Premature aging, Marseille – June 2019 CFATG
Premature aging, Marseille – June 2019

Team: Hormonal Regulation of Brain Development and Cognitive Functions

INSERM, U1151
Institut Necker Enfants-Malades
14 rue Maria Helena Vieira Da Silva
75014 Paris, France

Team presentation

Website : Click here

Group leader : Franck OURY (CR INSERM)

Team members, 2019 :

Franck OURY, group leader (franck.oury[at]inserm.fr)
Anne-Sophie ARMAND, MCU (anne-sophie.armand[at]inserm.fr)
Stéphanie MORICEAU, postdoc (stephanie.moriceau[at]inserm.fr)
Eleni SIOPI, postdoc (eleni.siopi[at]inserm.fr)
Mariana RAMOS-BROSSIER, postdoc (mariana.ramos[at]inserm.fr)
David GUITART, postdoc (david.guitart[at]inserm.fr)
Manon RIVAGORDA, PhD student(manon.rivagorda[at]inserm.fr)
Valérie BOITEZ, engineer (valerie.boitez[at]inserm.fr)
François MAILLIET, engineer (francois.mailliet[at]inserm.fr)
Alexandre CHAMOUNI, Clinician (alexandre.chamouni[at]inserm.fr)

Keywords : Hormones, autophagy, brain, memory, synaptic plasticity, integrative physiology, aging.

Research Topic

Our laboratory has a long-lasting interest for the hormonal regulation of brain cognitive and metabolic functions. Hormones are essential factors ensuring the proper regulation of physiological functions by mediating the dialogue between organs. Many hormonal factors can reach the central nervous system where they influence neuronal homeostasis, adult neurogenesis and cognitive functions. Importantly, mounting evidence also suggests that hormonal imbalances may contribute to the progressive decline in cognitive functions occuring during aging. However, while the functional importance of hormonal factors on brain activities is undeniable, their cellular and molecular mechanisms of action are largely elusive. Moreover, although the brain expresses receptors for most, if not all, hormonal factors, the role(s) of many hormones in the CNS remains unexplored. Therefore a better understanding of the influence of hormonal homeostasis in brain cognitive activities and brain plasticity may open up new avenues for therapeutic intervention to ameliorate disease-related cognitive impairments, and reverse/prevent age-related memory decline.

Context: Emerging data indicate that administration of young plasma (YP) improves memory in aged mice, which emphasizes the role of systemic factors in the maintenance of cognitive fitness (Fig. 1). In line with these findings, we and others have identified Osteocalcin (Ocn) as a necessary hormonal factor contained in YP which can rejuvenate hippocampal (HpC)-dependent memory functions in aged-mice (Fig. 1). Ocn is a bone-derived hormone that crosses the blood-brain barrier and impacts on memory, via activation of its receptor, GPR158, present in HpC neurons, by modulating the production and trafficking of brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF). Circulating Ocn levels are dramatically reduced in aged mice, while restoration of Ocn levels is necessary and sufficient to improve age-related cognitive deficits. The potential therapeutic effects of exposure to “young” systemic factors such as Ocn in reversing aging-associated memory impairments raises the crucial question: What are the intracellular effector(s) of rejuvenating factors in HpC neurons? In this context, we observed that YP/Ocn injections in old mice increase HpC levels of various autophagy-related (ATG) proteins.

Fig. 1: Rejuvenating effects of Young plasma or Osteocalcin (Ocn) systemic administration in the HpC

Neurodegenerative conditions have often been linked to autophagic failure, but despite both cognitive function and autophagy decreasing with age, a possible physiological role for autophagy in cognition and age-related memory decline has not been established. Given the fact that APs are actively formed in synapses, and that hippocampal neurons are highly influenced by various environmental factors, we set out to explore the role of autophagy in regulating cognitive fitness, brain aging, and as a potential mediator of the effects of youthful systemic factors on memory and brain plasticity.

By using mice downregulated for specific autophagy proteins in HpC neurons, we found that these mice had impaired memory capacities but unaltered locomotor functions and anxiety levels. We next found that autophagy in HpC neurons is rapidely enhanced after exposition to novel memory stimuli and that these bursts in HpC autophagy is a necessary mechanism to promote novel memory formation, by fostering activity-dependent structural and functional synaptic plasticity in hippocampal neurons (Fig. 2A). Importantly, we found that autophagy activity is reduced in hippocampal neurons during aging, and that restoring its levels is sufficient to improve age-related memory deficits (Fig. 2B). Given the known cognitive benefits of young plasma circulating factors in old animals, we found that restoring youthful levels of circulating factors is an efficient intervention to improve age-impaired autophagy levels in the HpC (Fig. 2C). Furthermore, we show that the rejuvenating effects of YP administration on memory deficits in aged mice are abrogated by downregulation of hippocampal autophagy (Fig. 2C). Among these youthful factors, we show that Ocn is one such circulating factor that improves age-associated memory deficits in an autophagy-dependent manner.



Fig. 2: (A) HpC autophagy is required to enhance the formation of novel memory by promoting activity-dependent synaptic plasticity, including novel dendritic spine formation and long-term potentiation. (B) HpC autophagy is reduced during aging, and restoring its levels (via administration of the pharmacological inducer TAT-Beclin 1 is sufficient to reverse memory deficits in aged mice. (C) Systemic administration of YP or Ocn induces HpC autophagy and improves age-related cognitive deficits. HpC autophagy inhibition abrogates the beneficial effects of rejuvenating systemic factors on memory in aged mice.

Altogether, our findings reveal a novel physiological function of autophagy in neurons for promoting memory formation, by modulating structural and functional synaptic plasticity. Our results also indicate that age-impaired autophagy contributes to the progressive decline of hippocampal function during aging and provide proof-of-concept that pharmacological modulation of autophagy could be considered as a new approach for the treatment of age-related cognitive disorders. Lastly, this study highlights a key role for autophagy in shaping the communication between the systemic milieu and neurons in fostering cognitive fitness and neuronal homeostasis.

References

– Glatigny M, Moriceau S, Rivagorda M, Ramos-Brossier M, Nascimbeni AC, Lante F, Boudarene N, Friedman AK, Kuperwasser N, Friedlander G, Buisson A, Morel E, Codogno P, and Oury F*. Autophagy is required for memory formation and reverses age-related memory declines. Current Biology. 2019. 29(10):1-14.
– Obri A, Khrimian L, Karsenty G, Oury F*. Osteocalcin in the brain: from embryonic development to age-related decline in cognition. Nat. Rev. Endocrinol. 2018. 14(3):174-182.
– Khrimian L, Obri A, Ramos-Brossier M, Rousseaud A, Moriceau S, Mera P, Kosmidis S, Karnavas T, Gao XB, Oury F*, Kandel E, and Karsenty G*. Gpr158 mediates osteocalcin’s regulation of cognition. J Exp Med. 2017. 214(10):2859-73.
– Oury F, Khrimian L, Gardin A, Chamouni A, Goeden N, Huang Y, Lee H, Srinivas P, Gao XB, Suyama S, Mann JJ, Horvath T, Bonnin A, Karsenty G. Maternal and offspring pools of osteocalcin influence brain development and functions. Cell. 2013.155(1):228-41.
– Oury F, Sumara G, Sumara O, Ferron M, Chang H, Smith C.E, Hermo l, Suarez S, Roth B.L, Ducy P, Karsenty G. Endocrine regulation of male fertility by skeleton. Cell. 2011. 144(5):796-809.
– Oury F, Murakami Y, Renaud JS, Pasqualetti M, Charnay P, Ren SY, and Rijli FM. Hoxa2- and Rhombomere-Dependent Development of the Mouse Facial Somatosensory Map. Science. 2006. 313(5792):1408-13.

Laisser un commentaire

Régulation hormonale du développement et des fonctions du cerveau – Juin 2019 CFATG
Régulation hormonale du développement et des fonctions du cerveau – Juin 2019
HOME » Membres » Equipes » Régulation hormonale du développement et des fonctions du cerveau – Juin 2019

Equipe: Régulation hormonale du développement et des fonctions du cerveau

INSERM, U1151
Institut Necker Enfants-Malades
14 rue Maria Helena Vieira Da Silva
75014 Paris, France

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web : CLIQUEZ ICI

Responsable du groupe : Franck OURY (CR INSERM)

Membres de l’équipe, 2019 :

Franck OURY, chef d’équipe (franck.oury[at]inserm.fr)
Anne-Sophie ARMAND, MCU (anne-sophie.armand[at]inserm.fr)
Stéphanie MORICEAU, postdoc (stephanie.moriceau[at]inserm.fr)
Eleni SIOPI, postdoc (eleni.siopi[at]inserm.fr)
Mariana RAMOS-BROSSIER, postdoc (mariana.ramos[at]inserm.fr)
David GUITART, postdoc (david.guitart[at]inserm.fr)
Manon RIVAGORDA, PhD doctorante (manon.rivagorda[at]inserm.fr)
Valérie BOITEZ, ingénieur (valerie.boitez[at]inserm.fr)
François MAILLIET, ingénieur (francois.mailliet[at]inserm.fr)
Alexandre CHAMOUNI, Clinicien (alexandre.chamouni[at]inserm.fr)

Mots-clés : Hormones, autophagie, cerveau, mémoire, plasticité synaptique, physiologie intégrative, Vieillissement.

Thématique de l’équipe

Notre laboratoire s’intéresse de longue date aux rôles des facteurs hormonaux dans la régulation des fonctions cognitives et métaboliques du cerveau. Les hormones sont des facteurs essentiels au maintien de nos fonctions physiologiques en assurant le dialogue entre les organes. Leur large spectre d’actions ne se limite pas aux organes périphériques. Certains facteurs hormonaux, tels que la leptine, l’insuline, les hormones thyroïdiennes et les hormones stéroïdiennes atteignent le SNC où ils influencent l’homéostasie neuronale, la neurogenèse adulte et les fonctions cognitives et métaboliques. De nombreuses études suggèrent également que les déséquilibres hormonaux apparaissant pendant le vieillissement pourraient contribuer au déclin progressif des fonctions cognitives au cours de l’âge. Cependant, bien que l’importance fonctionnelle des facteurs hormonaux sur les activités cérébrales est indéniable, les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires médiant leurs actions au sein des neurones restent encore largement inconnu. De plus, bien que le cerveau exprime les récepteurs pour la plupart des facteurs hormonaux, si ce n’est pas tous, le rôle de nombreuses hormones au niveau central reste encore inexploré. Par conséquent, une meilleure compréhension de l’influence de l’homéostasie hormonale sur les neurones et les fonctions cérébrales est aujourd’hui essentiel et pourrait ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives thérapeutiques visant à atténuer les déficiences cognitives liées au vieillissement physiologique.

Contexte: De récentes études indiquent que l’administration de plasma jeune (YP) améliore la mémoire chez les souris âgées (Fig. 1). Ceci suggère le rôle clé des facteurs systémiques dans le maintien des fonctions cognitives (i.e mémoire) et de la plasticité cérébrale au cours de l’âge. Conformément à ces résultats, nous avons pu identifié, qu’ostéocalcine (Ocn), une hormone produite par l’os, est un facteur circulant capable de rajeunir les fonctions de la mémoire hippocampique-dépendante (HpC) chez la souris âgée (Fig. 1). Ocn traverse la barrière hémato-encéphalique et a un impact sur la mémoire et l’homéostasie neuronale en modulant la production et le trafic de facteur neurotrophique dérivé du cerveau (BDNF), via l’activation de son récepteur : GPR158, présent sur les neurones HpC. Les niveaux d’Ocn circulants sont considérablement réduits chez les souris âgées, et une restauration des niveaux d’Ocn dans les souris âgées est nécessaire et suffisante pour améliorer les déficits cognitifs liés à l’âge (Khrimian et al., J. Exp. Med. 2017 ; Obri et al., Nature Review Endo. 2018). Les effets thérapeutiques potentiels de l’exposition à des facteurs systémiques «jeunes», tels que Ocn, pour remédier aux altérations de la mémoire associées au vieillissement, soulèvent une question cruciale : quels sont les effecteurs intracellulaires des facteurs de rajeunissement dans les neurones HpC? Dans ce contexte, nous avons observé que les injections de YP / Ocn chez de vieilles souris augmentaient les niveaux de HpC de diverses protéines ATG.

Fig. 1: Rejuvenating effects of Young plasma or Osteocalcin (Ocn) systemic administration in the HpC

Une perturbation de l’autophagie est associée à de nombreuses maladies neurodégénératives. Cependant, bien que les fonctions cognitives et l’autophagie diminuent avec l’âge, le rôle physiologique de l’autophagie dans le contrôle des fonctions cognitives, la plasticité cérébrale et le déclin de la mémoire lié à l’âge n’ont pas encore été établis. Étant donné que les autophagosomes sont activement formés dans les synapses et que les neurones de l’hippocampe sont fortement influencés par divers facteurs environnementaux, nous avons entrepris d’explorer le rôle de l’autophagie dans la régulation et le maintient de la mémoire au cours du vieillissement physiologique du cerveau, mais aussi et surtout en tant que médiateur potentiel des effets des facteurs systémiques sur la mémoire et la plasticité cérébrale.

En utilisant différents modèles de souris dérégulés pour l’autophagie sélectivement dans les neurones HpC, nous avons constaté que ces souris avaient des capacités de mémoire altérées. Nous avons ensuite montré que l’autophagie était rapidement induite dans les neurones HpC après exposition à de nouveaux stimuli de mémoire et que cette induction est un mécanisme nécessaire à la formation de nouvelles mémoires, en favorisant la plasticité synaptique structurelle et fonctionnelle dans les neurones de l’hippocampe (Fig. 2A). Nous avons ensuite constaté que l’activité autophagique est réduite au sein de l’HpC au cours du vieillissement et que la restauration de son niveau est suffisante pour améliorer les déficits de mémoire liés à l’âge (Fig. 2B). Enfin, nous avons observé que l’injection de YP dans les souris âgées améliore au sein des neurones HpC, les altérations du niveau d’autophagie liés à l’âge, mais aussi et surtout que les effets bénéfiques de l’administration de YP sur le déclin des fonctions cognitives et de la plasticité neuronale sont abrogés après dérégulation sélective de l’autophagie au sein de l’HpC (Fig. 2C). Parmi ces facteurs, nous avons montré qu’Ocn est un facteur hormonal régulant le processus d’autophagie au sein des neurones HpC (Glatigny et al., Current Biol. 2019).



Fig. 2: (A) L’autophagie était rapidement induite au sein des neurones HpC après exposition à de nouveaux stimuli de mémoire. Cette induction est nécessaire à la formation de nouvelles mémoire en favorisant la plasticité synaptique, incluant la formation de nouvelles épines dendritiques et la potentialisation à long terme (LTP). (B) L’autophagie dans les neurones HpC est réduite pendant le vieillissement et restaurer son niveau pharmacologiquement (injections locales de TAT-Beclin 1) est suffisant pour améliorer le déclin de fonctions de mémoires lié à l’âge. (C) L’administration systémique de plasma jeune (YP) ou d’Ostéocalcine (Ocn) est suffisante pour améliorer le déclin de l’autophagie dans l’HpC and les défauts cognitifs liés à l’âge. A contrario, la dérégulation de l’autophagie HpC abolie les effets rajeunissant de ces injections sur la mémoire dans les souris âgés.

En résumé, nos résultats révèlent une nouvelle fonction physiologique de l’autophagie au sein du cerveau favorisant la formation de nouvelles mémoires. Nos résultats indiquent également que la diminution de l’activité autophagique avec l’âge contribue activement au déclin progressif des fonctions cognitives au cours du vieillissement, mais aussi et surtout qu’une modulation pharmacologique de l’autophagie pourrait être considérée comme une nouvelle approche thérapeutique dans le traitement des troubles cognitifs liés à l’âge. Enfin, cette étude met en évidence un rôle clé de l’autophagie dans la communication entre le milieu systémique et les neurones favorisant le maintien de l’homéostasie neuronale et des fonctions cognitives au cours de la vie.

Publications de référence

– Glatigny M, Moriceau S, Rivagorda M, Ramos-Brossier M, Nascimbeni AC, Lante F, Boudarene N, Friedman AK, Kuperwasser N, Friedlander G, Buisson A, Morel E, Codogno P, and Oury F*. Autophagy is required for memory formation and reverses age-related memory declines. Current Biology. 2019. 29(10):1-14.
– Obri A, Khrimian L, Karsenty G, Oury F*. Osteocalcin in the brain: from embryonic development to age-related decline in cognition. Nat. Rev. Endocrinol. 2018. 14(3):174-182.
– Khrimian L, Obri A, Ramos-Brossier M, Rousseaud A, Moriceau S, Mera P, Kosmidis S, Karnavas T, Gao XB, Oury F*, Kandel E, and Karsenty G*. Gpr158 mediates osteocalcin’s regulation of cognition. J Exp Med. 2017. 214(10):2859-73.
– Oury F, Khrimian L, Gardin A, Chamouni A, Goeden N, Huang Y, Lee H, Srinivas P, Gao XB, Suyama S, Mann JJ, Horvath T, Bonnin A, Karsenty G. Maternal and offspring pools of osteocalcin influence brain development and functions. Cell. 2013.155(1):228-41.
– Oury F, Sumara G, Sumara O, Ferron M, Chang H, Smith C.E, Hermo l, Suarez S, Roth B.L, Ducy P, Karsenty G. Endocrine regulation of male fertility by skeleton. Cell. 2011. 144(5):796-809.
– Oury F, Murakami Y, Renaud JS, Pasqualetti M, Charnay P, Ren SY, and Rijli FM. Hoxa2- and Rhombomere-Dependent Development of the Mouse Facial Somatosensory Map. Science. 2006. 313(5792):1408-13.

Laisser un commentaire