An autophagic team – February 2016 CFATG
An autophagic team – February 2016
HOME » Members » Equipes » An autophagic team – February 2016

Cell Death and Autophagy in Atherosclerosis

Inserm UMR 1048/Institute of Metabolic and Cardiovascular Diseases, University Paul Sabatier, Toulouse 3.
Team “Lipids, Peroxidation, Signalling in Vascular Diseases”
1 avenue Jean Poulhès
31432 Toulouse, France
Tel.33(0)5 61 32 27 05

Presentation of the team

Supervision
Cécile VINDIS, DR2 INSERM
cecile.vindis@inserm.fr

Team members 2015:
Meyer ELBAZ, PU-PH
Hripsime NAHAPETYAN, doctorante
Jonathan BONNEVILLE, doctorant
Nicolas Montée, PH
Cécile INGUENEAU, MCU-PH
Audrey SWIADER, TR
Julien FACCINI, AI

Team-fev2016

From top to bottom:
J. Faccini, H. Nahapetyan, C. Vindis, A. Swiader, J. Bonneville, N. Montée, C. Ingueneau, M. Elbaz

Keywords:
Atherosclerosis, vascular cells, oxidized lipids, autophagy, mitophagy, apoptosis, murine models

Research activities

Our aim is to discover new mechanisms involved in atherosclerotic plaque rupture in order to identify targets that contribute to plaque fragilization and instability. Initially, our research activity was focused on apoptotic signaling pathways and cellular mechanisms induced by atherogenic oxidized lipids. Indeed, apoptosis can affect all the vascular cell types and is strongly related to atherosclerotic lesion stage and plaque rupture. Our previous work has demonstrated the major role of calcium signaling and the mitochondria in the regulation of vascular cell death. Recently we started to investigate the adaptive and cell survival pathways activated in parallel with apoptotic pathways induced by atherogenic lipids. We have shown the induction of ER stress and autophagy which takes part through beclin-1 to the phosphatidylserine exposure process as “eat-me” signal required for dead-cell clearance. Now, our works are focused on the role of a selective autophagy process named mitophagy. We aim to delineate the role and the regulation of mitophagy as a protective mechanism against vascular smooth muscle cell death-mediated atherosclerotic plaque fragilization and vulnerability. We hypothesized that the engulfment of defective mitochondria by autophagosomes could limit the release of proapoptotic proteins into the cytosol and safeguards plaque cells. Our results show that atherogenic lipid factors trigger the mitophagy machinery in human vascular smooth muscle cell. Using loss- or gain-of-expression approaches we reported that mitophagy through Parkin and PINK1 had critical consequences on cell fate by enhancing apoptosis or by favouring cell survival. The next step is to assess the occurrence and the role of mitophagy in animal models of atherosclerosis invalidated for mitophagy proteins. Ultimately we hope to raise the interest to target selectively mitophagy as a new strategy to stabilize atherosclerotic plaque.

Fig1-022016

References:

– Vindis C. Autophagy: an emerging therapeutic target in vascular diseases. Br J Pharmacol. 2015 May;172(9):2167-78.
– Laurent AC, Bisserier M, Lucas A, Tortosa F, Roumieux M, De Régibus A, Swiader A, Sainte-Marie Y, Heymes C, Vindis C, Lezoualc’h F. Exchange protein directly activated by cAMP 1 promotes autophagy during cardiomyocyte hypertrophy. Cardiovasc Res. 2015 Jan 1;105(1):55-64.
– Larroque-Cardoso P, Swiader A, Ingueneau C, Nègre-Salvayre A, Elbaz M, Reyland ME, Salvayre R, Vindis C. Role of protein kinase C δ in ER stress and apoptosis induced by oxidized LDL in human vascular smooth muscle cells. Cell Death Dis. 2013 Feb 28;4:e520.
– Muller C, Salvayre R, Nègre-Salvayre A, Vindis C. Oxidized LDLs trigger endoplasmic reticulum stress and autophagy: prevention by HDLs. Autophagy. 2011 May;7(5):541-3.
– Muller C, Salvayre R, Nègre-Salvayre A, Vindis C. HDLs inhibit endoplasmic reticulum stress and autophagic response induced by oxidized LDLs. Cell Death Differ. 2011 May;18(5):817-28.

Laisser un commentaire

Une équipe d’autophagistes – Février 2016 CFATG
Une équipe d’autophagistes – Février 2016
HOME » Membres » Equipes » Une équipe d’autophagistes – Février 2016

Mort cellulaire et Autophagie dans l’Athérosclérose

Inserm UMR 1048/ Institut des Maladies Métaboliques et Cardiovasculaires, Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse 3.
Equipe « Lipides, Peroxydation, Signalisation dans les maladies vasculaires »
1 avenue Jean Poulhès
31432 Toulouse, France
Tel.33(0)5 61 32 27 05

Présentation de l’équipe

Supervision
Cécile VINDIS, DR2 INSERM
cecile.vindis@inserm.fr

Membres de l’équipe 2015:
Meyer ELBAZ, PU-PH
Hripsime NAHAPETYAN, doctorante
Jonathan BONNEVILLE, doctorant
Nicolas Montée, PH
Cécile INGUENEAU, MCU-PH
Audrey SWIADER, TR
Julien FACCINI, AI

Team-fev2016

De haut en bas:
J. Faccini, H. Nahapetyan, C. Vindis, A. Swiader, J. Bonneville, N. Montée, C. Ingueneau, M. Elbaz

Mots-clés:
Athérosclérose, cellules vasculaires, lipides oxydés, autophagie, mitophagie, apoptose, modèles murins

Thématique de l’équipe

L’objectif de notre groupe est d’identifier de nouveaux mécanismes impliqués dans la rupture de la plaque d’athérosclérose afin de découvrir des cibles qui contribuent à sa fragilisation et son instabilité. Initialement, notre activité de recherche a débuté par l’étude des mécanismes et des voies de signalisation apoptotique induites par des lipides oxydés athérogènes. En effet, l’apoptose est un processus majeur qui touche tous les types cellulaires de la plaque au cours de son développement. Nos travaux ont démontré dans des cellules vasculaires, dans des modèles murins d’athérosclérose et dans des plaques humaines l’importance du rôle du calcium et de la mitochondrie dans la régulation de la mort cellulaire. Depuis quelques années nous avons intégré à nos travaux l’étude des voies d’adaptation et de survie cellulaire qui sont activées parallèlement aux voies d’un stress apoptotique. Ainsi nous avons mis en évidence l’activation d’un stress du réticulum endoplasmique et de l’autophagie cette dernière étant impliquée à travers Beclin-1 dans la mise en place de signaux de phagocytose des cellules apoptotiques. Actuellement, nos travaux se concentrent sur l’étude d’un processus sélectif de l’autophagie: la mitophagie. Notre hypothèse est que la mitophagie en éliminant les mitochondries défectueuses, inhibe la libération de molécules proapoptotiques et le stress oxydant ce qui aurait un effet bénéfique pour les cellules de la plaque. Nos résultats montrent que dans des cellules musculaires lisses vasculaires humaines les facteurs lipidiques athérogènes induisent un stress métabolique et oxydant à l’origine de l’activation concomitante de la mitophagie et de l’apoptose. Nous pensons qu’un déséquilibre de cette balance peut être à l’origine de mécanismes de fragilisation de la plaque d’athérosclérose pouvant conduire à la rupture et aux accidents thrombotiques. En modulant l’expression de deux protéines majeures de la mitophagie Parkin et PINK1 nous avons démontré que la mitophagie est un mécanisme de sauvegarde contre ce stress apoptotique induit par des facteurs athérogènes. Dans la suite de ces travaux nous allons étudier le rôle de la mitophagie au cours du développement de la lésion athéromateuse à l’aide de modèles murins d’athérosclérose invalidés pour des protéines de la mitophagie. Ainsi nous espérons pouvoir montrer que la mitophagie est un processus bénéfique dans les lésions précoces alors qu’elle serait défectueuse dans les lésions avancées et ainsi participerait à l’instabilité des plaques d’athérosclérose.

Fig1-022016

Publications de références

– Vindis C. Autophagy: an emerging therapeutic target in vascular diseases. Br J Pharmacol. 2015 May;172(9):2167-78.
– Laurent AC, Bisserier M, Lucas A, Tortosa F, Roumieux M, De Régibus A, Swiader A, Sainte-Marie Y, Heymes C, Vindis C, Lezoualc’h F. Exchange protein directly activated by cAMP 1 promotes autophagy during cardiomyocyte hypertrophy. Cardiovasc Res. 2015 Jan 1;105(1):55-64.
– Larroque-Cardoso P, Swiader A, Ingueneau C, Nègre-Salvayre A, Elbaz M, Reyland ME, Salvayre R, Vindis C. Role of protein kinase C δ in ER stress and apoptosis induced by oxidized LDL in human vascular smooth muscle cells. Cell Death Dis. 2013 Feb 28;4:e520.
– Muller C, Salvayre R, Nègre-Salvayre A, Vindis C. Oxidized LDLs trigger endoplasmic reticulum stress and autophagy: prevention by HDLs. Autophagy. 2011 May;7(5):541-3.
– Muller C, Salvayre R, Nègre-Salvayre A, Vindis C. HDLs inhibit endoplasmic reticulum stress and autophagic response induced by oxidized LDLs. Cell Death Differ. 2011 May;18(5):817-28.

Laisser un commentaire