An autophagic team – July 2014 CFATG
An autophagic team – July 2014
HOME » Members » Equipes » An autophagic team – July 2014

Intracellular traffic, macromolecular complexes and cancer

Institut de Cancérologie Gustave Roussy
CNRS UMR 8126
114, rue Edouard Vaillant
94805 Villejuif
Tel. office: +33(0)1 42 11 48 53
Tel. lab: +33(0)1 42 11 49 20
Fax: +33(0)1 42 11 54 94
e-mail: svetlana.dokudovskaya@igr.fr

Presentation of the team:

Web site : http://www.gustaveroussy.fr/fr/page/-trafic-membranaire-complexes-
macromoleculaire-et-cancer_3789

Team Leader:

Svetlana Dokudovskaya, CR1 CNRS, svetlana.dokudovskaya@igr.fr

Team Members:

Claire Martel-Jantin, post-doctoral fellow
Yinxing Ma, PhD student, Université Paris-XI

team-july2014
From left to right : Claire Martel-Jantin, Svetlana Dokudovskaya, Yinxing Ma

Key words : TORC1, SEA complex, autophagy

Research Topic:

The highly conserved Target of Rapamycin Complex 1 (TORC1) controls eukaryotic cell growth and response to a variety of signals, including nutrients, hormones and stresses. In rich nutrient environment TORC1 promotes anabolic processes, including ribosome biogenesis and translation. Nutrient limitation or treatment with rapamycin inhibits the Tor1 kinase and initiates autophagy – a catabolic process that mediates degradation and recycling of cytoplasmic components. The nutrient sensing function of TORC1 is not fully understood and the mechanisms of TORC1 modulation by amino acid and nitrogen availability are not yet clear.

Recently our team in collaboration with other laboratories discovered and characterized multiprotein SEA complex in yeast S.cerevisiae. The SEA acts upstream of the TORC1 and is implicated in the regulation of both general and specific forms of autophagy. The Sea proteins contain structural elements present in intracellular structural trafficking complexes. We uncover an entirely new set of key TORC1 functions, which are under the control of the SEA complex such as TORC1 localization and vacuole fragmentation. Due to its structural and functional characteristics the SEA complex emerges as a platform that can coordinate both structural and enzymatic activities necessary for the effective functioning of the TORC1.

The SEA complex is conserved from yeast to human and its function in the regulation of the TORC1 pathway is also preserved. Interestingly, several SEA components in human have been characterized as tumor suppressors and also involved in the cellular response to anticancer drug treatments.

Our team is currently working on the SEA complex both in the yeast and human non-tumor and oncogenic cell lines. Our goal is to study the molecular basis of the SEA function in the regulation of the TORC1 pathway, autophagy and cancer.

Fig-teamJuly2014
An overview of the yeast SEA complex activities and interactions. The SEA complex is composed of two subcomplexes – SEACAT (activates TORC1) and SEACIT (inhibits TORC1). The SEA complex is situated at the vacuole membrane and interacts with V-ATPase, mitochondrion, TORC1 (straight blue arrows). SEA complex possess GAP activity (curved blue arrow) towards another TORC1 regulator – EGO complex. Both SEA and EGO act upstream of the TORC1 (curved red arrows). Deletions of the SEACIT members activate TORC1 and inhibit autophagy.

Main Publications:

• Algret R., Fernandez-Martinez J., Shi Y., Kim S.J., Pellarin R., Cimermancic, Cochet E., Sali A., Chait B.T, Rout M.P and Dokudovskaya S. Molecular Architecture and Function of the SEA Complex – a Modulator of the TORC1 Pathway. Mol. Cell. Proteomics. Submitted.
• Algret R. and Dokudovskaya S. The SEA complex – the beginning. Biopolymers and Cell (2012). Vol.28., N4. p.281-284.
• Dokudovskaya S, Rout MP. A novel coatomer−related SEA complex dynamically associates with the vacuole in yeast and is implicated in the response to nitrogen starvation. Autophagy. 2011 Nov 1;7(11):1392−3. Epub 2011 Nov 1.
• Dokudovskaya S, Waharte F, Schlessinger A, Pieper U, Devos DP, Cristea IM, Williams R, Salamero J, Chait BT, Sali A, Field MC, Rout MP, Dargemont C., (2011). A conserved coatomer−related complex containing Sec13 and Seh1 dynamically associates with the vacuole in Saccharomyces cerevisiae. Mol. Cell. Proteomics. 2011 Jun;10(6):M110.006478. Epub 2011 Mar 31.
• Alber F.*, Dokudovskaya S.*, Veenhoff L.*, Zhang W., Kipper J., Devos D., Suprapto A., Karni-Shmidt O., Williams R., Chait B.T., Sali A., Rout M.P. The molecular architecture of the nuclear pore complex. * – equal contribution. Nature, 2007, 450, 695-701
• Alber F., Dokudovskaya S.*, Veenhoff L.*, Zhang W., Kipper J., Devos D., Suprapto A., Karni-Shmidt O., Williams R., Chait B.T., Rout M.P., Sali A. Determining the architectures of macromolecular assemblies. * – equal contribution. Nature, 2007, 450, 683-694

Laisser un commentaire

Trafic membranaire, complexes macromoléculaires et cancer, Villejuif – Juillet 2014 CFATG
Trafic membranaire, complexes macromoléculaires et cancer, Villejuif – Juillet 2014
HOME » Membres » Equipes » Trafic membranaire, complexes macromoléculaires et cancer, Villejuif – Juillet 2014

Trafic membranaire, complexes macromoléculaires et cancer

Institut de Cancérologie Gustave Roussy
CNRS UMR 8126
114, rue Edouard Vaillant
94805 Villejuif
Tel. office: +33(0)1 42 11 48 53
Tel. lab: +33(0)1 42 11 49 20
Fax: +33(0)1 42 11 54 94
e-mail: svetlana.dokudovskaya@igr.fr

Présentation de l’équipe:

Site web : http://www.gustaveroussy.fr/fr/page/-trafic-membranaire-complexes-
macromoleculaire-et-cancer_3789

Chef d’équipe:

Svetlana Dokudovskaya, CR1 CNRS, svetlana.dokudovskaya@igr.fr

Membres de l’équipe 2014:

Claire Martel-Jantin, post-doctorante
Yinxing Ma, doctorante, Université Paris-XI

team-july2014
De gauche à droite : Claire Martel-Jantin, Svetlana Dokudovskaya, Yinxing Ma

Mots-clés : TORC1, autophagie, complexe SEA

Thématique de l’équipe:

Le complexe hautement conservé « Target of rapamycin complex 1 » (TORC1) contrôle la croissance cellulaire ainsi que la réponse à une variété de signaux, incluant les nutriments, les hormones et les stress. Dans un environnement riche en nutriments, TORC1 promeut les processus anaboliques, incluant la biogenèse des ribosomes et la traduction. La limitation en nutriment ou le traitement par la rapamycine inhibe la kinase Tor1 et initie l’autophagie – un processus catabolique qui médie la dégradation et le recyclage des composants cytoplasmiques. La capacité de TORC1 à sentir les nutriments n’est pas encore totalement comprise. Les mécanismes de la modulation de TORC1 par les acides aminés et la disponibilité en azote ne sont pas encore définis.

Récemment notre équipe en collaboration avec d’autres laboratoires a pu découvrir et caractériser un complexe multiprotéique nommé SEA dans la levure S.cerevisiae. Le complexe SEA agit en amont de TORC1 et se trouve impliqué dans la régulation des formes générale et spécifique de l’autophagie. Les protéines du complexe SEA présentent les mêmes éléments structuraux que celles des complexes du trafic intracellulaire. Nous mettons en évidence l’existence de nouvelles fonctions de TORC1 qui seraient sous le contrôle du complexe SEA : la localisation de TORC1 et la fragmentation vacuolaire. Par ces caractéristiques structurales et fonctionnelles, le complexe SEA peut être considéré comme une plateforme capable de coordonner à la fois des activités enzymatiques et structuraux nécessaires pour les fonctions effectives de TORC1. Les composants du complexe SEA chez l’Homme ont été caractérisés comme des suppresseurs de tumeur et aussi comme des effecteurs dans la réponse cellulaire suite aux traitements anticancéreux.

Notre équipe conduit actuellement ses recherches sur le complexe SEA dans le modèle levure et dans différentes lignées cellulaire tumorales et non tumorales. Notre objectif est d’étudier les bases moléculaires du complexe SEA dans la régulation de la voie TORC1, dans l’autophagie et dans le cancer.

Fig-teamJuly2014
Résumé des interactions et activités du complexe SEA. Le complexe SEA est composé de deux sous-complexes : SEACAT (activateur de TORC1) et SEACIT (inhibiteur de TORC1). Le complexe SEA est localisé au niveau de la membrane vacuolaire et est capable d’interagir avec V-ATPase, les mitochondries et TORC1 (flèches droites en bleu). De plus, le complexe SEA possède une activité GAP (flèches courbées en bleu) pour un autre régulateur de TORC1 : le complexe EGO. Les complexes SEA et EGO agissent en amont de TORC1 (flèches courbées en rouge). Délétions des membres du sous-complexe SEACIT conduit à l’activation de TORC1 et à l’inhibition de l’autophagie.

Publications de référence:

• Algret R., Fernandez-Martinez J., Shi Y., Kim S.J., Pellarin R., Cimermancic, Cochet E., Sali A., Chait B.T, Rout M.P and Dokudovskaya S. Molecular Architecture and Function of the SEA Complex – a Modulator of the TORC1 Pathway. Mol. Cell. Proteomics. Submitted.
• Algret R. and Dokudovskaya S. The SEA complex – the beginning. Biopolymers and Cell (2012). Vol.28., N4. p.281-284.
• Dokudovskaya S, Rout MP. A novel coatomer−related SEA complex dynamically associates with the vacuole in yeast and is implicated in the response to nitrogen starvation. Autophagy. 2011 Nov 1;7(11):1392−3. Epub 2011 Nov 1.
• Dokudovskaya S, Waharte F, Schlessinger A, Pieper U, Devos DP, Cristea IM, Williams R, Salamero J, Chait BT, Sali A, Field MC, Rout MP, Dargemont C., (2011). A conserved coatomer−related complex containing Sec13 and Seh1 dynamically associates with the vacuole in Saccharomyces cerevisiae. Mol. Cell. Proteomics. 2011 Jun;10(6):M110.006478. Epub 2011 Mar 31.
• Alber F.*, Dokudovskaya S.*, Veenhoff L.*, Zhang W., Kipper J., Devos D., Suprapto A., Karni-Shmidt O., Williams R., Chait B.T., Sali A., Rout M.P. The molecular architecture of the nuclear pore complex. * – equal contribution. Nature, 2007, 450, 695-701
• Alber F., Dokudovskaya S.*, Veenhoff L.*, Zhang W., Kipper J., Devos D., Suprapto A., Karni-Shmidt O., Williams R., Chait B.T., Rout M.P., Sali A. Determining the architectures of macromolecular assemblies. * – equal contribution. Nature, 2007, 450, 683-694

Laisser un commentaire