An autophagic team – Jan 2018 CFATG
An autophagic team – Jan 2018
HOME » Members » Equipes » An autophagic team – Jan 2018

Herpesviruses and Autophagy

Address: I2BC Institute for Integrative Biology of the cell. Department of Virology. Gif sur Yvette.
Faculté de Pharmacie 5 rue J B Clément 92290 Châtenay-Malabry Tel 33 (0)1 46 83 52 92

Presentation of the team

Website : http://www.i2bc.paris-saclay.fr/
Team leader : Audrey Esclatine, Professor of Virology, Univ Paris-Sud
Team members, 2018 :
Audrey Esclatine, Professor of Virology, Univ Paris-Sud
Marion Lussignol, Associated Professor, Univ Paris-Sud
Eva Hernandez-Djebali, Engineer, Univ Paris-Sud
Clémence Taisne, PhD student, Univ Paris-Sud
Damien Glon, Master 2 student, Univ Paris-Sud


The team Herpesviruses and Autophagy, December 2017 : from left to right, Marion Lussignol, Damien Glon, Clémence Taisne, Audrey Esclatine and Eva Hernandez-Djebali

Keywords : Herpesvirus, cytomegalovirus (CMV), virus Herpes Simplex 1 (HSV-1), virus Epstein-Barr (EBV), antiviral immune escape, assembly compartment, autophagy, Beclin1, selective autophagy, LC3

Research Topics

Our team, historically located in the Faculty of Pharmacy of Univ Paris-Sud, has been interested for many years now in viruses belonging to the Herpesviridae family that infect humans. During these last years, we have worked on Herpes Simplex virus type 1 (HSV-1), human cytomegalovirus (HCMV) and Epstein-Barr virus (EBV). These viruses are known for their ability to largely modulate and counteract antiviral cellular mechanisms, in particular because of the important size of their genome (for viruses, of course!) and their high coding capacity. We have thus studied relationships existing between viral infection and regulation of the autophagic process in different contexts.

Viral proteins specialized in autophagy modulation

In our laboratory, we have identified several autophagy-modulating proteins from different Herpesviruses and we have characterized their mechanisms of action. Us11, a protein expressed by HSV-1, is able to block autophagosome formation, both in the course of infection and when ectopically expressed. Us11 acts by preventing the kinase activity of PKR, which can detect double stranded RNA coming from viruses leading to inhibition of protein synthesis and stimulation of autophagy (5). Us11 thus complements the defense arsenal of HSV-1 against autophagy, since another protein, ICP34.5, had been initially identified by Beth Levine’s laboratory in 2002. Us11 acts later than ICP34.5 in the productive growth cycle of HSV-1. We have also demonstrated that HCMV prevents autophagy thanks to at least two inhibitory proteins (3, 6, 7). The two highly homologous proteins TRS1 and IRS1, block the whole autophagic process by different mechanisms. Indeed, when expressed separately, they are able to decrease autophagosome formation by interaction with the coiled coil domain of Beclin1. When expressed simultaneously, they are also able to block the autophagic degradation, leading to an accumulation of LC3 (3). More recently, we have been able to demonstrate, in collaboration with Vincent Maréchal (CIMI, Hôpital Pitié Salpêtrière, Paris), that an EBV protein (BHRF1) interacts with Beclin 1 and can stimulate autophagosome formation.


We have identified in the laboratory several viral proteins modulating autophagy and their mechanisms of action.

Why should viruses modulate autophagy?

Numerous viruses, including several Herpesviruses, are able to modulate autophagy for different reasons (1, 2). Some viruses can block autophagy which sometimes acts as an antiviral defense mechanism established by the cell. But, viruses can also modulate autophagy in order to hijack all or parts of the autophagic process to optimize their productive growth cycle or to mitigate the impact of antiviral immunity.
We have demonstrated in collaboration with the Italian laboratory of Pr Maria-Teresa Sciortino that autophagy can be hijacked by HSV-1 to its own profit (4). Indeed, infection of monocytic cells by HSV-1 leads to a transient activation of autophagy at the early steps of infection in order to improve its entry by endocytosis in the cells. HCMV, although inhibiting the autophagic process, also hijacks parts of the autophagic machinery to improve its production in human fibroblasts. (3). Indeed, invalidation of different autophagic genes leads to a global decrease of the viral production, demonstrating the proviral effect of autophagy on HCMV. EBV also takes advantage of autophagy activation mediated by the BHRF1 protein to limit the cell-autonomous antiviral immune response, by modifying mitochondria morphology and fate.
These studies were funded by ANR and by Région Ile de France.

References

1. M. Lussignol et A. Esclatine (2017) Herpesvirus and Autophagy: “All Right, Everybody Be Cool, This Is a Robbery!, Viruses, vol. 9, nᵒ 12, déc. 2017.
2. I. Vergne, F. Lafont, L. Espert, A. Esclatine, et M. Biard-Piechaczyk (2017) Autophagie, protéines ATG et maladies infectieuses, médecine/sciences, vol. 33, nᵒ 3, p. 312-318
3. L. Mouna, E. Hernandez, D. Bonte, R. Brost, L. Amazit, L. R. Delgui, W. Brune, A. P. Geballe, I. Beau, et A. Esclatine (2016), « Analysis of the role of autophagy inhibition by two complementary human cytomegalovirus BECN1/Beclin 1-binding proteins, Autophagy, vol. 12, nᵒ 2, p. 327-342
4. G. Siracusano, A. Venuti, D. Lombardo, A. Mastino, A. Esclatine, et M. T. Sciortino, (2016) Early activation of MyD88-mediated autophagy sustains HSV-1 replication in human monocytic THP-1 cells, Scientific Reports, vol. 6, p. 31302
5. Lussignol M, Queval C, Bernet-Camard MF, Cotte-Laffitte J, Beau I, Codogno P, Esclatine A (2013) The Herpes Simplex Virus 1 Us11 Protein Inhibits Autophagy through Its Interaction with the Protein Kinase PKR. J Virol 87 : 859-871
6. Chaumorcel M, Lussignol M, Mouna L, Cavignac Y, Fahie K, Cotte-Laffitte J, Geballe A, Brune W, Beau I, Codogno P, Esclatine A (2012) The human cytomegalovirus protein TRS1 inhibits autophagy via its interaction with Beclin 1. J Virol 86 : 2571-2584
7. Chaumorcel M, Souquère S, Pierron G, Codogno P, Esclatine A. (2008) Human cytomegalovirus controls a new autophagy-dependent cellular antiviral defense mechanism. Autophagy 4(1):46-53

Laisser un commentaire

Une équipe d’autophagistes – Jan 2018 CFATG
Une équipe d’autophagistes – Jan 2018
HOME » Membres » Equipes » Une équipe d’autophagistes – Jan 2018

Herpesvirus et Autophagie

I2BC Institut de Biologie Intégrative de la Cellule. Département de Virologie. Gif sur Yvette.
Faculté de Pharmacie 5 rue J B Clément 92290 Châtenay-Malabry Tel 33 (0)1 46 83 52 92

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web : http://www.i2bc.paris-saclay.fr/
Chef d’équipe : Audrey Esclatine, Professeur de Virologie, Univ Paris-Sud
Membres de l’équipe, 2018 :
Audrey Esclatine, Professeur de Virologie, Univ Paris-Sud
Marion Lussignol, Maître de Conférences, Univ Paris-Sud
Eva Hernandez-Djebali, Ingénieure d’étude, Univ Paris-Sud
Clémence Taisne, Doctorante, Univ Paris-Sud
Damien Glon, Etudiant en Master 2, Univ Paris-Sud


L’équipe Herpesvirus et Autophagie Décembre 2017 : de gauche à droite, Marion Lussignol, Damien Glon, Clémence Taisne, Audrey Esclatine et Eva Hernandez-Djebali

Mots-clés: Herpesvirus, cytomégalovirus, virus Herpès Simplex 1, virus Epstein-Barr, échappement à l’immunité antivirale, compartiment d’assemblage, autophagie, Beclin1, autophagie sélective, LC3

Thématiques de recherche

Notre équipe, historiquement implantée dans la Faculté de Pharmacie de l’Université Paris-Sud, s’intéresse depuis de nombreuses années aux virus de la famille des Herpès capables d’infecter l’homme. Au cours de ces dernières années, nous avons travaillé sur le virus Herpès Simplex de type 1 (HSV-1), le cytomégalovirus (HCMV) et le virus Epstein-Barr (EBV). Ces virus sont réputés pour très largement moduler et contrecarrer les mécanismes cellulaires antiviraux, notamment en raison d’un génome de taille importante (pour des virus !) et une capacité de codage élevée. Nous avons ainsi étudié les relations qui existent entre infection virale et régulation du processus autophagique dans différents contextes.
Des protéines virales spécialisées dans la modulation de l’autophagie

Nous avons identifié au laboratoire des protéines de différents Herpesvirus capables de moduler l’autophagie au cours de la multiplication virale et nous avons caractérisé leurs mécanismes d’action. La protéine Us11 est une protéine d’HSV-1 qui est capable de bloquer la formation des autophagosomes aussi bien au cours d’une infection que lorsqu’elle est exprimée seule. Elle agit en inhibant une kinase qui permet de détecter l’ARN double brin d’origine virale (PKR) et dont l’activation entraine l’arrêt de la synthèse des protéines et la stimulation de l’autophagie (5). Us11 vient ainsi compléter l’arsenal de défense d’HSV-1 contre l’autophagie, puisque une première protéine nommée ICP34.5 avait été initialement identifiée par le laboratoire de Beth Levine en 2002. Us11 agit plus tardivement qu’ICP34.5 dans le cycle de multiplication du virus HSV-1. Nous avons montré que le HCMV inhibe lui aussi l’autophagie grâce à au moins deux protéines inhibitrices (3, 6, 7). Les protéines homologues TRS1 et IRS1 bloquent de plusieurs manières le processus autophagique dans sa totalité. Ces protéines sont capables de diminuer la formation des autophagosomes, lorsqu’elles sont exprimées seules en se liant au domaine en superhélice CCD de Beclin1. Lorsqu’elles sont exprimées simultanément, elles bloquent également la dégradation par autophagie, conduisant à une accumulation de la protéine LC3 (3). Plus récemment, nous avons pu montrer en collaboration avec Vincent Maréchal (CIMI, Hôpital Pitié Salpêtrière, Paris) qu’une protéine de l’EBV (BHRF1) en interagissant avec Beclin1 est à l’inverse capable de stimuler la formation des autophagosomes.


Des protéines virales modulatrices de l’autophagie identifiées au laboratoire et leurs mécanismes d’action

Pourquoi les virus modulent l’autophagie ?

De nombreux virus, parmi lesquels plusieurs Herpesvirus, sont capables de moduler l’autophagie pour différentes raisons (1, 2). Il peut s’agir pour le virus de bloquer l’autophagie qui agit alors comme un mécanisme de défense antivirale mis en place par la cellule. Mais cela peut aussi être un moyen pour le virus de détourner tout ou partie du processus autophagique, afin d’optimiser son cycle de multiplication ou de manipuler l’immunité antivirale pour en diminuer l’impact.
Nous avons pu montrer en collaboration avec le laboratoire sicilien de Maria-Teresa Sciortino que l’autophagie pouvait être détournée par HSV-1 à son profit (4). En effet, le virus entraine une activation transitoire de l’autophagie tout au début de l’infection pour améliorer son entrée par endocytose dans les monocytes. Le HCMV, bien que bloquant le processus autophagique, détourne lui aussi une partie de la machinerie autophagique pour améliorer sa production dans les fibroblastes (3). L’invalidation de différents gènes de l’autophagie entraine en effet une diminution globale de la production virale, démontrant un effet proviral de l’autophagie. L’activation de l’autophagie par la protéine virale BHRF1 est aussi mise à profit par l’EBV pour limiter la réponse immunitaire antivirale de la cellule, en jouant notamment sur la morphologie et le devenir des mitochondries.

L’ensemble de ces travaux a été soutenu financièrement par l’ANR et par la Région Ile de France.

Publications de références

1. M. Lussignol et A. Esclatine (2017) Herpesvirus and Autophagy: « All Right, Everybody Be Cool, This Is a Robbery!, Viruses, vol. 9, nᵒ 12, déc. 2017.
2. I. Vergne, F. Lafont, L. Espert, A. Esclatine, et M. Biard-Piechaczyk (2017) Autophagie, protéines ATG et maladies infectieuses, médecine/sciences, vol. 33, nᵒ 3, p. 312-318
3. L. Mouna, E. Hernandez, D. Bonte, R. Brost, L. Amazit, L. R. Delgui, W. Brune, A. P. Geballe, I. Beau, et A. Esclatine (2016), « Analysis of the role of autophagy inhibition by two complementary human cytomegalovirus BECN1/Beclin 1-binding proteins, Autophagy, vol. 12, nᵒ 2, p. 327-342
4. G. Siracusano, A. Venuti, D. Lombardo, A. Mastino, A. Esclatine, et M. T. Sciortino, (2016) Early activation of MyD88-mediated autophagy sustains HSV-1 replication in human monocytic THP-1 cells, Scientific Reports, vol. 6, p. 31302
5. Lussignol M, Queval C, Bernet-Camard MF, Cotte-Laffitte J, Beau I, Codogno P, Esclatine A (2013) The Herpes Simplex Virus 1 Us11 Protein Inhibits Autophagy through Its Interaction with the Protein Kinase PKR. J Virol 87 : 859-871
6. Chaumorcel M, Lussignol M, Mouna L, Cavignac Y, Fahie K, Cotte-Laffitte J, Geballe A, Brune W, Beau I, Codogno P, Esclatine A (2012) The human cytomegalovirus protein TRS1 inhibits autophagy via its interaction with Beclin 1. J Virol 86 : 2571-2584
7. Chaumorcel M, Souquère S, Pierron G, Codogno P, Esclatine A. (2008) Human cytomegalovirus controls a new autophagy-dependent cellular antiviral defense mechanism. Autophagy 4(1):46-53

Laisser un commentaire