Membrane traffic in healthy & diseased brain

102-108 rue de la Santé, 75014 Paris, France - Paris
Site web - - 0140789206

Principal investigator

Thierry GALLI

Top, from left to right: Fabienne Pierre, Axelle Simon, Béatrice Cholley, David Tareste, Lydia Danglot, Ahmed Zahraoui, Soledad Ferreras, Sébastien Nola, Victor Breton, Hugo Fumat Bottom, from left to right: Thierry GALLI, Christian Vannier, Alessandra Gallo, Francesca Filippini and Jose-Ignacio Wojnacki-Fonseca

Research themes

Our group studies the dynamics of intracellular membranes in developing and mature neurons, in healthy and pathogenic contexts. Dysfunction of intracellular endosomal and mitochondrial dynamics has been linked to a variety of psychiatric including depression and schizophrenia and neurodegenerative disorders, including Charcot-Marie-Tooth (CMT), Alzheimer, Parkinson and Huntington diseases. This certainly suggests a crucial role of membrane dynamics in the formation and maintenance of neuronal elaborated shapes and contacts. Despite a large amount of literature, the molecular and cellular principles that govern the establishment and maintenance of neuronal shapes and contacts (synapses) still remain to be elucidated.
The aim of the team is to understand the basic mechanisms and the regulation of membrane trafficking, particularly autophagic secretion, in the context of brain development, psychiatric diseases, brain tumors and neurodegeneration (Parkinson, Alzheimer). We use techniques of cellular and molecular biology with special emphasis on live cell imaging and proteomics, as well as biophysical approaches to study membrane dynamics, adhesion and fusion in vitro.

Descriptive figure


1. Biomechanical Control of Lysosomal Secretion Via the VAMP7 Hub: A Tug-of-War between VARP and LRRK1. Wang G, Nola S, Bovio S, Bun P, Coppey-Moisan M, Lafont F, Galli T. iScience. 2018 Jun 29;4:127-143. doi: 10.1016/j.isci.2018.05.016. Epub 2018 May 29.
2. Modification of Extracellular Vesicles by Fusion with Liposomes for the Design of Personalized Biogenic Drug Delivery Systems. Piffoux M, Silva AKA, Wilhelm C, Gazeau F, Tareste D. ACS Nano. 2018 Jul 24;12(7):6830-6842. doi: 10.1021/acsnano.8b02053. Epub 2018 Jul 10.
3. Reciprocal link between cell biomechanics and exocytosis. Wang G, Galli T. Traffic. 2018 Oct;19(10):741-749. doi: 10.1111/tra.12584. Epub 2018 Jul 19. Review.
4. The heptad repeat domain 1 of Mitofusin has membrane destabilization function in mitochondrial fusion. Daste F, Sauvanet C, Bavdek A, Baye J, Pierre F, Le Borgne R, David C, Rojo M, Fuchs P, Tareste D. EMBO Rep. 2018 Jun;19(6). pii: e43637. doi: 10.15252/embr.201643637. Epub 2018 Apr 16.
5. Ultrabright and Fluorogenic Probes for Multicolor Imaging and Tracking of Lipid Droplets in Cells and Tissues. Collot M, Fam TK, Ashokkumar P, Faklaris O, Galli T, Danglot L, Klymchenko AS. J Am Chem Soc. 2018 Apr 25;140(16):5401-5411. doi: 10.1021/jacs.7b12817. Epub 2018 Feb 27.
6. Mapping molecular assemblies with fluorescence microscopy and object-based spatial statistics. Lagache T, Grassart A, Dallongeville S, Faklaris O, Sauvonnet N, Dufour A, Danglot L, Olivo-Marin JC. Nat Commun. 2018 Feb 15;9(1):698. doi: 10.1038/s41467-018-03053-x.
7. Endoplasmic Reticulum-Plasma Membrane Associations:Structures and Functions. Gallo A, Vannier C, Galli T. Annu Rev Cell Dev Biol. 2016 Oct 6;32:279-301. Epub 2016 Jun 1. Review.
8. Membrane traffic during axon development. Wojnacki J, Galli T. Dev Neurobiol. 2016 Nov;76(11):1185-1200. doi: 10.1002/dneu.22390. Epub 2016 Mar 24. Review.
9. Structure and function of longin SNAREs. Daste F, Galli T, Tareste D. J Cell Sci. 2015 Dec 1;128(23):4263-72. doi: 10.1242/jcs.178574. Epub 2015 Nov 13. Review.
10. The Q-soluble N-Ethylmaleimide-sensitive Factor Attachment Protein Receptor (Q-SNARE) SNAP-47 Regulates Trafficking of Selected Vesicle-associated Membrane Proteins (VAMPs). Kuster A, Nola S, Dingli F, Vacca B, Gauchy C, Beaujouan JC, Nunez M, Moncion T, Loew D, Formstecher E, Galli T, Proux-Gillardeaux V. J Biol Chem. 2015 Nov 20;290(47):28056-69. doi: 10.1074/jbc.M115.666362. Epub 2015 Sep 10.

Composition de l'équipe

Victor Breton : Doctorant
Béatrice Cholley : AI
Lydia Danglot : CRCN
Francesca Filippini : Doctorante
Hugo Fumat : Doctorant
Alessandra Gallo : Doctorante
Sébastien Nola : IR
Axelle Simon : IE
David Tareste : CRCN
Christian Vannier : Emérite
Somya Vats : Post-doctorante
Ahmed Zahraoui : DR