Estrogènes, Expression Génique et Pathologies du Système Nerveux Central, Besançon – February 2015 CFATG
Estrogènes, Expression Génique et Pathologies du Système Nerveux Central, Besançon – February 2015
HOME » Members » Equipes » Estrogènes, Expression Génique et Pathologies du Système Nerveux Central, Besançon – February 2015

Team EA3922 Laboratory of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Université de Franche-Comté
UFR Sciences et Techniques /Laboratoire Biochimie Biologie moléculaire
EA3922 « Estrogènes, Expression Génique et Pathologies du Système Nerveux Central »
SFR IBCT FED 4234
16, route de Gray
Bâtiment DF
25030 BESANCON

Presentation of the team

Web site: http://e2snc.free.fr

Our team EA3922 is located on two sites in Besançon (Laboratory of Biochemistry, UFR of Sciences and Technology and the Laboratory of Histology, Hauts de Chazal, UFR of Medical and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University Hospital Minjoz) sites where we develop two different themes:

    1. 1) In the laboratory located in Hauts de Chazal, our team focuses on the roles of MCH protein in the mouse brain and the regulatory mechanisms of hunger and satiety.
    1. 2) In the laboratory of Biochemistry, we are interested in the problem of cellular stress and metabolism regulating autophagy and specifically the role of the ATG8 family proteins in regulating this process. These studies are conducted in healthy and tumor tissues, one of our main models being breast cancer (projects that we will detail further below).

Team leader

Delage-Mourroux Régis, PR,
Email : regis.delage-mourroux@univ-fcomte.fr

Team members, 2014

Team-Fev2015
From left to right: Aurore Taupin-Claude (doctorante), Eric Hervouet (MCF), Régis Delage-Mourroux (PR), Gilles Despouy (MCF), Laura Perez-Poillet (Doctorante), Raoudha Kacem (Post-doctorante), Michael Boyer-Guittaut (PR), Annick Fraichard (MCF), Valérie Perez (Technicienne), Pascale Adami (MCF)

Keywords

ATG8 Family proteins (LC3, GABARAPL1), Selective autophagy, mitophagy, gene regulation and epigenetic regulation of autophagy genes, breast cancer.

ResearchTopic

From an historical point of view, our team specifically study the functions ofGABARAPL1protein during the course of autophagy because this protein was discovered by our team in 1993 (protein previously known as GEC1) and we have previously shown, for the first time, his role in autophagy in 2010. We also showed in 2010 that a strong expression of GABARAPL1 transcripts is a good prognosis factor for patients with breast cancers, that GABARAPL1 inhibits MCF-7 cancer cell proliferation and that its inhibition alters mitochondrial homeostasis because of the deregulation of autophagic flux inMDA-MB436 cells.
The GABARAPL1 gene is the most regulated gene in the ATG8 family genes and therefore we postulate that this protein might present a specific role in selective autophagy in response to specific metabolic stress, or in defined tissues or diseases. GABARAPL1was described by our team and other laboratories to play an important role in selective autophagy of mitochondria, called mitophagy. Furthermore, this protein is also involved in other cellular processes such as transport of neuronal receptors (GABAAR, ΚOR) at the plasma membrane or microtubule polymerization.
Currently, we are pursuing several projects to understand:
a) The role of proteins of the ATG8 family, including GABARAPL1, during induced and selective autophagy ;
b) The epigenetic regulation of autophagy gene expression in disease models (breast cancer);
c) The role of autophagy proteins in the processes of tumorigenesis and tumor progression;
d) We are also developing the technology of Proximity Ligation Assay (PLA) to study in cellulo protein interactions of autophagy proteins in response to various cellular stresses (see figure 1).

Fig-Fev2015
Figure 1 : Etude par la technique ProximityLigationAssay (PLA) des interactions P62/LC3B en présence (BafA1) ou non (Ct) de Bafilomycine A1.
Figure 2 : Etude par immunofluorescence de la localisation de GABARAPL1(GL1) en absence ou en présence de Bafilomycine A1

References

-Boyer-Guittaut M, Poillet L, Liang Q, Bôle-Richard E, Ouyang X, Benavides GA, Chakrama FZ, Fraichard A, Darley-Usmar VM, Despouy G, Jouvenot M, Delage-Mourroux R, Zhang J. (2014) The role of GABARAPL1/GEC1 in autophagic flux and mitochondrial quality control in MDA-MB-436 breast cancer cells. Autophagy, 10(6):986-1003.
-Poillet L, Pernodet N, Boyer-Guittaut M, Adami P, Borg C, Jouvenot M, Delage-Mourroux R, Despouy G. (2014) QSOX1 inhibitsautophagic flux in breast cancer cells. PLoS One, 9(1):e86641.
-Le Grand JN, Bon K, Fraichard A, Zhang J, Jouvenot M, Risold PY, Boyer-Guittaut M, Delage-Mourroux R. (2013) Specific distribution of the autophagic protein GABARAPL1/GEC1 in the developing and adult mouse brain and identification of neuronal populations expressing GABARAPL1/GEC1. PLoS One, 8(5):e63133.
– Seguin-Py S, Lucchi G, Croizier S, Chakrama FZ, Despouy G, Le Grand JN, Ducoroy P, Boireau W, Boyer-Guittaut M, Jouvenot M, Fraichard A, Delage-Mourroux R. (2012) Identification of HSP90 as a new GABARAPL1 (GEC1)-interacting protein. Biochimie. 94(3):748-58.
– Le Grand, JN., Chakrama, FZ., Seguin-Py, S., Fraichard, A., Delage-Mourroux, R., Jouvenot, M., Risold, PY. and Boyer-Guittaut, M. (2011) GABARAPL1 antibodies: target one protein, get one free! Autophagy, (11):1302-7.
– Chakrama, FZ., Seguin-Py, S., Le Grand, JN., Fraichard, A., Delage-Mourroux, R., Despouy, G., Perez, V., Jouvenot, M. and Boyer-Guittaut, M. (2010) GABARAPL1 (GEC1) associates with autophagic vesicles. Autophagy, (4):495-505.
– Berthier, A., Seguin, S., Sasco, AJ., Bobin, JY., De Laroche, G., Datchary, J., Saez, S., Rodriguez-Lafrasse, C.,Tolle, F., Fraichard, A., Boyer-Guittaut, M., Jouvenot, M., Delage-Mourroux, R. and Descotes, F. (2010) High expression of gabarapl1 is associated with a better outcome for patients with lymph node-positive breast cancer. Br J Cancer, 102(6), 1024-31.

Laisser un commentaire

Estrogènes, Expression Génique et Pathologies du Système Nerveux Central, Besançon – Février 2015 CFATG
Estrogènes, Expression Génique et Pathologies du Système Nerveux Central, Besançon – Février 2015
HOME » Membres » Equipes » Estrogènes, Expression Génique et Pathologies du Système Nerveux Central, Besançon – Février 2015

Equipe EA3922 Laboratoire Biochimie Biologie moléculaire

Université de Franche-Comté
UFR Sciences et Techniques /Laboratoire Biochimie Biologie moléculaire
EA3922 « Estrogènes, Expression Génique et Pathologies du Système Nerveux Central »
SFR IBCT FED 4234
16, route de Gray
Bâtiment DF
25030 BESANCON

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web: http://e2snc.free.fr

Notre équipe EA3922 est située sur deux sites à Besançon (Laboratoire de Biochimie, UFR Sciences et Techniques et le Laboratoire d’Histologie des Hauts de Chazal, UFR Sciences Médicales et Pharmaceutiques, CHU Minjoz), sites sur lesquels nous développons deux thématiques différentes :

    1. 1) Au laboratoire des Hauts de Chazal, notre équipe s’intéresse aux rôles de la protéine MCH dans le cerveau murin et aux mécanismes régulateurs de la faim et de la satiété.
    1. 2) Au laboratoire de Biochimie, nous nous intéressons à la problématique des stress cellulaires et métaboliques régulant l’autophagie et plus particulièrement au rôle des protéines de la famille ATG8 dans la régulation de ce processus. Ces études sont effectuées dans des tissus sains ainsi que pathologiques, un de nos modèles principal étant le cancer du sein (ce sont ces projets que nous détaillerons plus particulièrement).

Chef d’équipe

Delage-Mourroux Régis, PR,
Email : regis.delage-mourroux@univ-fcomte.fr

Membres de l’équipe, 2014

Membres de l’équipe EA3922 sur le site de l’UFR ST, Université de Franche-Comté :
2 PR: Régis-Delage-Mourroux et Michaël Boyer-Guittaut
4 MCF: Pascale Adami, Annick Fraichard, Gilles Despouy et Eric Hervouet
1 technicienne: Valérie Perez
2 étudiantes en thèse: Laura Perez-Poillet et Aurore Taupin-Claude
1 post-doc: Raoudha Kacem

Team-Fev2015
De gauche à droite : Aurore Taupin-Claude (doctorante), Eric Hervouet (MCF), Régis Delage-Mourroux (PR), Gilles Despouy (MCF), Laura Perez-Poillet (Doctorante), Raoudha Kacem (Post-doctorante), Michael Boyer-Guittaut (PR), Annick Fraichard (MCF), Valérie Perez (Technicienne), Pascale Adami (MCF)

Mots-clés

Famille ATG8 (LC3, GABARAPL1), autophagie sélective, mitophagie, régulation génique et épigénétique des gènes de l’autophagie, cancer du sein.

Thématique de l’équipe

D’un point de vue historique, notre équipe étudie plus particulièrement les fonctions de la protéine GABARAPL1 au cours de l’autophagie. En effet, cette protéine a été découverte par notre équipe en 1993 (alors dénommée GEC1) et nous avons montré pour la première fois son rôle au cours de l’autophagie en 2010. Nous avons également montré en 2010 qu’une forte expression des transcrits GABARAPL1 est un facteur de bon pronostic pour les patientes présentant un cancer du sein, que GABARAPL1 inhibe la prolifération des cellules cancéreuses MCF-7. Plus récemment, nous avons montré que son inhibition altère l’homéostasie mitochondriale via la dérégulation du flux autophagique dans les cellules MDA-MB436.

L’originalité de nos travaux réside dans le fait que le gène GABARAPL1 est le gène le plus régulé de la famille des gènes ATG8 et donc que la protéine pourrait présenter un rôle spécifique au cours de l’autophagie induite par des stress métaboliques particuliers, ou au sein de tissus ou de pathologies définies. GABARAPL1 a notamment été montré par notre équipe et d’autres laboratoires comme jouant un rôle important au cours de l’autophagie sélective des mitochondries, la mitophagie. De plus, cette protéine participe également à d’autres processus cellulaires comme le transport de récepteurs neuronaux (GABAAR, ΚOR) à la membrane plasmique ou la polymérisation des microtubules.

A l’heure actuelle, nous poursuivons plusieurs projets ayant pour but d’étudier :
a) Le rôle des protéines de la famille ATG8, et notamment GABARAPL1, au cours de l’autophagie induite et sélective ;
b) La régulation épigénétique de l’expression des gènes de l’autophagie dans des modèles pathologiques (cancer du sein) ;
c) Le rôle des protéines de l’autophagie dans les processus de tumorigenèse et de progression tumorale et le lien entre ces différents mécanismes ;
d) Nous mettons également au point la technique de Proximity Ligation Assay (PLA) afin d’étudier in cellulo les interactions entre protéines de l’autophagie en réponse à différents stress cellulaires.

Fig-Fev2015
Figure 1 : Etude par la technique ProximityLigationAssay (PLA) des interactions P62/LC3B en présence (BafA1) ou non (Ct) de Bafilomycine A1.
Figure 2 : Etude par immunofluorescence de la localisation de GABARAPL1(GL1) en absence ou en présence de Bafilomycine A1

Publications de références

-Boyer-Guittaut M, Poillet L, Liang Q, Bôle-Richard E, Ouyang X, Benavides GA, Chakrama FZ, Fraichard A, Darley-Usmar VM, Despouy G, Jouvenot M, Delage-Mourroux R, Zhang J. (2014) The role of GABARAPL1/GEC1 in autophagic flux and mitochondrial quality control in MDA-MB-436 breast cancer cells. Autophagy, 10(6):986-1003.
-Poillet L, Pernodet N, Boyer-Guittaut M, Adami P, Borg C, Jouvenot M, Delage-Mourroux R, Despouy G. (2014) QSOX1 inhibitsautophagic flux in breast cancer cells. PLoS One, 9(1):e86641.
-Le Grand JN, Bon K, Fraichard A, Zhang J, Jouvenot M, Risold PY, Boyer-Guittaut M, Delage-Mourroux R. (2013) Specific distribution of the autophagic protein GABARAPL1/GEC1 in the developing and adult mouse brain and identification of neuronal populations expressing GABARAPL1/GEC1. PLoS One, 8(5):e63133.
– Seguin-Py S, Lucchi G, Croizier S, Chakrama FZ, Despouy G, Le Grand JN, Ducoroy P, Boireau W, Boyer-Guittaut M, Jouvenot M, Fraichard A, Delage-Mourroux R. (2012) Identification of HSP90 as a new GABARAPL1 (GEC1)-interacting protein. Biochimie. 94(3):748-58.
– Le Grand, JN., Chakrama, FZ., Seguin-Py, S., Fraichard, A., Delage-Mourroux, R., Jouvenot, M., Risold, PY. and Boyer-Guittaut, M. (2011) GABARAPL1 antibodies: target one protein, get one free! Autophagy, (11):1302-7.
– Chakrama, FZ., Seguin-Py, S., Le Grand, JN., Fraichard, A., Delage-Mourroux, R., Despouy, G., Perez, V., Jouvenot, M. and Boyer-Guittaut, M. (2010) GABARAPL1 (GEC1) associates with autophagic vesicles. Autophagy, (4):495-505.
– Berthier, A., Seguin, S., Sasco, AJ., Bobin, JY., De Laroche, G., Datchary, J., Saez, S., Rodriguez-Lafrasse, C.,Tolle, F., Fraichard, A., Boyer-Guittaut, M., Jouvenot, M., Delage-Mourroux, R. and Descotes, F. (2010) High expression of gabarapl1 is associated with a better outcome for patients with lymph node-positive breast cancer. Br J Cancer, 102(6), 1024-31.

Laisser un commentaire