Dynamics of Cell Compartmentation in Plant, Gif sur Yvette – November 2014 CFATG
Dynamics of Cell Compartmentation in Plant, Gif sur Yvette – November 2014
HOME » Members » Equipes » Dynamics of Cell Compartmentation in Plant, Gif sur Yvette – November 2014

Dynamics of Cell Compartmentation in Plant

Institut des Sciences du Végétal , UPR 2355, CNRS.
Imagif- Centre de Recherche de Gif sur Yvette, FRC 3115, CNRS.
(I2BC – Institut de Biologie Intégrative de la Cellule au 01/01/2015)

Key words

Autophagosome, Morphogenesis, Dynamics, Cell compartments, Endomembrane system, Endoplasmic reticulum, Golgi,apparatus, Vacuole; Multiscale /4D imaging, Plant biology, Arabidopsis thaliana.

Presentation of the team

Web sites :
http://www.isv.cnrs-gif.fr/recherche/bsj/bsj.html
https://www.imagif.cnrs.fr/pole-1-Biologie_cellulaire.html
http://france-bioimaging.org/network/ile-de-france-sud/

Team leader

Béatrice Satiat-Jeunemaitre, DR2 CNRS (bsj@isv.cnrs-gif.fr 01 69 82 37 98)

Team members 2014

Group “Morphogenesis and Endomembranes”
Michele Wolfe Bianchi (MCU UPEC) (1)
Romain le Bars (PhD) (2)
Jessica Marion (AI, CNRS) (3)
Frederic Coquelle (MCU Paris-Sud) (4)
Arthur Molines (PhD student)
Mebarek Temagoult (AI, Short term contract) (5)

Groupe “Imagif -Cell Imaging and Biology Pôle”
Claire Boulogne (IR) (6)
Mickael Bourge (IE) (7)
Cynthia Gillet (AI) (8)
Romain LeBars (Short term contract, IE) (9)
Laetitia Besse (Short term contract, IE) (10)

Team-Nov2014

Research topic

The group has a long standing experience in cell imaging of secretory trafficking pathways and in endomembrane biology in plant cells. It has recently outlined the interest of the plant cell as a model to decode autophagy mechanisms. On the other hand, photosynthetic organisms are also awaiting an answer for important questions in autophagy research.
The nature of the autophagosome is intriguing : a double membrane compartment, surrounding a portion of cytoplasm. As such, autophagosomes differ from the compartments of the endomembrane system, delimated by one membrane. This questions the formation mode of the autophagosome and its interactions with other membranous compartments. Indeed, while autophagosome formation is known to be associated to a complex cascade of signaling and molecular events involving ATG proteins, the precise positioning of these events in cellulo is not fully understood yet. The team aims to understand the mechanisms of autophagosome formation in plant cells and its role in plant adaptation to environmental stresses. Live Imaging of ATG proteins and multimodal microscopy approaches provide insight in the processes governing the morphogenesis of auphagosomal membranes, challenging or completing working hypotheses issued from other organisms. The group expertise in multiscale imaging analyses of the autophagy machinery allows collaborations with laboratories using other model systems (Djeddi et al., 2012; Manil-Segalen et al., 2014).
We have recently demonstrated in controlled starvation-induced conditions, a tight interaction of the forming autophagosome (the phagophore) with the underlying ER membranes (LeBars et al., 2014a, b).

Fig-Nov2014

The proposed model is reinforcing the apparently universal concept of ER membranes as template or feeder for the phagophore. We have shown that the ATG5 protein decorates the ER only in close proximity of the plasma membrane (PM), raising the question whether ER-PM contact sites could be dedicated platforms and/or membrane sources for the growing phagophore. Moreover, additional questions wait for answers: what are the mechanisms governing this ER/phagophore early association, and close contact with the ER? How does the phagophore grow into a cup-like structure? Is there a specific “ER autophagosome formation site (“ERAFS”) marked by specific lipid and protein signature? We tackle these questions in an integrative approach of autophagosome morphogenesis in plant cells, using the lab expertise in cell biology , cell imaging, and plant cell biology, and will be more than happy to mutualise this effort in autophagy research with other “autophagy teams”.

References

– Le Bars, R., Marion, J., Le Borgne, R., Satiat-Jeunemaitre, B. & Bianchi, MW. (2014) ATG5 defines a phagophore domain connected to the endoplasmic reticulum during autophagosome formation in plants. Nat. Commun. 5, 4121 (2014).
– Djeddi, A., Michelet, X., Culetto, E., Alberti, A., Barois, N. & Legouis, R. (2012) Induction of autophagy in ESCRT mutants is an adaptive response for cell survival in C. elegans. Journal of cell science 125, 685-694.
Le Bars R., Marion J., Satiat-Jeunemaitre B., Bianchi MW. (2014). Folding into an autophagosome : Atg5 sheds
light on how plants do it. Autophagy 10, 1-3
– Manil-Ségalen M, Lefebvre C, Jenzer C, Trichet M, Boulogne C, Satiat-Jeunemaitre B, Legouis R. (2014) The C.
elegans LC3 acts downstream of GABARAP to degrade autophagosomes by interacting with the HOPS subunit VPS39.Dev Cell. 28(1):43-55 Erratum in: Dev Cell. 2014 Jul 14;30(1):110.

Laisser un commentaire

Une équipe d’autophagistes – Novembre 2014 CFATG
Une équipe d’autophagistes – Novembre 2014
HOME » Membres » Equipes » Une équipe d’autophagistes – Novembre 2014

Dynamique de la Compartimentation Cellulaire chez les plantes

Institut des Sciences du Végétal , UPR 2355, CNRS.
Imagif- Centre de Recherche de Gif sur Yvette, FRC 3115, CNRS.
(I2BC – Institut de Biologie Intégrative de la Cellule au 01/01/2015)

Mots clefs

Autophagosome, Morphogenèse, Dynamique cellulaire, compartiments cellulaires, Endomembranes, Réticulum endoplasmique, Appareil de Golgi, Vacuole; Imagerie 4d et Multiéchelles, Biologie végétale, Arabidopsis thaliana.

Présentation de l’équipe:

Site web :
http://www.isv.cnrs-gif.fr/recherche/bsj/bsj.html
https://www.imagif.cnrs.fr/pole-1-Biologie_cellulaire.html
http://france-bioimaging.org/network/ile-de-france-sud/

Responsable d’équipe:

Béatrice Satiat-Jeunemaitre, DR2 CNRS (bsj@isv.cnrs-gif.fr 01 69 82 37 98)

Membres de l’équipe 2014:

Groupe « Morphodynamique du système endomembranaire »
Michele Wolfe Bianchi (MCU UPEC) (1)
Romain le Bars (PhD) (2)
Jessica Marion (AI, CNRS) (3)
Frederic Coquelle (MCU Paris-Sud) (4)
Arthur Molines (Etudiant en thèse)
Mebarek Temagoult (AI, CDD) (5)

Groupe “Pôle Imagerie et Biologie Cellulaire d’Imagif”
Claire Boulogne (IR) (6)
Mickael Bourge (IE) (7)
Cynthia Gillet (AI) (8)
Romain LeBars (CDD, IE) (9)
Laetitia Besse (CDD, IE) (10)

Team-Nov2014

Théme de Recherche:

Le groupe contribue à la compréhension des mécanismes régulant la morphogenèse et l’organisation fonctionnelle du système endomembranaire chez les plantes supérieures, et utilisant son expertise en Imagerie cellulaire et moléculaire du trafic endomembranaire. Les récents travaux de l’équipe ont montré l’intérêt d’utiliser la cellule végétale comme modèle expérimental pour rechercher les mécanismes subcellulaires régulant l’autophagie (Le Bars et al., 2014).
La morphologie d’un autophagosome est particulière de par la présence d’une double membrane venant encercler un volume cytoplasmique. Elle diffère donc du profil des compartiments constituant le système endomembranaire de la cellule qui eux, sont délimités par une seule membrane. Cet état de fait questionne le mode de formation des autophagosomes, et ses interactions potentielles avec les autres compartiments. La formation des autophagosomes est associée à une cascade d’évènements moléculaires complexes impliquant une batterie de protéines ATG. La localisation précise de ces évènements in cellulo dans le temps et l’espace reste encore à clarifier. L’équipe s’efforce de comprendre les mécanismes sous-jacents à la formation des autophagosomes dans les cellules végétales, et leurs rôles dans la réponse des plantes aux différents stress imposés par l’environnement. L’imagerie dynamique des proteines ATG par microscopie multiéchelles et multimodales permet d’analyser les interactions moléculaires gouvernant la mise en place des membranes des autophagosomes dans la cellule, infirmant ou confirmant les hypothèses de travail issues de l’étude d’autres modèles expérimentaux ou par d’autres méthodes. L’expertise de l’équipe en imagerie permet aussi des collaborations sur d’autres systèmes modèles (Djeddi et al., 2012 ; Manil-Ségalen et al., 2014).
Nous avons récemment démontré, dans des conditions de carences nutritionnelles, une association étroite entre l’autophagosome en formation (le phagophore) et le réticulum endoplasmique sur lequel il semble s’adosser (LeBars et al., 2014a,b).

Fig-Nov2014

Notre modèle de formation des autophagosomes soutient l’hypothèse du réticulum endoplasmique comme acteur essentiel. Nous montrons que l’association d’ATG5 avec le réticulum se fait essentiellement sur la partie de la membrane en contact étroit avec le plasmalemme (PM), questionnant l’importance potentielle des sites de contacts membranaires ER/PLM dans la formation d’une structure autophagique. D’autres questions restent à résoudre : quels sont les mécanismes à la base de l’aassociation première entre le phagophore marqué par ATG5 et le réticulum endoplasmique ? Comment le phagophore évolue en une structure courbe ? Existe-t-il une signature moléculaire protéique ou lipidique spécifique sur le réticulum déterminant un « autophagosome formation site » (“ERAFS”) ? Nous abordons aujourd’hui ces questions en utilisant des approches combinées de biologie cellulaire, moléculaire et biochimiques, et en utilisant l’expertise du laboratoire en Biologie Végétale et en Imagerie. Nous serons heureux de partager cet effort de recherche avec d’autres équipes « Autophagie ».

Références:

– Le Bars, R., Marion, J., Le Borgne, R., Satiat-Jeunemaitre, B. & Bianchi, MW. (2014) ATG5 defines a phagophore domain connected to the endoplasmic reticulum during autophagosome formation in plants. Nat. Commun. 5, 4121 (2014).
– Djeddi, A., Michelet, X., Culetto, E., Alberti, A., Barois, N. & Legouis, R. (2012) Induction of autophagy in ESCRT mutants is an adaptive response for cell survival in C. elegans. Journal of cell science 125, 685-694.
Le Bars R., Marion J., Satiat-Jeunemaitre B., Bianchi MW. (2014). Folding into an autophagosome : Atg5 sheds
light on how plants do it. Autophagy 10, 1-3
– Manil-Ségalen M, Lefebvre C, Jenzer C, Trichet M, Boulogne C, Satiat-Jeunemaitre B, Legouis R. (2014) The C.
elegans LC3 acts downstream of GABARAP to degrade autophagosomes by interacting with the HOPS subunit VPS39.Dev Cell. 28(1):43-55 Erratum in: Dev Cell. 2014 Jul 14;30(1):110.

Laisser un commentaire