Publication Highlights: Dec 2015-Feb 2016 CFATG
Publication Highlights: Dec 2015-Feb 2016
HOME » Highlights » Publication Highlights: Dec 2015-Feb 2016

Publication Highlights: Articles on autophagy research published by french laboratories and selected by CFATG.

graphical-abstract-Mouna-et-al3
The human cytomegalovirus (CMV) is a DNA virus belonging to the Herpesvirus family, which owns an envelope derived from host cell membranes. CMV has a large coding capacity and has developed several mechanisms to escape the innate and adaptive immune responses. We previously demonstrated that CMV can both stimulate and block autophagy during its viral cycle in fibroblasts. The early activation of autophagy induced by the viral particle is followed by an inhibition specifically mediated by viral proteins expression. In the article Mouna et al (Autophagy 2016), we precisely identified the mechanism which allows this autophagic inhibition. The viral proteins TRS1 and IRS1 were independently able to block the formation of autophagosomes, but they can also, when they were simultaneously expressed, block the autophagic flux. Infection with different mutant viruses, which express only one of these two proteins or none of them, confirmed the action of IRS1 and TRS1 in the context of viral infection.
It is through their interaction with the autophagy machinery protein Beclin 1 (BECN1) that this inhibition happens, whereas their interaction with the protein kinase PKR, a sensor of viral infections, as described previously, plays no role in autophagy inhibition. More precisely, we showed that the coil-coiled domain of BECN1 interacts with the N terminal domain of IRS1 and that this BECN1-binding domain is essential for autophagy inhibition.
From 18h post infection, the autophagic flux was blocked in infected cells, thanks to TRS1 and IRS1. We discovered that viral production was increased when autophagy was stimulated by pharmacological modulators from that time on. Conversely, autophagy inhibition, by drugs or by shRNA shutdown, decreased CMV multiplication. Therefore, surprisingly, at least at late times of infection, autophagy appears as a proviral mechanism, the function of which remains to be precisely determined.
Email:audrey.esclatine@u-psud.fr
Autophagy. 2016 Feb;12(2):327-42
Graphical Abstract-High Resolution

Graphical-Abstract-Sielez-3
Monitoring autophagic flux in vivo remains limited and the ideal methods relative to the techniques possible with cell culture may not exist. Recently, a few papers have demonstrated the feasibility of measuring autophagic flux in vivo by intraperitoneal injection of pharmacological agents (chloroquine, leupeptin, vinblastine, and colchicine). However, the metabolic consequences of the administration of these drugs remain largely unknown. In this paper, we report that 2 days of colchicine treatment at 0.8 mg/kg/day increased LC3-II protein levels as well as the number of autophagic vacuoles in the liver of fasted trout, supporting the usefulness of this drug for studying autophagic flux in vivo in our model organism. However, this effect was accompanied by a decrease of plasma glucose level, associated with a significant decrease of the concentration of some amino acids in the liver and a fall in the mRNA levels of gluconeogenesis-related genes. In addition, colchicine-treated trout exhibited a hepatosteatosis associated with a marked increase of hepatic triglyceride levels and a significant rise in the hepatic mRNA levels of two lipid droplet markers, Plin2 and Plin3. Concurrently, the transcript levels of ER stress-induced genes (Ddit3, Asns) as well as that of several autophagy- (p62, Atg4b) and lysosome- (Atp6v1a and Ctsd) related genes were significantly increased. Together, these results show that the concentration and/or the time period of treatment necessary to block autophagosome degradation in vivo profoundly affect metabolic and cellular homeostasis. While we cannot rule out the possibility that the observed effects are independent of autophagy inhibition, the results obtained match closely with the reported role of this degradative system, highlighting the importance of considering these effects when using not only colchicine, but all autophagy blockers as in vivo “autophagometers”.
Email:Iban.Seiliez@st-pee.inra.fr
Autophagy. 2016 Feb;12(2):343-56
Graphical Abstract-High Resolution

Other publications

Laisser un commentaire

Publication Highlights: Dec 2015-Fev 2016 CFATG
Publication Highlights: Dec 2015-Fev 2016
HOME » Highlights » Publication Highlights: Dec 2015-Fev 2016

Les « Publication Highlights »: articles de recherche sur l’autophagie publiés par des laboratoires français et sélectionnés par le CFATG.

graphical-abstract-MounaFRENCH-et-al3
Le cytomégalovirus humain (CMV) est un virus à ADN de la famille des Herpès, qui possède une enveloppe dérivant des membranes cellulaires. Il dispose d’une capacité de codage importante de plus de 750 protéines et a développé de nombreux mécanismes d’échappement aux acteurs de la réponse immunitaire innée et adaptative. Nous avons montré précédemment que le CMV peut stimuler aussi bien que bloquer l’autophagie au cours de son cycle viral dans les fibroblastes. L’activation précoce de l’autophagie par le virus est suivie d’une inhibition médiée spécifiquement par l’expression de protéines virales. Dans l’article Mouna et al (Autophagy 2016), nous avons identifié précisément le mécanisme qui permet cette inhibition de l’autophagie. Les protéines virales TRS1 et IRS1 sont capables de bloquer la formation des autophagosomes de manière autonome, mais elles peuvent également, lorsqu’elles sont exprimées simultanément, bloquer le flux autophagique. L’utilisation de virus mutants n’exprimant qu’une des deux protéines, voire aucune des deux, a permis de confirmer l’action de ces protéines dans le contexte du cycle viral.
C’est par leur interaction avec la protéine de la machinerie autophagique Beclin 1 (BECN1) que cette inhibition se produit alors que leur interaction avec la kinase senseur de l’infection virale PKR, précédemment décrite, n’a aucun rôle. Plus précisément, nous avons montré que la région N terminale d’IRS1 interagit spécifiquement avec le domaine coil-coiled de BECN1.
A partir de 18h post infection, le flux autophagique est bloqué dans les cellules infectées, grâce à TRS1 et IRS1. La stimulation de l’autophagie par des drogues à ce moment-là augmente la production virale alors que l’inhibition de l’autophagie par des approches pharmacologiques ou génétiques, diminue la multiplication du CMV. L’autophagie apparait ainsi, de manière surprenante, comme un mécanisme proviral aux temps tardifs de l’infection, dont la fonction reste à élucider précisément.
Email:audrey.esclatine@u-psud.fr
Autophagy. 2016 Feb;12(2):327-42
Résumé Graphique-Haute résolution

Graphical-Abstract-SielezFrench-3
La mesure du flux autophagique est aujourd’hui très répandue dans les études in vitro mais reste encore peu développée in vivo. Toutefois, un certain nombre d’études ont montré la faisabilité d’une telle mesure in vivo en traitant des souris (par injection-intrapéritonéale) avec des agents pharmacologiques (chloroquine, leupeptine, vinblastine, colchicine). Cependant, les conséquences métaboliques de ces traitements restent encore largement méconnues. Dans cet article, nous montrons que le traitement de truites à jeun pendant 2 jours à la colchicine (0.8 mg/kg/jour) permet d’induire le taux de LC3-II ainsi que le taux des vacuoles autophagiques dans le foie. Cependant, cet effet s’accompagne d’une inhibition de la glycémie, associée à une chute de la concentration de certains acides aminés dans le foie et une baisse du niveau des ARNm de gènes de la néoglucogenèse. En outre, les poissons traités à la colchicine présentaient une stéatose hépatique associée à une augmentation du niveau de triglycérides dans le foie ainsi qu’une induction de l’expression des gènes Plin2 et Plin3 codant pour des protéines spécifiques des gouttelettes lipidiques. Parallèlement, les niveaux d’ARNm des gènes du stress du RE (Ddit3, Asns), ainsi que ceux des gènes de l’autophagie (p62, Atg4b) et du lysosome (Atp6v1a et CtsD) étaient fortement induits chez ces poissons. Dans l’ensemble, ces résultats montrent que la concentration et/ou le temps de traitement nécessaire pour bloquer le flux autophagique in vivo affectent profondément l’homéostasie métabolique et cellulaire. Bien que nous ne puissions pas exclure la possibilité que les effets observés soient indépendants de l’inhibition de l’autophagie, les résultats obtenus correspondent étroitement aux données publiées sur le rôle de cette fonction. Ainsi, ils soulignent l’importance de tenir compte de ces effets lors de l’utilisation, non seulement de la colchicine, mais également des autres inhibiteurs de flux autophagique.
Email:Iban.Seiliez@st-pee.inra.fr
Autophagy. 2016 Feb;12(2):343-56
Résumé Graphique-Haute résolution

Autres publications

Laisser un commentaire