Premature aging, Marseille – May 2019 CFATG
Premature aging, Marseille – May 2019

Team : Premature aging syndromes and lipodystrophies involving prenylated proteins

INSERM, U 1251
Marseille Medical Genetics
Faculté de Médecine
27 Bd Jean Moulin
13385 Marseille Cedex 05
FRANCE

Team presentation

Website: Click here

Group leader : Nicolas Levy, PU-PH (MD., PhD., HDR)

Group members, 2019 :

Nicolas Levy, PU-PH, director of Inserm U 1251, team leader (nicolas.levy[at]univ-amu.fr)
Annachiara De Sandre Giovannoli, PH (annachiara.desandre-giovannoli[at]univ-amu.fr)
Patrice Roll, PU-PH (patrice.roll[at]univ-amu.fr)
Karim Harhouri, Postdoc (karim.harhouri[at]univ-amu.fr)
Sahar Elouej, Postdoc (sahar.elouej[at]univ-amu.fr
Elise Kaspi, MCU-PH (elise.kaspi[at]univ-amu.fr)
Catherine BARTOLI, engineer (catherine.bartoli[at]univ-amu.fr)
Diane Frankel, PhD student (diane.frankel[at]univ-amu.fr)
Valérie Delecourt, PhD student (valeriedelecourt22[at]gmail.com)

ADSG : Annachiara De Sandre Giovannoli. PR : Patrice Roll. CB : Catherine Bartoli. KH: Karim Harhouri. SE: Sahar Elouej. NL : Nicolas Levy. VD: Valérie Delecourt

Keywords : Rare diseases, Progeroid syndromes, genetic and physiopathological mechanisms, therapeutic trials, LMNA, progerin, autophagy, MG132

Research Topic


The main objectives of our INSERM U 1251 unit are, on the one hand, to study the genetic and physiopathological mechanisms involved in rare genetic pathologies and, on the other hand, to develop in vitro and in vivo therapeutic approaches and preclinical proof of concept in a translational research framework. Our laboratory is associated with the Department of Medical Genetics and Cell Biology (DGMBC) of Timone Children’s Hospital, led by Professor Nicolas Lévy, and has very close links with many other clinical departments and laboratories of the University Hospital Center and out of the University Hospital Center. Our laboratory brings together researchers, research professors and physicians and benefits from exceptional cohorts of samples of patients clinically characterized and included in the collections of the Center of Biological Resources “Tissues, DNA, Cells” (CRB-TAC) of the DGMBC, organization certified NF 96-900 and ISO 900. Most of our work, including the most fundamental, is part of a context of translational research, contributing to the diagnosis and management of patients, which constantly feed our projects research in order to better understand diseases, their possible prevention and their treatment in the context of the valorization of research results obtained, with the advice of INSERM Transfert or the SATT (Accelerate Transfer of Technologies). In 2003, Pr. Levy’s team identified the mutation responsible for Hutchinson-Gilford Progeria (HGPS, OMIM # 176670), a rare genetic disorder characterized by premature and accelerated aging (De Sandre-Giovannoli et al, 2003), and conducted in 2008 a European therapeutic trial for patients with Progeria, after the publication of the article demonstrating an effect of the molecules identified in vitro and in vivo (Varela et al, 2008). Furthermore, based on the LmnaG609G / G609G mouse model that our team developed in collaboration with Carlos Lopez-Otin (Spain, Oviedo), we obtained the preclinical proof of principle of the efficacy of antisense oligonucleotide treatment. (AON), reducing progerin production (Harhouri et al, 2016, Osorio et al, 2011).

In 2017, we have shown that progerin, a toxic protein whose accumulation causes Progeria, is sequestered in abnormally shaped promyelocytic nuclear bodies (PML-NB), identified as new biomarkers of Progeria. MG132 proteasome inhibitor induces progerin degradation through macroautophagy and greatly reduces its production by reducing SRSF-1 expression levels and increasing expression levels of SRSF-5, controlling aberrant splicing of Progerin precursor mRNA, prelamin A. MG132 treatment improves HGPS fibroblast phenotypes, reduces cell senescence, and improves the viability and proliferation of HGPS fibroblasts. Injection of MG132 into the skeletal muscle of the Progeria model mice (LmnaG609G / G609G) locally reduces progerin and SRSF-1 expression levels. Altogether, we demonstrate progerin reduction based on MG132 dual action and shed light on a promising class of molecules toward the development of a potential therapy for children with HGPS (Harhouri et al, 2017).

References

De Sandre-Giovannoli A, Bernard R, Cau P, Navarro C, Amiel J, Boccaccio I, Lyonnet S, Stewart CL, Munnich A, Le Merrer M et al (2003) Lamin a truncation in Hutchinson-Gilford progeria. Science 300: 2055
Harhouri K, Navarro C, Baquerre C, Da Silva N, Bartoli C, Casey F, Mawuse GK, Doubaj Y, Levy N, De Sandre-Giovannoli A (2016) Antisense-Based Progerin Downregulation in HGPS-Like Patients’ Cells. Cells 5
Harhouri K, Navarro C, Depetris D, Mattei MG, Nissan X, Cau P, De Sandre-Giovannoli A, Levy N (2017) MG132-induced progerin clearance is mediated by autophagy activation and splicing regulation. EMBO molecular medicine 9: 1294-1313
Osorio FG, Navarro CL, Cadinanos J, Lopez-Mejia IC, Quiros PM, Bartoli C, Rivera J, Tazi J, Guzman G, Varela I et al (2011) Splicing-directed therapy in a new mouse model of human accelerated aging. Science translational medicine 3: 106ra107
Varela I, Pereira S, Ugalde AP, Navarro CL, Suarez MF, Cau P, Cadinanos J, Osorio FG, Foray N, Cobo J et al (2008) Combined treatment with statins and aminobisphosphonates extends longevity in a mouse model of human premature aging. Nat Med 14: 767-772

Laisser un commentaire

Vieillissement prématuré , Marseille – Mai 2019 CFATG
Vieillissement prématuré , Marseille – Mai 2019
HOME » Actualités » Vieillissement prématuré , Marseille – Mai 2019

Equipe : Syndromes de vieillissement prématuré et lipodystrophies impliquant des protéines prénylées

INSERM, U 1251
Marseille Medical Genetics
Faculté de Médecine
27 Bd Jean Moulin
13385 Marseille Cedex 05
FRANCE

Présentation de l’équipe

Site web : Cliquez ici

Responsable du groupe : Nicolas Levy, PU-PH (MD., PhD., HDR)

Membres de l’équipe, 2019 :

Nicolas Levy, PU-PH, directeur de l’unité Inserm U 1251, chef d’équipe (nicolas.levy[at]univ-amu.fr)
Annachiara De Sandre Giovannoli, PH (annachiara.desandre-giovannoli[at]univ-amu.fr)
Patrice Roll, PU-PH (patrice.roll[at]univ-amu.fr)
Karim Harhouri, Postdoc (karim.harhouri[at]univ-amu.fr)
Sahar Elouej, Postdoc (sahar.elouej[at]univ-amu.fr
Elise Kaspi, MCU-PH (elise.kaspi[at]univ-amu.fr)
Catherine BARTOLI, IE (catherine.bartoli[at]univ-amu.fr)
Diane Frankel, doctorante (diane.frankel[at]univ-amu.fr)
Valérie Delecourt, doctorante (valeriedelecourt22[at]gmail.com)

ADSG : Annachiara De Sandre Giovannoli. PR : Patrice Roll. CB : Catherine Bartoli. KH: Karim Harhouri. SE: Sahar Elouej. NL : Nicolas Levy. VD: Valérie Delecourt

Mots-clés : Maladies rares, Syndromes progéroides, mécanismes génétiques et physiopathologiques, essais thérapeutiques, LMNA, progerin, autophagy, MG132

Thématique de l’équipe

Les objectifs principaux de notre unité INSERM U 1251 sont d’une part d’étudier les mécanismes génétiques et physiopathologiques impliqués dans les pathologies génétiques rares et d’autre part de développer des approches thérapeutiques et des preuves de concept précliniques in vitro et in vivo dans un cadre de recherche translationnelle. Notre laboratoire est associé au Département de Génétique Médicale et Biologie Cellulaire (DGMBC) de l’hôpital Timone enfants dirigé par le Pr. Nicolas Lévy, et entretient des liens très étroits avec de nombreux autres services cliniques et laboratoires du CHU et hors CHU. Notre laboratoire rassemble des chercheurs, des enseignants chercheurs et des médecins et bénéficie des cohortes exceptionnelles d’échantillons de patients caractérisés cliniquement et inclus dans les collections du Centre de Ressources Biologiques « Tissus, ADN, Cellules » (CRB-TAC) du DGMBC, organisme certifié NF 96-900 et ISO 9001. La plupart de nos travaux, y compris les plus fondamentaux, s’inscrivent ainsi dans un contexte de recherche translationnelle, contribuant au diagnostic et à la prise en charge des malades, lesquels alimentent en permanence nos projets de recherche dans le but d’une meilleure compréhension des maladies, de leur possible prévention et de leur traitement dans le cadre de la valorisation des résultats de recherche obtenus, avec le conseil de l’INSERM Transfert ou la SATT (Sociétés d’Accélération du Transfert de Technologies). En 2003, l’équipe du Pr. Levy a identifié la mutation responsable de la Progéria de Hutchinson-Gilford (HGPS; OMIM # 176670), une maladie génétique rare caractérisée par un vieillissement prématuré et accéléré (De Sandre-Giovannoli et al, 2003), et a conduit en 2008 un essai thérapeutique Européen pour des patients atteints de Progéria (ClinicalTrials.gov #NCT00731016), après la publication de l’article démontrant un effet des principes actifs identifiés in vitro et in vivo (Varela et al, 2008). Par ailleurs, sur la base du modèle de souris LmnaG609G/G609G que notre équipe a développé en collaboration avec Carlos Lopez-Otin (Espagne, Oviedo), nous avons obtenu la preuve de principe préclinique de l’efficacité d’un traitement par oligonucléotides antisens (AON), permettant de réduire la production de progérine (Harhouri et al, 2016; Osorio et al, 2011) .
En 2017, nous avons montré que la progérine, protéine toxique dont l’accumulation cause la Progéria, est séquestrée dans des corps nucléaires promyélocytaires de forme anormale, identifiés comme nouveaux biomarqueurs de maladie. L’inhibiteur du protéasome MG132 induit la dégradation de la progérine par macroautophagie d’une part et d’autre part réduit fortement sa production par la réduction des niveaux d’expression de SRSF-1 et l’augmentation des niveaux d’expression de SRSF-5, contrôlant l’épissage aberrant de l’ARNm du précurseur de la progérine, la prélamine A. Le traitement par MG132 améliore les phénotypes des fibroblastes HGPS, réduit la sénescence cellulaire et améliore la viabilité et la prolifération des fibroblastes HGPS. L’injection de MG132 dans le muscle squelettique des souris modèle de la Progéria (LmnaG609G / G609G) réduit localement les taux d’expression de la progérine et de SRSF-1. Au total, nous avons montré une réduction de la progérine basée sur la double action de MG132 (Harhouri et al, 2017) et proposons une classe prometteuse de molécules pour un futur développement thérapeutique chez les enfants atteints de Progéria.

Publications de référence

De Sandre-Giovannoli A, Bernard R, Cau P, Navarro C, Amiel J, Boccaccio I, Lyonnet S, Stewart CL, Munnich A, Le Merrer M et al (2003) Lamin a truncation in Hutchinson-Gilford progeria. Science 300: 2055
Harhouri K, Navarro C, Baquerre C, Da Silva N, Bartoli C, Casey F, Mawuse GK, Doubaj Y, Levy N, De Sandre-Giovannoli A (2016) Antisense-Based Progerin Downregulation in HGPS-Like Patients’ Cells. Cells 5
Harhouri K, Navarro C, Depetris D, Mattei MG, Nissan X, Cau P, De Sandre-Giovannoli A, Levy N (2017) MG132-induced progerin clearance is mediated by autophagy activation and splicing regulation. EMBO molecular medicine 9: 1294-1313
Osorio FG, Navarro CL, Cadinanos J, Lopez-Mejia IC, Quiros PM, Bartoli C, Rivera J, Tazi J, Guzman G, Varela I et al (2011) Splicing-directed therapy in a new mouse model of human accelerated aging. Science translational medicine 3: 106ra107
Varela I, Pereira S, Ugalde AP, Navarro CL, Suarez MF, Cau P, Cadinanos J, Osorio FG, Foray N, Cobo J et al (2008) Combined treatment with statins and aminobisphosphonates extends longevity in a mouse model of human premature aging. Nat Med 14: 767-772

Laisser un commentaire