Board CFATG 2016

Site web - -

Research themes

CFATG scientific comittee

Mathias Faure

Mathias Faure, president
Professor at the Lyon 1 University. Team leader at the International Center for Infectiology Research (CIRI), INSERM U1111/Lyon 1 University, ENS-Lyon, CNRS UMR5308, Lyon.
Research focus: Autophagy and infection, Autophagy and Immunity, Autophagy and immunopathology.


Isabelle Vergne


Isabelle Vergne, secretary
CNRS Research Associate at the Institute of Pharmacology and Structural Biology (IPBS), UMR 5089/Toulouse University (, Toulouse, France
Research focus: Autophagy and Mycobacteria.


Nadine Camougrand


Nadine Camougrand, Treasurer
CNRS Research Director at the Institut de Biochimie et Génétique Cellulaires (IBGC), UMR5095 CNRS/University Victor Segalen, Bordeaux.
Research focus: Role and regulation of mitophagy in yeast.


Carine Joffre
Carine Joffre, member
Email :
Postdoctoral researcher in the team « Cell signaling and cell cycle in myeloid malignancies», CRCT, U1037, Toulouse.
Research focus: Role of autophagy in acute myeloid malignancies.


Pierre Lapaquette

Pierre Lapaquette, member

Associate professor, University of Bourgogne Franche-Comté, UMR A PAM – team VALMIS, Rue Claude Ladrey, 21000 DIJON
Research focus: Autophagy in innate immunity – Regulation of autophagy by commensal and pathogenic bacteria.


Sophie Pattingre

Sophie Pattingre, member
INSERM Research associate, Team: Drug resistance and new cancer treatments, Montpellier Cancer Research Institute (U1194), Campus Val d’Aurelle, 34298 Montpellier cedex 5 France
Research focus: Post translational modifications of ATGs proteins, role in tumor progression and drug resistance.


Valérie Pierrefite-Carle


Valérie Pierrefite-Carle, member
INSERM Research Associate at the Unité Mixte de Recherche (UMR) E4320 Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique (CEA)/Centre Antoine Lacassagne (CAL)/Nice University, Nice.
Research focus: Role of autophagy in bone physiopathology.

New members

Mojgan Djavaheri-Mergny

Mojgan Djavaheri-Mergny, member
INSERM Research Associate, INSERM U1218 (ACTION: Actions for onCogenesis understanding and Target Identification in ONcology), Institut Bergonié, 229, cours de l’Argonne, 33076 Bordeaux Cedex France
Research focus: Molecular regulation of autophagy in cancer


Audrey Esclatine

Audrey Esclatine, member
Email :
Professor at Univ. Paris-Sud, Institute for Integrative Biology  of the
Cell, I2BC, CNRS UMR9198, Virology Department, Team leader
Virulence and latency of Herpesviruses, Gif sur Yvette.
Research focus: Autophagy and Herpesviruses


Lucile Espert

Lucile Espert, member
Email :
CNRS Research Associate, Team: Autophagy and infections.
Centre d’étude d’agents Pathogènes et Biotechnologies pour la Santé. CPBS – FRE3689 CNRS-UM – 1919 route de Mende 34293 Montpellier Cedex 5.
Research focus: Role of autophagy during HIV infection.


Former Presidents

Patrice Codogno

Patrice Codogno (Présidence du CFATG 2010-2013)
INSERM Research Director. Group leader at the Necker Research Institute-INSERM U1151-CNRS UMR 8253-Université Paris Descartes-Sorbonne Paris Cité, Paris.
Research focus: Membrane Dynamic and autophagosomes biogenesis, Autophagy and stress adaptation, autophagy and cancer stem cells.


Frank Lafont

Frank Lafont (Présidence du CFATG 2013-2015)
CNRS Research Director at the Pasteur Insitute Lille-CNRS UMR8204-INSERM U1019/University Lille Nord de France, Lille.
Research Focus: Cellular microbiology and physics of infection. Signaling and function of autophagy during infection