous démontrons que l’effet des RCPG est relayé par l’inhibition de la synthèse d’une population particulière d’endosomes nécessaires à la croissance du phagophore, les endosomes pré-autophagiques. Cette inhibition favorise l’expansion du lamellipode ainsi que son ancrage à la matrice extracellulaire, évènements indispensables à la migration directionnelle. Enfin, une manipulation du statut autophagique, par la surexpression de la protéine Atg5, inhibe efficacement la formation des adhésions cellule-matrice ainsi que la migration, deux mécanismes clés de la tumorigenèse. Ces travaux, mettant en lumière un lien fonctionnel entre les RCPG et le processus autophagique, ouvrent des perspectives thérapeutiques innovantes dans le traitement des glioblastomes de haut grade, particulièrement invasifs.

Autophagy. 2016 Dec;12(12):2344-2362.

Autres publications

Laisser un commentaire