Pathophysiology of parkinsonian syndromes, Bordeaux – Jan 2017 CFATG
Pathophysiology of parkinsonian syndromes, Bordeaux – Jan 2017
HOME » Members » Equipes » Pathophysiology of parkinsonian syndromes, Bordeaux – Jan 2017

Pathophysiology of parkinsonian syndromes

Address : Institut des Maladies Neurodégénératives
Université de Bordeaux
CNRS UMR 5293 – Bât. Neurocampus
146 Rue Léo Saignat
33076 Bordeaux – France
Tél. : +33 557 571 540
Fax : +33 556 986 182

Presentation of the team

Web site : http://www.imn-bordeaux.org/en/teams/pathophysiology-of-parkinsons-syndrome/
Team leader: Erwan Bézard
Our goal is to understand molecular and cellular mechanisms responsible for motor and non-motor symptoms in Parkinson’s disease and atypical parkinsonism as well as the disturbed response to L-dopa. Our goal is thus to identify novel therapeutic targets on the ground of pathophysiological studies in experimental models (ranging from cell culture to non-human primate) as well as in man.
The research activities of the team evolve around the following axes:
◦ Mechanisms of cell death in parkinsonian syndromes
◦ Modelling prion-like dissemination of synucleinopathies and tauopathies in nervous system in
Parkinsonian syndromes and dementias.
◦ Study of targeting autophagy as a potential cure of Parkinson’s disease.
◦ Study of key mechanisms contributing to α-synuclein accumulation to counteract Parkinson’s
disease and Multiple System Atrophy progression.
◦ Improvement of transgenesis approaches in neurodegenerative diseases modelling.
◦ Study of the role of extracellular space in neuronal communication.
Modulation of lysosomal biogenesis in experimental models of Parkinson’s disease and L-dopa-induced dyskinesia.

Principal Investigator: Benjamin Dehay, CR2 INSERM, benjamin.dehay@u-bordeaux.fr
Team members, 2016 :
AROTCARENA Marie-Laure (PhD student)
BEZARD Erwan (Researcher)
BOUE-GRABOT Eric (Researcher)
BOURDENX Mathieu (Post-Doctoral fellow)
CANRON Marie-Hélène (Assistant engineer)
CHANSEL Lucie (PhD student)
DEHAY Benjamin (Researcher)
DOVERO Sandra (Study engineer)
DOUDNIKOFF Marie-Evelyne (Assistant engineer)
ESTAGER Alain (Technician)
FERNAGUT Pierre-Olivier (Researcher)
GUERIN Paul-Arnaud (PhD student)
JIMENEZ Clément (PU-PH)
LARGITTE Leslie-Ann (Study engineer)
MARTIN-NEGRIER Marie-Laure (PU-PH)
MARTINEZ Audrey (Assistant engineer)
MASSE Karine (MCU)
MEISSNER Wassilios (PU-PH)
PAMPLIEGA Olatz (Post-Doctoral fellow)
SORIA Federico (Post-Doctoral fellow)
THIOLAT Marie-Laure (Technician)
TISON François (PU-PH)
VITAL Anne (PU-PH)

Keywords: Neurodegenerative diseases, Parkinson’s disease, lysosome, therapy, nanoparticles.

Research Topics

Parkinson’s disease is characterized by a progressive accumulation and propagation of a-synuclein likely responsible for their subsequent death. Our objective is to understand these mechanisms for then proposing adapted therapeutic approaches. Increasing evidence indicates that impairment of autophagy-lysosomal function may contribute to the pathogenesis of Parkinson’s disease. In particular, lysosomal defects could potentially account not only for neuronal cell dysfunction/death, the presence of α-synuclein-containing Lewy bodies, but also for the α-synuclein release from neurons. Our main goal is to understand how the disease proteins cause alterations of the proteolytic pathways contributing to the pathogenesis and, more importantly, whether functional augmentation of the lysosomal pathway can lead to clearance of the toxic proteins and halt the disease process. For this second purpose, we develop new neuroprotective/disease-modifying therapeutic strategies aimed at restoring lysosomal levels and function towards multidimensional clinically-relevant rodent and primate models. In addition to the various research projects, we begin the study of the interaction between autophagy and ciliary machinery in the context of neurodegenerative disease, with a special focus on Alzheimer’s disease.

Legend: Lysosomal dysfunction is a central event in Parkinson’s disease aetiology. Many factors are able, independently or in combination, to induce lysosomal impairment. Consequences of lysosomal impairment are numerous, including proteostasis impairment, ion homeostasis dysregulation, energy homeostasis perturbation or mitochondrial dysfunction. Moreover, several studies have suggested that lysosomal impairment could also promote the progressive spreading of synucleinopathy. All these deleterious consequences of lysosomal impairment are involved in dopaminergic cell death leading to Parkinson’s disease. Lysosomal impairment appears as a self-amplifying deleterious mechanism leading to more profound lysosomal dysfunction. Lysosomal-targeted therapeutic strategies, which have recently emerged, appear as promising therapeutic strategies allowing reversing lysosomal dysfunction.

Legend: Human dopaminergic cells were transfected with LAMP1-GFP to visualize the lysosome (green) before incubation with the nanoparticles PLGA acids containing a red fluorescent dye. Nuclei are stained with Hoechst (blue). Nanoparticles are imported into the cell 15 minutes after the exposure, and inwardly directed lysosome after 24 hours. Acidic nanoparticles appear as discrete points surrounded by LAMP1-GFP signal as observed with this deconvolution of confocal microscopy and image reconstruction in three dimensions associated.

References:

Bourdenx M, Dehay B. Autophagy and brain: specificities and dysfunctions. Med Sci (Paris), volume 33 n°3 (2017).
Bourdenx M, Dehay B. What lysosomes actually tell us about Parkinson’s disease? Ageing Res Rev. 2016 Mar3. pii:S1568-1637(16)30023-X.
Bourdenx M, Daniel J, Genin E, Soria FN, Blanchard-Desce M, Bezard E, Dehay B#. Nanoparticles restore lysosomal acidification defects: Implication for Parkinson’s and other lysosomal-related diseases. Autophagy. 2016 Mar 3;12(3):472-83.
Bourdenx, M., Bezard, E., Dehay, B. Lysosomes and α-synuclein form a dangerous duet leading to neuronal cell death. Front Neuroanat. 2014 Aug 14;8:83.
Bove, J. †, Martinez-Vicente, M. †, Dehay, B. †, Perier, C., Recasens, A., Bombrun, A., Antonsson, B., and Vila, M. Bax channel activity mediates lysosomal disruption linked to Parkinson’s disease. Autophagy. 2014 May;10(5):889-900. († co-first author)
Dehay, B., Martinez-Vicente, M., Caldwell, G., Caldwell, K., Yue, Z., Cookson, M., Klein, C., Vila, M., and Bezard, E. Lysosomal Impairment in Parkinson’s disease. Mov Disorder. 2013 Jun;28(6):725-32.
Dehay, B., Martinez-Vicente, M., Ramirez, A., Perier, C., Klein, C., Vila, M., and Bezard, E. Lysosomal dysfunction in Parkinson disease: ATP13A2 gets into the groove. Autophagy. 2012. Sep;8(9):1389-91.
Dehay, B., Ramirez, A., Martinez-Vicente, M., Perier, C., Canron, MH., Doudnikoff, E., Vital, A., Vila, M., Klein, C., and Bezard, E. Loss of P-type ATPase ATP13A2/PARK9 function induces general lysosomal deficiency and leads to Parkinson disease neurodegeneration. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2012 Jun 12;109 (24) :9611-6.
Vila, M., Bove, J., Dehay, B., Rodriguez-Muela, C., and Boya, P. Lysosomal membrane permeabilization in Parkinson’s Disease. Autophagy 2011 Jan;7(1):98-100.
Dehay, B., Bove, J., Rodriguez-Muela, C., Perier, C., Recasens, A., Boya, P., and Vila, M. Pathogenic lysosomal depletion in Parkinson’s Disease. J Neurosci. 2010 Sep 15; 30(37): 12535-44.

Laisser un commentaire

Une équipe d’autophagistes – Jan 2017 CFATG
Une équipe d’autophagistes – Jan 2017
HOME » Membres » Equipes » Une équipe d’autophagistes – Jan 2017

Physiopathologie des Syndromes Parkinsoniens

Institut des Maladies Neurodégénératives
Université de Bordeaux
CNRS UMR 5293 – Bât. Neurocampus
146 Rue Léo Saignat
33076 Bordeaux – France
Tél. : +33 557 571 540
Fax : +33 556 986 182

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web : http://www.imn-bordeaux.org/equipes/physiopathologie-des-syndromes-parkinsoniens/
Chef d’équipe : Erwan Bézard, DR1 INSERM, erwan.bezard@u-bordeaux.fr
Notre équipe de recherche a pour objectif de comprendre les mécanismes moléculaires et cellulaires responsables des symptômes moteurs et non-moteurs de la maladie de Parkinson et des syndromes parkinsoniens atypiques, ainsi que leur réponse perturbée à la L-Dopa. Notre but est d’identifier de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques grâce à des études physiopathologiques dans des modèles expérimentaux (allant de la culture cellulaire au primate non-humain) ainsi que chez l’homme.
Notre recherche se développe autour de différents axes :
◦ Mécanisme de mort cellulaire et syndromes parkinsoniens
◦ Modélisation de la dissémination de type prion des synucleinopathies et tauopathies dans le système
nerveux central et périphérique liée aux syndromes parkinsoniens et aux démences.
◦ Recherches sur l’autophagie ciblée comme traitement potentiel de la maladie de Parkinson.
◦ Etude des mécanismes clés contribuant à l’accumulation d’alpha-synucléine pour, à terme, permettre
de contrer la progression de la maladie de Parkinson et de l’atrophie multisystématisée.
◦ Amélioration des approches de transgénèse dans la modélisation des maladies neurodégénératives
◦ Etude du rôle de l’espace extracellulaire dans la communication neuronale
◦ Modulation de la biogenèse lysosomale chez des modèles expérimentaux de la maladie de Parkinson
et de dyskinésie induite par L-dopa

Investigateur principal autophagie: Benjamin Dehay, CR2 INSERM, benjamin.dehay@u-bordeaux.fr
Membres de l’équipe, 2017 :
AROTCARENA Marie-Laure (doctorante)
BEZARD Erwan (chercheur)
BOUE-GRABOT Eric (chercheur)
BOURDENX Mathieu (post-doctorant)
CANRON Marie-Hélène (assistante ingénieure)
CHANSEL Lucie (doctorante assistante HU)
DEHAY Benjamin (chercheur)
DOVERO Sandra (ingénieure d’étude)
DOUDNIKOFF Marie-Evelyne (assistante ingénieure)
ESTAGER Alain (adjoint technique)
FERNAGUT Pierre-Olivier (chercheur)
GUERIN Paul-Arnaud (doctorant)
JIMENEZ Clément (PU-PH)
LARGITTE Leslie-Ann (ingénieure d’étude)
MARTIN-NEGRIER Marie-Laure (PU-PH)
MARTINEZ Audrey (assistante ingénieure)
MASSE Karine (MCU)
MEISSNER Wassilios (PU-PH)
PAMPLIEGA Olatz (post-doctorante)
SORIA Federico (post-doctorant)
THIOLAT Marie-Laure (technicienne)
TISON François (PU-PH)
VITAL Anne (PU-PH)

Mots-clés: Maladies neurodégénératives, maladie de Parkinson, lysosome, thérapie, nanoparticules.

Thématique de recherche

Chez les individus atteints de la maladie de Parkinson, le mécanisme de mort des cellules nerveuses est caractérisé par une accumulation d’-synucléine défectueuse. Notre objectif est de comprendre les processus à l’origine de ce phénomène et de proposer des approches thérapeutiques adéquates. De nombreuses évidences indiquent que l’altération de la fonction autophagie-lysosomale peut contribuer à la pathogenèse de la maladie de Parkinson. En particulier, les déficiences au niveau de la fonction du lysosome pourraient potentiellement rendre compte non seulement du dysfonctionnement et de la mort des cellules neuronales, de la présence des corps de Lewy contenant de l’-synucléine, mais également de la libération de l’α-synucléine par les neurones. Notre objectif principal est de comprendre comment les protéines impliquées dans les maladies neurodégénératives provoquent des altérations des voies protéolytiques contribuant à la pathogenèse et, plus important encore, si l’augmentation fonctionnelle de la fonction et/ou de l’activité lysosomale peut conduire à l’élimination des protéines toxiques et arrêter le processus pathologique. Pour ce deuxième objectif, nous développons de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques neuroprotectrices de la maladie visant à rétablir une fonction lysosomale physiologique dans des modèles multidimensionnels et cliniquement pertinents pour les rongeurs et les primates non-humains. En plus des différents projets de recherche, nous commençons l’étude de l’interaction entre l’autophagie et la machinerie ciliaire dans le contexte des maladies neurodégénératives, avec un accent particulier sur la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Légende : Le dysfonctionnement lysosomal est un événement central dans l’étiologie de la maladie de Parkinson. De nombreux facteurs sont capables, indépendamment ou en combinaison, d’induire une altération lysosomale. Les conséquences de l’altération lysosomale sont nombreuses, y compris l’altération de la protéostasie, la dérégulation de l’homéostasie des ions, une perturbation de l’homéostasie énergétique ou un dysfonctionnement mitochondrial. Toutes ces conséquences délétères de l’altération lysosomale sont impliquées dans la mort de cellules dopaminergiques conduisant à la maladie de Parkinson. L’atteinte lysosomale apparaît comme un mécanisme délétère auto-amplifiant conduisant à une dysfonction lysosomale plus profonde. Les stratégies thérapeutiques lysosomales, qui ont récemment émergé, apparaissent comme des stratégies thérapeutiques prometteuses permettant d’inverser le dysfonctionnement lysosomal.

Légende : Des cellules dopaminergiques humaines ont été transfectées avec une construction génique capable d’exprimer la protéine fluorescente LAMP1-GFP qui permet de visualiser le lysosome (vert) avant incubation avec les nanoparticules acides PLGA contenant un colorant fluorescent rouge. Les noyaux sont colorés au Hoechst (bleu). Les nanoparticules sont importées dans la cellule 15 minutes après l’exposition, et dirigées vers l’intérieur du lysosome au bout de 24 heures. Les nanoparticules acides apparaissent comme des points discrets entourés par le signal LAMP1-GFP comme observé avec cette déconvolution d’une image de microscopie confocale et sa reconstruction en trois dimensions associée.

Publications de références

Bourdenx M, Dehay B. Autophagy and brain: specificities and dysfunctions. Med Sci (Paris), volume 33 n°3 (2017).
Bourdenx M, Dehay B. What lysosomes actually tell us about Parkinson’s disease? Ageing Res Rev. 2016 Mar3. pii:S1568-1637(16)30023-X.
Bourdenx M, Daniel J, Genin E, Soria FN, Blanchard-Desce M, Bezard E, Dehay B#. Nanoparticles restore lysosomal acidification defects: Implication for Parkinson’s and other lysosomal-related diseases. Autophagy. 2016 Mar 3;12(3):472-83.
Bourdenx, M., Bezard, E., Dehay, B. Lysosomes and α-synuclein form a dangerous duet leading to neuronal cell death. Front Neuroanat. 2014 Aug 14;8:83.
Bove, J. †, Martinez-Vicente, M. †, Dehay, B. †, Perier, C., Recasens, A., Bombrun, A., Antonsson, B., and Vila, M. Bax channel activity mediates lysosomal disruption linked to Parkinson’s disease. Autophagy. 2014 May;10(5):889-900. († co-first author)
Dehay, B., Martinez-Vicente, M., Caldwell, G., Caldwell, K., Yue, Z., Cookson, M., Klein, C., Vila, M., and Bezard, E. Lysosomal Impairment in Parkinson’s disease. Mov Disorder. 2013 Jun;28(6):725-32.
Dehay, B., Martinez-Vicente, M., Ramirez, A., Perier, C., Klein, C., Vila, M., and Bezard, E. Lysosomal dysfunction in Parkinson disease: ATP13A2 gets into the groove. Autophagy. 2012. Sep;8(9):1389-91.
Dehay, B., Ramirez, A., Martinez-Vicente, M., Perier, C., Canron, MH., Doudnikoff, E., Vital, A., Vila, M., Klein, C., and Bezard, E. Loss of P-type ATPase ATP13A2/PARK9 function induces general lysosomal deficiency and leads to Parkinson disease neurodegeneration. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2012 Jun 12;109 (24) :9611-6.
Vila, M., Bove, J., Dehay, B., Rodriguez-Muela, C., and Boya, P. Lysosomal membrane permeabilization in Parkinson’s Disease. Autophagy 2011 Jan;7(1):98-100.
Dehay, B., Bove, J., Rodriguez-Muela, C., Perier, C., Recasens, A., Boya, P., and Vila, M. Pathogenic lysosomal depletion in Parkinson’s Disease. J Neurosci. 2010 Sep 15; 30(37): 12535-44.

Laisser un commentaire