An autophagic team – Feb 2017 CFATG
An autophagic team – Feb 2017
HOME » Members » Equipes » An autophagic team – Feb 2017

Nutrition Metabolism Aquaculture (NuMeA)

NuMeA, UMR1419 INRA-UPPA, 64310 St Pée-sur-Nivelle
+33 5 59 51 59 51 / +33 5 59 54 51 52

Presentation of the team

Web site : http://www6.bordeaux-aquitaine.inra.fr/st_pee/UMR-NuMeA
Team leader: Sandrine Skiba, DR2 INRA, sandrine.skiba@inra.fr
Our researches are conducted in a context of limited marine resources and a strong aquaculture development worldwide. They aim to understand the cellular and molecular mechanisms involved in the control (especially by nutrients) of the main metabolic functions and growth in fish.

Principal Investigator: Iban SEILIEZ, DR2 INRA, iban.seiliez@inra.fr
Team members, 2016 :
SEILIEZ Iban, DR2 INRA
DIAS Karine, TR NO INRA
SEITE Sarah, Doctorante (Bourse CIFRE)
LESCAT Laury, Doctorante (Bourse de l’ED211, UPPA)
LIU Hengtong, Doctorante (Bourse du China Scholarship Council)
ORY Nicolas, M2

De haut en bas, et de gauche à droite : LIU Hengtong ; LESCAT Laury ; DIAS Karine ; SEITE Sarah ; ORY Nicolas ; SEILIEZ Iban

Keywords: Autophagy, Metabolism, Fish, Evolution, Adaptation

Research Topics

The research carried out within our group aims to advance our understanding of the nutritional control of autophagy and its role in the regulation of intermediary metabolism in teleost fish. Due to the wide diversity of their lifestyles, metabolic features and phylogenetic position, these species represent relevant model organisms for studying the metabolic role as well as the evolutionary history of such a key function crucial for adaptation and survival.

Three species are mainly studied:
– (i) The rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss): This species displays unusual metabolic features (i.e., a high dietary amino acid requirement and an apparent inability to use dietary carbohydrate for energy furniture) relevant to gain better understanding of the nutritional regulation and the metabolic role of autophagy. Our current work aims to understand the impact of macronutrient composition of the diets (in particular that of the different amino acids) on the formation of autophagosomes. Persons involved in this project: Sarah SEITE, Nicolas ORY, Karine DIAS, Iban SEILIEZ. Collaborators: S PANSERAT (INRA-UPPA, UMR1419 NuMeA, St Pée-sur-Nivelle) ; N CAMOUGRAND et B SALIN (CNRS, UMR5095 IBGC, Bordeaux).
– (ii) The European eel (Anguilla anguilla): A critical stage in the life cycle of eel is the estuarine migration to freshwater rearing habitats by the young stages (glass eels). Glass eels do not feed during this stage and rely exclusively on endogenous energy reserves and the establishment of a tightly controlled energy mobilizing system. Numerous studies over the past decade identified Autophagy (a process of cellular self-eating) as a major energy mobilizing system in metazoans. In this context, the present project aims to determine to what extent the estuarine migratory behavior of glass eel may be linked to autophagy activity and evaluate the impact of temperature as well as the existence of genetic polymorphism in the autophagy-related genes, as an assessment of the evolutionary potential of the European eel in face of environmental changes. Persons involved in this project: Hengtong LIU, Karine DIAS, Iban SEILIEZ. Collaborators: V BOLLIET (INRA-UPPA, UMR1224 ECOBIOP, St Pée-sur-Nivelle).
– (iii) the medaka (Oryzias latipes): This species is now recognized as a relevant model organism and extensively used in many areas of biological research. The work we are doing on this species is part of a project aiming to describe the evolutionary history of autophagy in vertebrates in general and in fish more particularly. Persons involved in this project: Laury LESCAT, Karine DIAS, Iban SEILIEZ. Collaborators: J BOBE and A HERPIN (INRA, UR1037 LPGP, Rennes).
Knowledge gained through such a research program is of great interest from a comparative animal physiological perspective but provide also an entirely new perspective to the issue of the mechanisms involved in tissues construction, metabolism and homeostasis in fish species of high economic, scientific and ecological value.

Figure legend: Primary culture of rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) myoblasts were incubated in a serum- and amino acid-deprived medium. After 4 h incubation, the immunolocalization of LC3B (green) revealed the appearance of punctate LC3 staining that represents autophagosomes. Nuclei were stained with Hoescht (blue). These results demonstrated for the first time in this species the existence and the control of the autophagosomal system (Seiliez et al., 2012 Autophagy, 8 (3), 1-12).

References:

1. Seiliez, I., Belghit, I., Gao, Y., Skiba-Cassy, S., Dias, K., Cluzeaud, M., Rémond, D., Hafnaoui, N., Salin, B., Camougrand, N., Panserat, S. (2016). Looking at the metabolic consequences of the colchicine-based in vivo autophagic flux assay. Autophagy, 12(2):343-56.
2. Belghit, I., Skiba-Cassy, S., Geurden, I., Dias, K., Surget, A., Kaushik, S., Panserat, S., Seiliez, I. (2014). Dietary methionine availability affects the main factors involved in muscle protein turnover in rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss). British Journal of Nutrition, 112 (4), 493-503.
3. Seiliez, I., Dias, K., Cleveland, B. M. (2014). Contribution of the autophagy-lysosomal and ubiquitin-proteasomal proteolytic systems to total proteolysis in rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) myotubes. American Journal of Physiology. Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology, 307 (11), R1330-R1337.
4. Belghit, I., Panserat, S., Sadoul, B., Dias, K., Skiba-Cassy, S., Seiliez, I. (2013). Macronutrient composition of the diet affects the feeding-mediated down regulation of autophagy in muscle of rainbow trout (O. mykiss). Plos One, 8 (9), 12 p.
5. Seiliez, I., Gabillard, J.-C., Riflade, M., Sadoul, B., Dias, K., Averous, J., Tesseraud, S., Skiba, S., Panserat, S. (2012). Amino acids downregulate the expression of several autophagy-related genes in rainbow trout myoblasts. Autophagy, 8 (3), 1-12.
6. Seiliez, I., Gutierrez, J., Salmerón, C., Skiba-Cassy, S., Chauvin, C., Dias, K., Kaushik, S., Tesseraud, S., Panserat, S. 2010. An in vivo and in vitro assessment of autophagy-related gene expression in muscle of rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss). Comp Biochem Physiol B Biochem Mol Biol, 157(3):258-66.
7. Seiliez, I., Gabillard, J.C., Skiba-Cassy, S., Garcia-Serrana, D., Gutierrez, J., Kaushik, S., Panserat, S., Tesseraud, S. 2008. An in vivo and in vitro assessment of TOR signalling cascade in rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss). Am J Physiol – Regul Integr Comp Physiol, 295: R329–R335.
8. Seiliez, I., Panserat, S., Skiba-Cassy, S., Fricot, A., Vachot, C., Kaushik, S., Tesseraud, S. 2008. Feeding status regulates the polyubiquitination step of the ubiquitin proteasome-dependent proteolysis in rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) Muscle. J Nutr, 138(3): 487-91.

Laisser un commentaire

Une équipe d’autophagistes – Fev 2017 CFATG
Une équipe d’autophagistes – Fev 2017
HOME » Membres » Equipes » Une équipe d’autophagistes – Fev 2017

Nutrition Métabolisme Aquaculture (NuMeA)

NuMeA, UMR1419 INRA-UPPA, 64310 St Pée-sur-Nivelle
+33 5 59 51 59 51 / +33 5 59 54 51 52

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web : http://www6.bordeaux-aquitaine.inra.fr/st_pee/UMR-NuMeA
Chef d’équipe : Sandrine Skiba, DR2 INRA, sandrine.skiba@inra.fr
Les recherches réalisées au sein de notre unité sont conduites dans un contexte de raréfaction des ressources marines et d’essor de l’aquaculture au niveau mondial. Elles ont pour objectif de faire progresser notre compréhension des mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaire de contrôle (notamment nutritionnel) des grandes fonctions métaboliques et de la croissance chez les poissons.

Investigateur principal autophagie: Iban SEILIEZ, DR2 INRA, iban.seiliez@inra.fr
Membres de l’équipe, 2017 :
SEILIEZ Iban, DR2 INRA
DIAS Karine, TR NO INRA
SEITE Sarah, Doctorante (Bourse CIFRE)
LESCAT Laury, Doctorante (Bourse de l’ED211, UPPA)
LIU Hengtong, Doctorante (Bourse du China Scholarship Council)
ORY Nicolas, M2


De haut en bas, et de gauche à droite : LIU Hengtong ; LESCAT Laury ; DIAS Karine ; SEITE Sarah ; ORY Nicolas ; SEILIEZ Iban

Mots-clés: Autophagie, Métabolisme, Poisson, Evolution, Adaptation.

Thématique de recherche

Les recherches réalisées au sein de ce groupe ont pour objectif de faire progresser notre compréhension de la régulation nutritionnelle de l’autophagie et du rôle de cette fonction cellulaire dans le contrôle du métabolisme intermédiaire chez les poissons téléostéens. En raison de la grande diversité de leur mode de vie, de leurs caractéristiques métaboliques et de leur position phylogénétique, ces espèces représentent des organismes modèles pertinents pour étudier le rôle métabolique ainsi que l’histoire évolutive d’une telle fonction dont l’activité est déterminante pour l’adaptation et la survie.

Trois espèces sont principalement étudiées:
– (i) la truite arc-en-ciel (Oncorhynchus mykiss), qui présente des « spécificités » métaboliques (utilisation préférentielle des acides aminés pour la production d’énergie, faible efficacité d’utilisation des glucides) qui sont au cœur de la régulation et de la fonction de l’autophagie. Les travaux actuels visent à comprendre l’impact de la composition en macronutriments de l’aliment (notamment des acides aminés) sur le contrôle de la formation des autophagosomes. Personnes impliquées: Sarah SEITE, Nicolas ORY, Karine DIAS, Iban SEILIEZ. Collaboration: S PANSERAT (INRA-UPPA, UMR1419 NuMeA, St Pée-sur-Nivelle) ; N CAMOUGRAND et B SALIN (CNRS, UMR5095 IBGC, Bordeaux).
– (ii) l’anguille européenne (Anguilla anguilla) dont les jeunes stades (civelles) effectuent un jeune prolongé (jusqu’à 3 mois) au cours de leur migration estuarienne vers les zones de croissance en rivière et dépendent de leur capacité à mobiliser leurs propres réserves énergétiques. Les travaux en cours ont pour objectifs de caractériser la mise en place des mécanismes d’autophagie chez les civelles au cours du jeûne et de mettre en relation l’activité autophagique avec le comportement migratoire (activité et rythmes de nage) des civelles. L’effet de la température ainsi que l’existence de polymorphisme au niveau des gènes de l’autophagie sont également étudié en tant qu’indicateur du potentiel évolutif de cette espèce face aux changements environnementaux. Personnes impliquées: Hengtong LIU, Karine DIAS, Iban SEILIEZ. Collaboration: V BOLLIET (INRA-UPPA, UMR1224 ECOBIOP, St Pée-sur-Nivelle).
– (iii) le medaka (Oryzias latipes) largement utilisé comme espèce modèle dans de nombreux domaines de la recherche. Les facilités d’obtention et de manipulation génétique des medaka, la possibilité de diriger les croisements et son cycle de vie court en font un modèle pertinent et extrêmement utile pour l’étude de la fonction des gènes. Les travaux que nous effectuons sur cette espèce s’inscrivent dans un projet visant à retracer l’histoire évolutive de l’autophagie chez les vertébrés en général et chez les poissons en particulier. Personnes impliquées: Laury LESCAT, Karine DIAS, Iban SEILIEZ. Collaboration: J BOBE et A HERPIN (INRA, UR1037 LPGP, Rennes).

Dans l’ensemble, les connaissances acquises par notre groupe de recherche permettent d’améliorer notre compréhension de la régulation et du rôle métabolique de l’autophagie chez les vertébrés, mais fournissent également un nouveau regard sur les mécanismes impliqués dans la construction des tissus, le contrôle du métabolisme intermédiaire et de l’homéostasie cellulaire chez des espèces présentant un fort intérêt économique (la France est aujourd’hui le troisième producteur européen de truites élevées en eau douce) et patrimoniale (l’anguille européenne est placée aujourd’hui sur la liste rouge des espèces en danger critique d’extinction et considérée en dehors de ses limites biologiques de sécurité).


Légende : Des cultures primaires des myoblastes de truite arc-en-ciel (Oncorhynchus mykiss) ont été incubées dans un milieu dépourvu de sérum et d’acides aminés. Après 4 h d’incubation, l’immunolocalisation de LC3B (en vert) révèle l’induction de la formation des autophagosomes. Les noyaux ont été colorés à l’Hoescht (bleu). Ces résultats démontraient pour la première fois chez cette espèce l’existence et le contrôle du système autophagosomal (Seiliez et al., 2012 Autophagy, 8 (3), 1-12).

Publications de références

1. Seiliez, I., Belghit, I., Gao, Y., Skiba-Cassy, S., Dias, K., Cluzeaud, M., Rémond, D., Hafnaoui, N., Salin, B., Camougrand, N., Panserat, S. (2016). Looking at the metabolic consequences of the colchicine-based in vivo autophagic flux assay. Autophagy, 12(2):343-56.
2. Belghit, I., Skiba-Cassy, S., Geurden, I., Dias, K., Surget, A., Kaushik, S., Panserat, S., Seiliez, I. (2014). Dietary methionine availability affects the main factors involved in muscle protein turnover in rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss). British Journal of Nutrition, 112 (4), 493-503.
3. Seiliez, I., Dias, K., Cleveland, B. M. (2014). Contribution of the autophagy-lysosomal and ubiquitin-proteasomal proteolytic systems to total proteolysis in rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) myotubes. American Journal of Physiology. Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology, 307 (11), R1330-R1337.
4. Belghit, I., Panserat, S., Sadoul, B., Dias, K., Skiba-Cassy, S., Seiliez, I. (2013). Macronutrient composition of the diet affects the feeding-mediated down regulation of autophagy in muscle of rainbow trout (O. mykiss). Plos One, 8 (9), 12 p.
5. Seiliez, I., Gabillard, J.-C., Riflade, M., Sadoul, B., Dias, K., Averous, J., Tesseraud, S., Skiba, S., Panserat, S. (2012). Amino acids downregulate the expression of several autophagy-related genes in rainbow trout myoblasts. Autophagy, 8 (3), 1-12.
6. Seiliez, I., Gutierrez, J., Salmerón, C., Skiba-Cassy, S., Chauvin, C., Dias, K., Kaushik, S., Tesseraud, S., Panserat, S. 2010. An in vivo and in vitro assessment of autophagy-related gene expression in muscle of rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss). Comp Biochem Physiol B Biochem Mol Biol, 157(3):258-66.
7. Seiliez, I., Gabillard, J.C., Skiba-Cassy, S., Garcia-Serrana, D., Gutierrez, J., Kaushik, S., Panserat, S., Tesseraud, S. 2008. An in vivo and in vitro assessment of TOR signalling cascade in rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss). Am J Physiol – Regul Integr Comp Physiol, 295: R329–R335.
8. Seiliez, I., Panserat, S., Skiba-Cassy, S., Fricot, A., Vachot, C., Kaushik, S., Tesseraud, S. 2008. Feeding status regulates the polyubiquitination step of the ubiquitin proteasome-dependent proteolysis in rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) Muscle. J Nutr, 138(3): 487-91.

Laisser un commentaire