Drug Resistance and New Treatments, Montpellier – May 2016 CFATG
Drug Resistance and New Treatments, Montpellier – May 2016
HOME » Members » Equipes » Drug Resistance and New Treatments, Montpellier – May 2016

Team: Drug Resistance and New Treatments

Institut de Recherche en Cancérologie de Montpellier (U1194)
Campus Val d’Aurelle
34298 Montpellier cedex 5 FRANCE
Tel : 33.(0)4.67.61.85.77, Fax : 33.(0)4.67.61.37.87

Presentation of the team

Web site : http://www.ircm.fr/document.php?pagendx=391

Team leader: Céline Gongora, DR2 CNRS, celine.gongora@inserm.fr

Our team is composed of approximately 20 people including academic researchers and clinicians. Our project is centered on the mechanisms of action of chemotherapy and on the resistance to cancer treatments. We develop both research programs in vitro and in animal models, as well as integrated translational research in close cooperation with clinicians. We conduct a fundamental and cross-cutting research that should quickly benefit to the patient and one of our objectives is to study the role of autophagy in colon cancer and prostate cancer.

Principal Investigator :
Sophie Pattingre, CR1 INSERM, sophie.pattingre@inserm.fr

Autophagy Team members, 2016 :
Leïla El Kebriti, PhD student, first year
Céline Gongora, Group leader, DR2 CNRS
Nadine Houédé, PUPH, Chief of oncology department, CHU of Nîmes
Stéphane Obled, Gastroenterologist, Oncology department, CHU of Nîmes
Sophie Pattingre, CR1 INSERM
Esther Perez-Gracia, AI ICM (Institute of Cancer in Montpellier, France)

Pattingre team

Keywords:
Acetylation, cancer, signaling, resistance, metastasis

Research Topic

1- Regulation of autophagy by post-translational modifications (S. Pattingre)

In addition to their expression, the activity of ATG proteins, governed by specific post-translational modification, is important for autophagy induction. To this end, we have been interested to several posttranslational modifications such as the BECLIN1/BCL-2 interaction (Pattingre et al, Cell 2005), the regulation of autophagy by MAPKinases (Paillas et al, Autophagy, 2011), and more recently the regulation of ATG protein by acetylation (Sebti et al, PNAS 2014, Sebti et al, Autophagy, 2014). Indeed, we identified the protein BAT3 (also called BAG6) as a major regulator of autophagy through its ability to modulate the intracellular localization of the acetyltransferase EP300 (Figure 1).

PattingreFigEnglish2

Indeed, it is established that the acetylation of ATG5, ATG7, ATG12, LC3 and BECLIN 1 by the acetyltransferase EP300 inhibits autophagy. On the contrary, we demonstrated that P53 acetylation in the nucleus is essential for autophagy. When autophagy is induced by nutrient starvation, BAT3 allows the delocalization of EP300 from the cytoplasm to the nucleus to target P53 thus limiting ATGs protein acetylation in the cytoplasm. In the absence of BAT3 or if BAT3 is mutated on its NLS domain (cytoplasmic localization), EP300 accumulates in the cytoplasm leading to the hyperacetylation of ATGs proteins and constitutive inhibition of autophagy (Sebti et al, PNAS 2014, Sebti et al, Autophagy, 2014).

2- Deregulation of autophagy in colon and prostatic cancer (S. Pattingre, Pr. N. Houédé et Dr. S. Obled)

In colon cancer, in tissue culture and more particularly by studying human tumors, we observed a deregulation in (i) BAT3 intracellular localization, (ii) autophagy (iii) ATGs protein acetylation. The role of BAT3 dependent autophagy in colon and prostatic tumor progression in currently under investigation thanks to a close collaboration with the oncology department of Nimes.

3- Role of autophagy in drug resistance (S. Pattingre et C. Gongora)

The role of BAT3 dependent autophagy in drug resistance in cancer is under investigation thanks to a close collaboration with the oncology department of Nimes (Pr. N. Houédé et Dr. S. Obled). In addition, we recently highlighted the role of P38MAPK in the induction of autophagy during inirinotecan resistance in colon cancer. Our current objective is to identify targets whom phosphorylation by P38MAPK induces autophagy.

References:

Sebti S, Prébois C, Pérez-Gracia E, Bauvy C, Desmots F, Pirot N, Gongora C, Bach AS, Hubberstey AV, Palissot V, Berchem G, Codogno P, Linares LK, Liaudet-Coopman E, Pattingre S. BAT3 modulates p300-dependent acetylation of p53 and ATG7 during autophagy. 2014. PNAS, 111 :4115-20.

Sebti S, Prébois C, Pérez-Gracia E, Bauvy C, Desmots F, Pirot N, Gongora C, Bach AS, Hubberstey AV, Palissot V, Berchem G, Codogno P, Linares LK, Liaudet-Coopman E, Pattingre S. BAG6/BAT3 modulates autophagy by affecting EP300/p300 intracellular localization. 2014. Autophagy. (7):1341-2.

Paillas S, Causse A, Marzi L, de Medina P, Poirot M, Denis V, Vezzio-Vie N, Espert L, Arzouk H, Coquelle A, Martineau P, Del Rio M, Pattingre S, Gongora C. MAPK14/p38α confers irinotecan resistance to TP53-defective cells by inducing survival autophagy. Autophagy (2012) 1;8.

Pattingre S, Bauvy C, Carpentier S, Levade T, Levine B, Codogno P. Role of JNK1-dependent Bcl-2 phosphorylation in ceramide-induced macroautophagy. (2009). J Biol Chem. 284:2719-28.

Y. Wei, S. Pattingre, S. Sinha, M. Bassik, and B. Levine. JNK1-Mediated Phosphorylation of Bcl-2 Regulates Starvation-Induced Autophagy. (2008). Molecular Cell. 20:678-688.

Pattingre S., Tassa A., Qu X., Liang H.L., Mishuchima N., Schneider M.D., Parker M. and Levine B. (2005). Bcl-2 antiapoptotic proteins inhibit Beclin 1-dependent autophagy. Cell. 122: 927-939.

Laisser un commentaire

Résistance aux traitements et thérapies innovantes, Montpellier – Mai 2016 CFATG
Résistance aux traitements et thérapies innovantes, Montpellier – Mai 2016
HOME » Membres » Equipes » Résistance aux traitements et thérapies innovantes, Montpellier – Mai 2016

Equipe: Résistance aux traitements et thérapies innovantes

Institut de Recherche en Cancérologie de Montpellier (U1194)
Campus Val d’Aurelle
34298 Montpellier cedex 5 FRANCE
Tel : 33.(0)4.67.61.85.77, Fax : 33.(0)4.67.61.37.87

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web : http://www.ircm.fr/document.php?pagendx=391

Chef d’équipe: Céline Gongora, DR2 CNRS, celine.gongora@inserm.fr

Notre équipe est composée d’environ 20 personnes incluant des chercheurs académiques et des cliniciens. Notre projet se focalise sur l’étude des mécanismes d’action des traitements anticancéreux et la chimiorésistance. Pour cela, nous développons des modèles cellulaires et des modèles animaux, ainsi que des programme de recherche translationnelle intégrée en étroite coopération avec les cliniciens. Afin d’améliorer la compréhension des mécanismes impliqués dans la progression tumorale et la résistance aux traitements dans le cancer colorectal et dans le cancer de la prostate, nous effectuons une recherche fondamentale et transversale qui doit bénéficier rapidement au malade. L’un des axes de recherche de notre équipe consiste à étudier le rôle de l’autophagie dans le cancer colique et le cancer de la prostate.

Investigateur Principal :
Sophie Pattingre, CR1 INSERM, sophie.pattingre@inserm.fr

Membres de l’équipe autophagie, 2016 :
Leïla El Kebriti, Etudiante en thèse, 1ère année
Céline Gongora, Chef d’équipe, DR2 CNRS
Nadine Houédé, PUPH, Chef du service d’oncologie, CHU de Nîmes
Stéphane Obled, Gastroentérologue, Service d’oncologie, CHU de Nîmes
Sophie Pattingre, CR1 INSERM
Esther Perez-Gracia, AI ICM (Institut Montpellierain du cancer, Montpellier)

PattingreEquipe

Mots-clés:
Acétylation, cancer, signalisation, résistance, métastase

Thématique de recherche

1- Régulation de l’autophagie par les modifications post-traductionnelles (S. Pattingre)

Outre leur expression, l’activité des protéines ATGs est dépendante de modifications post-traductionnelles incluant entre autres, la phosphorylation, des modifications de leur interactome, des clivages ou encore leur acétylation. C’est à ce titre, que nous nous sommes intéressés à diverses modifications post-traductionnelles susceptibles d’affecter leur activité comme l’interaction BECLIN 1/Bcl-2 (Pattingre et al, Cell 2005), la régulation de l’autophagie par les MAPK (Paillas et al, Autophagy, 2011), et plus récemment la régulation des protéines ATGs par leur acétylation (Sebti et al, PNAS 2014, Sebti et al, Autophagy, 2014). Nous avons récemment identifié la protéine BAT3 (nommée également BAG6) comme un important régulateur de l’autophagie par sa capacité à réguler la localisation intracellulaire de l’acétyltransférase EP300 (Figure 1).

PattingreFigFrench

En effet, l’acétylation d’ATG5, ATG7, ATG12, LC3 et BECLIN 1 par EP300 inhibe l’autophagie (Lee et al, JBC, 2009 ; Sun et al, Nat Comm, 2015). Au contraire, nous avons montré que l’acétylation de P53 dans le noyau induisait l’autophagie (Sebti et al, PNAS 2014, Sebti et al, Autophagy, 2014). Au cours de l’induction de l’autophagie par la carence nutritionnelle, BAT3 permet à P300 de faire la navette du cytoplasme vers le noyau pour y cibler P53 et ainsi limiter l’acétylation des protéines ATGs. Si BAT3 est absent ou muté sur son domaine NLS (localisation cytoplamisque), EP300 s’accumule dans le cytoplasme et les protéines ATGs hyperacetylées induisent une inhibition constitutive de l’autophagie.

2- Dérégulation de l’autophagie dans le cancer colique et le cancer de la prostate (S. Pattingre, Pr. N. Houédé et Dr. S. Obled)

Au cours du cancer colique, nous observons sur des cellules en culture, mais également sur des tumeurs humaines, une dérégulation de la localisation intracellulaire de BAT3 affectant l’acétylation des protéines ATG et l’autophagie (Collaboration ICM, Montpellier). Le rôle de l’autophagie dépendante de BAT3 dans la progression tumorale colique et prostatique et dans les capacités métastatiques des cellules cancéreuses sont en cours d’étude grâce à une collaboration étroite avec le service d’oncologie du CHU de Nîmes.

3- Dérégulation de l’autophagie au cours de la résistance aux traitements (S. Pattingre et C. Gongora)

Le rôle de l’autophagie dépendante de BAT3 dans la résistance aux traitements anti-cancéreux est en cours d’étude grâce à une collaboration étroite avec le service d’oncologie du CHU de Nîmes (Pr. N. Houédé et Dr. S. Obled). En outre, nos travaux récents ont montré que l’activation de la MAPK P38 par l’irinotécan dans le cancer colique induit une autophagie de survie responsable de la chimiorésistance (Paillas et al, Autophagy 2011). Les cibles de la MAPK P38 dont la phosphorylation par P38 induit l’autophagie sont en cours d’analyse.

Publications de références

Sebti S, Prébois C, Pérez-Gracia E, Bauvy C, Desmots F, Pirot N, Gongora C, Bach AS, Hubberstey AV, Palissot V, Berchem G, Codogno P, Linares LK, Liaudet-Coopman E, Pattingre S. BAT3 modulates p300-dependent acetylation of p53 and ATG7 during autophagy. 2014. PNAS, 111 :4115-20.

Sebti S, Prébois C, Pérez-Gracia E, Bauvy C, Desmots F, Pirot N, Gongora C, Bach AS, Hubberstey AV, Palissot V, Berchem G, Codogno P, Linares LK, Liaudet-Coopman E, Pattingre S. BAG6/BAT3 modulates autophagy by affecting EP300/p300 intracellular localization. 2014. Autophagy. (7):1341-2.

Paillas S, Causse A, Marzi L, de Medina P, Poirot M, Denis V, Vezzio-Vie N, Espert L, Arzouk H, Coquelle A, Martineau P, Del Rio M, Pattingre S, Gongora C. MAPK14/p38α confers irinotecan resistance to TP53-defective cells by inducing survival autophagy. Autophagy (2012) 1;8.

Pattingre S, Bauvy C, Carpentier S, Levade T, Levine B, Codogno P. Role of JNK1-dependent Bcl-2 phosphorylation in ceramide-induced macroautophagy. (2009). J Biol Chem. 284:2719-28.

Y. Wei, S. Pattingre, S. Sinha, M. Bassik, and B. Levine. JNK1-Mediated Phosphorylation of Bcl-2 Regulates Starvation-Induced Autophagy. (2008). Molecular Cell. 20:678-688.

Pattingre S., Tassa A., Qu X., Liang H.L., Mishuchima N., Schneider M.D., Parker M. and Levine B. (2005). Bcl-2 antiapoptotic proteins inhibit Beclin 1-dependent autophagy. Cell. 122: 927-939.

Laisser un commentaire